We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very memorable anniversary weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very memorable anniversary weekend!”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband treated me to a weekend to celebrate our 5th anniversary. The trip included three spa treatments for me (so worth it!). I felt I was treated like a true VIP. Our room with balcony couldn't have been more lovely and spacious. We both felt the staff is exceptional here -- they do their utmost to see you are well taken care of. The breakfast buffet is particularly wonderful -- the best eggs and bacon I have ever tasted! So many choices and all quite delicious. We hope to return in the spring or the fall to see the property from a different perspective and hopefully ride our motorcycle as the drive there from Washington DC is also beautiful. Yes, it's expensive but it's true luxury!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktbandskipva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,766
    1,264
    623
    312
    147
See reviews for
1,711
1,995
77
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Where ever.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We have been staying in this hotel for 15 or more years. We go 3-5 times a year, and it is amazing. You can do anything here. You can swim, ride horses, play golf on their challenging courses, go for a carriage ride, play tennis, go for a hike, go to the spa, and much, much more. The service for us is amazing, and very helpful. It has a very old-timey atmosphere, as it should. It is not a modern resort, and you definitely get the feel of it. We love this resort and we recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotSpringsAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

My family just returned from four days at the Homestead. We had a great time.

The hotel itself is beautiful. The common areas and rooms were nicely decorated and in great physical condition for a hotel of this age. (With the exception of the carpet in the main entrance hall which was heavily stained from cleaning). The room, with two double beds, was cramped, but again somewhat typical of a hotel this old. That said, the bathroom was spacious and very nicely decorated.

The setting is truly gorgeous. Surrounded by trees and hills. The only downside is that the nearest airport is an hour and a half away.

The service was inconsistent. The wait staff in the dining room was very attentive and helpful. I took my sons to the gun club and the drivers who drove us and the instructor at the club were very coureous and helpful. That said, when we arrived, the doorman seemed a bit befuddled at what he needed to do. We were the only people in front of the hotel and he didn't approach us, we had to ask him to get our bags. Also, we had some challenges getting our bills correct and it took repeated calls to the office to try to ensure our bill was accurate.

Now onto the food. As there are essentially no restaurants to compete with the Homestead, the food service seemed very marginal especially for the price.

The breakfast buffet in the Dining Room was excellent and complete -- including many healthy choices, numerous bowls of fruit and oatmeal and also decadent ones eggs, sausage, bacon, ham, sausage and biscuits, pancakes and omelets made to order, the price of $25 a head was steep.

We had lunch at the Casino and the food was adequate but not stellar. An evening snack at the Pub was very disappointed. Buffalo wings were undercooked and then nachos that were essentially the chips and cheese you get at Wrigley Field with a few other toppings on them.

One evening, the group we were with had a dinner meeting and the food was extremely marginal.

On our last evening there, we had reservations in the Dining Room, but cancelled them to eat at the Subway in town, figuring our money would be much better spent at a nice meal in DC where we headed to after the Homestead. (BTW, we were rewared with a great meal at DC Coast, but that's a different story)

The physical plant here, the setting and the service were great. But, for our family food is an important part of a vacation -- especially when we are playing such high prices. If the hotel had better food, or there were good restaurants nearby, I could recommend it, but solely due to quality of the food service, I can't.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The Homestead was the biggest disappointment I have ever experienced in terms of travel. I have wanted to visit it for years, but I will never visit it again. It's stunningly beautiful, but overall, the service was just terrible, and it does not measure up to other resorts in its so-called class. Just about everything that can go wrong did go wrong during our stay. Our reservation was incorrect. The reservation was for two double beds, and we were reserved in a king. It was corrected, but how can a reservation that was made electronically be wrong? In terms of the room, like just about everything else at the Homestead, it was was lovely upon first impression, but a closer look revealed the inattentiveness to detail that plagues this resort. One of our beds was fitted with a sheet with a cigarette hole in it! This is ridiculous beyond belief. Generally, the beds and linens had an "institutional" feel and are not up to the standards of modern luxury hotels. The bathroom in the room had a door that locked you inside of it. It was corrected, but how could this not have been corrected before this room was given to a customer? The HVAC struggled to cool the room the entire time we were there, despite cool spring whether outside for four days. The housekeeping service was generally poor. During our stay, on one day, our room was not serviced until after 3:30 pm, and only after we had called twice about the lack of service. Some of the worst housekeeping service I have ever experienced. The pool staff was among the worst we experienced. The servers were slow, inattentive and repeatedly forgetful. Pathetic service. They were basically just hanging around chit-chatting and couldn't have cared less. The resort has a policy of adding 17% to every dining check, and nowhere did the attitude of "I'm getting tipped either way" show up more than it did at the pool, but generally this attitude pervaded the wait staff in every restaurant. The Dining Room was a huge disappointment. Despite the pretense of a fully booked room, we were seated by the door with no view of the dance floor or the rest of the room. When we asked to be moved, the request was treated as a hassle and ultimately we did not move because it took so long to act on the request. The food was horrible. The soup tasted like it came from a can, and the complimentary appetizer, which was supposed to be some sort of grits, was unfit to be served. It was cold, uncooked and basically tasteless. My wife referred to it as "pig slop." Wretched. Sam Snead's Tavern was charming in its decor, and this was by far the best food we had during our stay, but it was not good by most standards. The afternoon tea service had the potential to be delightful, but again the staff was slow and inattentive. We were never checked on after we were initially served. In terms of activities, everything is generally way overpriced. $12 per person, per game for bowling? We did it because our children so desperately wanted to, but this is highway robbery. The falconry was $85 per person, and you don't even get to handle a bird! The Shooting Club was the only experience at the Homestead that met my expectations. (Brandon was a true pro.) Overall, the service at the Homestead was the worst I have ever experienced at a resort that purports to be a luxury resort. The food was uniformly unexceptional, except the Dining Room, which was just downright bad. I would never stay here again, and would never recommend it to anyone I know.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JPHAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary and considering the amazing exterior and grand lobby, we expected a room to die for. The staff were awesome and even gave us a free upgrade on our room, however the room was disappointing. I think after seeing how grand the resort was everywhere else we just expected the room to be amazing and it just lacked any kind of wow factor and our view out our window was of the top of a roof. BUT besides that we had a blast! It was GREAT to get to walk the street and eat at the several restaurants in the area and we spent all of the time we could on the slopes, even though the weather didn't permit much! So all in all it was really great! One tip though- the hotel restaurants are expensive, so my advice is to eat at the places nearby because they are just as wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, WV
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

My wife and I recently visited the Homestead to celebrate our anniversary. We were a little reluctant given the mixed reviews and price point. But after hearing much about the Homestead and passing by the Interstate exit many times, we decided to try for ourselves and are glad we did.

The resort is remote, nestled in a valley surrounded by mountains. The grounds are beautiful. It is a property that anyone could photo and get great pictures. The staff were friendly. More friendly and less stuffy then the staff at the nearby Greenbrier. The food was delicious. We had the breakfast buffet in the dining room on the bed and breakfast plan. The buffet was huge. The only thing I saw missing was waffles, which they may offer on other days. We also ate lunch on the lawn at the Casino Club. It was a relaxing meal and both entrees were delicious.

We would recommend this property to anyone and already have. You do need to come recognizing the resort will be a slower, relaxing pace in a remote setting. The reservation staff did provide a room upgrade for our anniversary. Our room 1704 was in the tower and offered breathtaking views of the grounds. It had a dining area beside the floor to ceiling window. The room had a flat screen TV and was well furnished. The bathroom was no frills with a single sink, tub/shower.

The only activity we did was use the indoor pool. It is lovely and is fed by the hot springs, so the water temperature was wonderful. We thought the outdoor pool was nice too. It had drink service and plenty of lounge chairs.

It should also be clarified that the property did offer us free wi-fi. The website does not indicate this.

In summary, the Homestead is a place to get away from busy life for a while. It is a romantic destination for couples, but also would be a nice place to take a family or meet old friends/extended relatives for a weekend. The surroundings appeared to offer plenty of beauty and recreation in any of the 4 seasons.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNewRiverGorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Our stay at the Homestead was great!! We went there in June 2007, when I was eleven, and our whole family loved it. We stayed there for ten days. The rooms were in great shape, the beds were very comfortable, the breakfast was very high quality and the service was pretty good, too. We never got bored, as there was a bowling alley, two pools (one indoor and one outdoor), a spa, a fishing pond and a beautiful forest about a two hundred yards behind it. Williamsburg was also only about twenty-five minutes away, and we had lots of fun there. Even just at the hotel, there were lots of things to see. Even though this hotel was established in 1766, it is in great shape. When your reading this review, you may think, "Oh, this girl is only thirteen, what does she know?" But, seriously, you will totally enjoy your stay there. Jamestown is also not far away and there is lots of pretty nature and fun little shops. If you stay here I'm sure you will love it like we did! :)

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess050709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
187 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
19.4 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing