We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Course Challenge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Old Course

Homestead Old Course
U.S. Route 220 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445
800-838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Redesigned by Rees Jones, this historic 18-hole golf course has been transformed into a challenging par-72 layout.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old Course Challenge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was cold and very windy the day we played. The course was in great shape and the greens putted true. Be very careful with a downhill putt!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Golfers (which I am not) love it, but for the rest of us, riding or walking the course is worth it for the beauty. It's magnificently landscaped.

Helpful?
Thank professoressadarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it! Fantastic views and challenging, but fair, golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We played the Old Course 10/21. We loved it! We were the first out, so had the course to ourselves. There were some truly amazing views of the mountains, hotel and golf holes. We found the course to be challenging, but fair. We both played well and had a lot of fun. The staff associated with the golf course were also very friendly and helpful, probably more so than any of the other staff at the hotel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent except for Father John”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wonderful course. Don't let others just play ahead of you without asking. They tend to let just anyone pop on and off the course with no marshall!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sansciss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Golf on the Old Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Billed as the oldest continuously played golf course in America. Unusual tract filled with 3 and 5 pars. Groundskeepers could be more forgiving by opening up the fairways and lowering the nasty rough. Beautiful and fun to play more than once.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead Old Course also viewed

 

Been to Homestead Old Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing