We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great for beginners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Ski Area

Homestead Ski Area
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for beginners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited the Homestead ski area while staying at The Homestead. It was my four year old son's first time skiing and this was the perfect place for him to learn. Not a place for advanced skiers, but if you are a beginner or just want to ski for a few hours while staying at The Homestead, it is a nice activity option. Basically, it is one long slope, the top of the mountain being the black diamond, the middle being intermediate and then a nice size beginners area at the bottom. There is an outdoor seating area with a fireplace at the bottom of the slope where you can sit by the fire and watch the skiers coming down the slope. They were about to close for the season while we were there, so the only food options in the cafe were a few cold sandwiches/ salads and a couple soups. They were ok. Typical ski resort fare. Below the cafe/restroom area there is a ski rental shop as well as lockers for rent . Although there is shuttle service from the hotel, we drove because we brought our skis with us. It took less than five minutes by car.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mtandhpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“average snackbar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The skiing is the important thing here. Always a good spot to grab a hot chocolate -- or a beer. The food is expensive for what it is, but then again, it is a resort.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leighann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fun for a novice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We took our child for his first ski trip. The instructors and the slopes were perfect for this. The slope is a short bus ride from the hotel.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice for beginners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The ski area is really a nice setup for a small, Eastern ski resort. It is a nice activity to enjoy as part of a larger stay at the Homestead. The rental equipment is top-notch, and the food (as everywhere at the Homestead) is great. This is not an area for the Double-Black Diamond skier. It is fun, and it is great for kids and a few hours of fun. The destination is the resort - and an afternoon or morning of skiing can really complete a terriffic stay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“no lift lines, but ONLY one trail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Food okay at the ski area and no outside food allowed. Kids loved that the trail was easy, helped them get comfortable on skis. Never a wait on the lift. Almost boring for an all-day ski, but really fun for a 1/2 day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank werstuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Homestead Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing