We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice but pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascades Golf Course at The Homestead

Cascades Golf Course at The Homestead
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Hot Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 6,659-yard, William Flynn-designed golf course winds through Virginia's majestic Allegheny Mountains and is known for its gorgeous scenery and challenging layout.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a beautiful course. It has plenty of challenge and the views are beautiful. We all enjoyed it. We took a fore caddy and it is worth it. There are a lot of blind shots and it helps to know where to aim. We paid AFTER our round and were surprised to learn it was $200 a person. We were surprised to say the least. It's a beautiful course but was $500 a round for two, too expensive for us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice course -- no direction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I played this course in April. It was in super shape and had some beautiful holes. However, many of the holes run along the main road so you don't get the back in the wilderness feeling that I was looking for. Also, with such a big green fee they should have GPS on the carts or at least have a yardage book you could buy. Blind tee shots and and no yardage to hazards make this a trying course to play. Not a course for high handicap golfers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Difficult and long course (Par 70), but in perfect condition. Vistas will wow you. Soft greens, but extremely fast. Trouble looms everywhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We played Oct. 20 2012. Although it was overcast and chilly, we had a great time. The course is beautiful and although challenging, it is fair if you play smart. I was mesmerized by all of the beautiful foilage and views and we truly enjoyed ourselves. There were a couple of downfalls, though, in my opinion. From hole 6 to maybe 12, all of the spring water features are dry as a bone. I asked what happened and they said everything just dried up this summer. The water on 16 and 18 is still there. Not really anything they can do about that. It was also very slow the day we played. We were behind a very slow foursome and even after we joined up with the twosome behind us on #12, it still took over five hours to play. It was very jammed up behind us because of that foursome. No marshalls in sight. I also felt the $225 it costs to play here is a bit overpriced. While it was a beautiful course, it is not worth that kind of money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Golf and fall foliage at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Golf at the Cascades in the fall is a walk in heaven. The course is manicured to perfection and the fall foliage on the mountains is breathtaking. The only weakness is no driving range.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Topgolfer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascades Golf Course at The Homestead also viewed

 

Been to Cascades Golf Course at The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing