We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect getaway for the whole family to celebrate my motherms birthday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect getaway for the whole family to celebrate my motherms birthday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Overlook Manor. There was plenty of room to accommodate all none of us and it was far enough from the neighbors to be private but not too far to be secluded! It felt like a 2nd home & the concierge was extremely pleasant and helpful with everything including a gift basket with the best cheese & other goodies for my mother's birthday. So peaceful & relaxing we will DEFINITELY visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquemini33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I'm so glad you had a good stay at Overlook Manor. Our team works hard to insure everybody gets the best possible experience and it is encouraging when we hear things went well.

Thanks for choosing Natural Retreats and thanks for sharing your experience!
~ The Natural Retreats Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We also had a very disappointing experience. Despite directly inquiring about wifi availability at the resort, and at our cottage, and being told explicitly that high speed internet was available, it was not. In fact, employees at the resort indicated that wifi had been a problem for quite sometime but that it wasn't a priority for management to address it. They indicated that everybody at the resort knew this and could not explain why the reservation people stated otherwise. I was told to go stand on a bench (it was 35 degrees outside) and in that one stop I might be able to get a connection. They do, now, though list this clearly on their website (I guess that's their fix). Additionally, cell phone service is extremely limited on the grounds and in the area. When we went to address our concerns, we met an extremely rude and odd woman who presented herself as manager, but actually apparently is a long-term guest who's family used to have an ownership interest in the property. She was extremely rude, insulting, disparaging and unhelpful. After much back and forth with others, we were relocated to another cottage that we were told would "completely satisfy our needs." It also did not have any connection that was usable (literally, would not ping the server before a timeout). Additionally, the cottage and grounds are overstated by beautiful professional photography on their website, but with much less appeal in person. The staff was less than helpful with other inquires as well, such as telling us the best place to grab a snack or some refreshments was the Marathon gas station down the road. After repeated disappointments and poor service, we finally decided to cancel our weekend. In the resort's defense, they did provide a full refund, but it completely ruined a rare weekend getaway without kids to work on personal projects. Unfortunately, we were hoodwinked by great photos, over promises, and the idea of a quaint getaway that was really more mediocre accommodations, in the middle of nowhere, and ineffective customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Director of Sales at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear STXYZ,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay with us at Meadow Lane. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we continually strive to improve upon the service level offered to our valued guests.

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. The level of service you received is not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party. I’m pleased to announce that we have now installed additional Wi-Fi routers in the majority of the cottages to boost connectivity. Whilst an apology will not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity.

Again please accept my apology and I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future for a true Natural Retreats experience.

Kind Regards,

Liz Heal
Head of Vacation Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Meadow Lane Lodge and Cottages and had a wonderful time fishing the Jackson River.
The Car Barn cottage was warm, clean and quiet. We truly enjoyed this area and it's natural surroundings. We look forward to returning next fall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Natural Retreats and sharing your experience. We're thrilled you enjoyed the natural surroundings we love so much. Meadow Lane is a beautiful retreat.

We look forward to having you back.

The Natural Retreats Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We rented the cottage for a sister getaway and it was delightful. A very nice area and the people at Natural Retreats were very helpful and gave great advice! They were knowledgable about the rental properties and surrounding area. I originally looked at the Homestead but it was too pricey, so having a concierge from Natural Retreats fill us in on activities and dinner spots was awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenj621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Jenj621,

Thanks so much for choosing Natural Retreats. We take great pride in our Concierge Team so it is nice to know our efforts are working. From the very beginning, Natural Retreats has gone the extra mile to make sure our guests get the most out of their stay. We really enjoy this business and it's very rewarding hearing you had a good time.

All the best and we look forward to having you and your sister back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lovely scenery! The cottage we rented was wonderful and the NR staff is excellent. Had a fantastic weekend. We chose a cottage that allowed pets; our Standard Poodle was thrilled, too. Only caution would be lack of dining options in the community off-season. We availed ourselves of the Homesteads' Day Passes. Well worth it.

Room Tip: We visited over Columbus Day weekend and found that dining out options were very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitzelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the location and cottage. Your pup is always welcome!

Till next time,
The Natural Retreats Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We planned a vacation with Natural Retreats. What a fantastic company. They were with us every step of the way. We had four girls spending a long weekend at the Feather Ridge property. This house is fabulous beyond words. It is gorgeous and decorated with Noreen style than any place I have ever stayed before. Full access to the Dairy with a nice small fitness room and a beautiful hot tub and game room. I highly recommend this company and specifically this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at Shepherd's Cottage and it's a great place to stay in Hot Springs, VA. It was our home away from home! It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, from the kitchen that was well appointed with all the modern conveniences needed, to the comfortable family room and beautiful bedrooms. Loved the decor, the rustic feel and look of the Cottage. The property's grounds were inviting, and the area was quiet!
A Welcome Basket was left in the kitchen filled with goodies that were all made in VA! We certainly made use of the granola and coffee for breakfast, and the bread, cheese and wine was great for an evening by the fireplace.
The Natural Retreats' s staff are wonderful to deal with from making the reservations, to making sure everything is OK when you arrive, to being very helpful with dinner recommendations; Which by the way, The Water Wheel Restaurant at the Inn at Gristmill Square, Cucci's Pizzeria, and The Table at Warm Springs Inn were excellent choices.
Also, the property was located less than 2 miles from The Homestead Resort. The Jefferson Pools, and Milk House Market and Old Dairy Barn was located nearby. Lots of outdoor activities available, from biking, hiking to fishing.
We will definitely stay here again or at one of the other Natural Retreats properties when we are in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
0.2 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,365 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
4.0 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve

Property: Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve
Address: 2814 Main St, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2918 (Formerly Natural Retreats Virginia Hot Springs)
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break in a remarkably beautiful wilderness location with the new residences at Virginia Hot Springs, set amongst the 11,500 acre Homestead Preserve. This stunning and iconic region is richly historic and provides the perfect setting for our luxurious and comfortable cabins and cottages. You’ll find a wealth of activities within your reach, including many hiking trails, horseriding paths, a skiing, snowboarding and tubing area, fly fishing rivers, golf courses and plenty of local entertainment to help make your holiday unique. The retreat is surrounded by the Allegheny Mountains at the southwest edge of the Old Dominion. The Nature Conservancy’s Warm Springs Mountain Preserve and the George Washington National Forest also border the area, providing stunning views and landscapes to explore in every direction. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing