We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Break from the Hotel!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This gastro-tavern blends modern techniques with traditional recipes while providing house-made comfort dishes qith a quality approach.Selections include Tavern Slammers, chicken pot pies, sauteed Allegheny Mountain trout, Sam's selection of grilled steaks and fun desserts such as our famed cinnamon doughnut bread pudding and apple cobblers. Wash it all down with a vast menu of wines and regional brews that complement savory dinners and a unique setting in the village of Hot Springs. Enjoy viewing the pictures recapping the life of the late legendary golfer, Sam Snead. Sam Snead was born here in Hot Springs and always made it his home. Sam's professional career spanned nearly seven decades, and he amassed at least 185 tournament victories, more than any other player in the history of the PGA Tour.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Break from the Hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice menu and offerings, great ambiance. Tons of golf history. Staff was proffesional and wine list was sufficient. Meat Loaf experiment is NOT reccomended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    110
    97
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently good and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been here a number of times. Nice atmosphere and a good varied pub grub menu.

The memorobilia from Sam Snead's collection displayed throughout the pub is really amazing---lot's of pictures with Presidents and notables--take time to grab a pint and walk around.

Not inexpensive, but a great alternative to the more expensive options at the hotel--Homestead. Burgers, Chicken Pot Pie are great, but they also have Fish and Chips and Meat loaf on the menu.

Enjoy

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajgibb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere, average food, expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We wanted a casual spot to take our young kids to dine. Sam Snead's was recommended. We had a pleasant experience- had a very nice server- but for the price of the food, we expected a little higher quality. If you're going to charge $25 for fish and chips, it had better be something pretty spectacular...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hsctiger93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginny, USandA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent Tavern Meal on the Homestead Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This location is a departure from the larger and somewhat stuffier eating opportunities up the hill at the Homestead, although this is a Homestead restaurant (you can charge to your room). We sat on the ground floor, right next to the bar, near the large gas fireplace. It was a bit tight, not too crowded, but not the spacious dining experience you get up the hill in the Big House.

My son and I had burgers, daughter the fish and chips and wife something else, and all were good. Service was very friendly and attentive, and when our meal was a bit slow, she took 20% off the bill without even the hint of a problem. I can't remember the last time I was afforded that kind of treatment in any kind of restaurant. Dessert was good, as were the appetizers.

As with any Homestead eatery, get a reservation before you arrive, as they fill up fast, especially during peak holiday periods.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rugby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, KY
Level Contributor
264 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quaint Tavern Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you are staying at the Homestead, I recommend walking over to Sam Snead's for a great experience. Ask to sit by the fireplace as we did and take time to look at the memorabilia along the walls. Begin with the Pimms cocktail. The pub fare was fun and adequately prepared. I had the chicken pot pie which I enjoyed and our table shared a variety of desserts. Overall, a terrific evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluegrassmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing