We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torn - Great place, but the service does not match the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Torn - Great place, but the service does not match the price”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I love the Homestead. We had a family getaway for 4 adults and 3 kids. Booking was great and they were very helpful helping me get the room configuration that worked for us (a suite with a connecting double, so we could sleep 2 / 3 / 2). The scenery and the activities there are fantastic. We did shooting and the instructor was great with my three boys (two had shot before and one had not). We would definitely go back, but I do have some serious reservations...

So here is my issue:
1) I expected a higher quality of service given the room rates (spent over 6K)
2) There reservations systems for activities are terrible. They tell you that things are wide open and that you don't need to reserve, then there is a rush and everything is booked, then we show up anyway and nobody is there so we can go right in. This happened multiple times in the restaurants and for shooting. We did not do some things because we were told that they were full - I now doubt that they were.
3) The hotel is in need of repairs. It is a huge facility, but there were cracked/usafe bricks on several of the stairways and a lot of things were in need of paint. This is not true of the rooms, they were fine and is only the general facilities.
4) They had several private parties and blocked off large parts of the facilities in the evening. Definitely check about other events at the hotel and what will be blocked off before you book.

Room Tip: Check the events going on at the hotel when you book and find out what areas will be restricted and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Omni Homestead for your family getaway. It is good to know that our room reservations agent was helpful to you, and that you enjoyed the scenery and activities (especially our historic Gun Club). We do apologize that we did not meet all your expectations. It is our goal to provide each guest with a first-class experience and the best in Southern hospitality. We value input from our guests and use all comments as tools for improvement. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and to providing you with the first-class customer service you deserve. If I may assist with a future reservation, please contact me directly at 540-839-7570.
Sincerely,
Leslie Tune,
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,771
    1,269
    625
    316
    147
See reviews for
1,716
2,002
77
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We very much enjoyed our 4 days at the Homestead and highly recommend it. I would have given it 5 stars except that there is some plumbing and air conditioning noise that comes with a hotel this old. We tried all the restaurants and enjoyed them. The Main Dining Room was charming and we enjoyed dancing to the live music and watching the children dance with their parents and grandparents. The pool was fun and we loved walking around the beautifully kept property. The highlight for us, though, was the wonderful front porch where we read and just enjoyed the scene.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGW/JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

For two days following a less than stellar stay at another SW Virginia property, we were absolutely "wowed" by The Omni Homestead. What a beautiful property and lovely staff. Our room was upgraded to a garden room with our own little patio to sit and read and enjoy some chilled wine all afternoon. We had planned to eat one night at the main dining hall and the next at either Sam Snead's of the Jefferson, but the food, service, ambiance, and value at the main dining room caused us to go there both nights. Although well off the beaten path, The Homestead was a perfectly wonderful retreat.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad or even average room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Va, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Overall my stay was great and we will be back. My only concern was with how late the room was cleaned on a couple of days and that several items were overlooked or not replaced basically towels The only other issue was w have insects in the bath towels the first morning. I have enjoyed the Homestead and everything it has to offer and my family enjoys our time there we always leave feeling refreshed and rested and wishing we did not have to leave. Of special note several of your staff went out of the way to make us welcomed. First was Don of the bell staff we have known him for several years now and he remembers us and always looking to help us. In the Main Dining room there is a waiter named Nabhun who has taken care of us in such a great way we have come to ask for him every time we eat in the main dining room he goes out of his way to provide us with excellent service. I will continue to ask to be seated in his area. Finally at Sneads Tavern our server Steve was also excellent and next time we eat there I will request to be in his service area. These individuals reflect well upon the Homestead and make our time there that much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Omni Homestead. It is always good to hear from our repeat guests as your opinions are very important to us. We are glad to hear that you plan on returning, and we thank you for your very kind comments regarding our associates. Be assured we will share your accolades with them. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in regard to your room accommodations. This is unacceptable and will be reviewed with our Housekeeping team so we may prevent a recurrence in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, VA
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We just spent our sons birthday at the resort and marvel at the outstanding quality and service we received. It's hard to remember feeling so pampered and special. Everyone seems to go out of their way to anticipate and take care of your every need. Love the spa, pools, springs, hiking and food. The chefs made special vegan offerings that were amazing, with the freshest and finest ingredients...even making fresh vegan pasta noodles. The resort was worth every penny and I'm already saving up to go again. I feel good , also, to be part of keeping such an historic treasure going. Omni, you're doing this right. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalueJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have stayed at the Homestead several times. The setting, the tradition, and the staff combine to make this one of the consistently finest experiences each time we return. I would highly recommend the Homestead to anyone who wants to experience the epitome of fine living. The perfect mix of relaxation and great activities makes this a truly wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I love the historical feel of the hotel while still having access to amenities such as the spa, a fantastic pool with lazy river and slides and a beautiful golf course. The staff was absolutely amazing! They were very friendly and solicitous without being overbearing or intrusive. We were very pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
187 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
19.4 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing