We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham,NC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Nice Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Have visited before but first time since The Omni took over. Large family gathering enjoyed the many choices of activities with the pool being a popular attraction. An isolated , clean, quiet environment. Not impressed with Sam Sneads Restauarant . The Casino is casual with tolerable food . The other two restaurants are more expensive. Service at check-in and out is smooth and friendly. $10 Valet parking/day. The last 20 miles are difficult to negotiate . Do not plan on much shopping. There are various plans and prices for restaurants and rooms. Check locations for rooms if particular. Can be a relaxing experience. Likely will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,767
    1,266
    624
    313
    147
See reviews for
1,714
1,997
77
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights this past weekend. We really enjoyed the hotel, the atmosphere, the spa garden, and the location. The hotel room was really nice. However the shower did not drain properly and would result in standing in above ankle water. We did the Segway tour which was great fun. It was a great place to learn how to ride a Segway. The tour is for ages 12 and up; however, there was a 12 yr old in our group that struggled with the device. Other Segway tours recommend 16 and up.

We got a spa garden pass and really enjoyed the relaxation. Totally worth it!

We received wonderful service. My husband and my issue was that the food was gourmet/resort prices but far from that quality or standard. The best place to eat was at the Jefferson bar where my husband and I watched the world cup and had a burger and the Virginian.

Our food was not even remotely impressive at the other restaurants. In two cases, we witnessed people return their meal and dessert to the kitchen stating they didn't like it. At first I thought this was rude, but then I got a horrible meal at Sam Snead's and thought twice about returning it because it was horrible. I don't mind paying a lot of money for good food but this was no where close. After our trip, I spoke to several people who have been to the Homestead and commented on the awfulness of the food. One friend said she had been going there for 20 yrs and believes that lack of quality of the food began when Omni took over. I do not know. I just know that I ordered butternut squash ravioli from the main dining room. It was swimming in butter/oil. You could see the oil rings. The carrots were undercooked and the spinach was limp because it was swimming in a butter broth. The ravioli seemed homemade but had very little squash in it. This was $28.

My other dinner experience was Sam Snead's and I had a smoked chicken egg roll with jicama and watermelon. It was made withe the fatty rubbery parts of the chicken and minced inside the egg roll. The jicama and watermelon were in the center of the plate and covered in BBQ sauce. It was disgusting. I didn't eat it; however none of the staff including the manager had a problem with this. At both restaurants we witnessed people returning food for disliking it.

The breakfast buffet was the best. I would spend your money there. It was close to $30 but very enjoyable.

I have eaten at other resorts in my life: Greenbrier, Boar's head ( recently), Sea Island, and gourmet restaurants all over the world. The food in no way came close to the price that was being charged. If we go again, we will eat the breakfast buffet and then go to Subway in town or eat at the Jefferson bar and have small dishes. There are not a lot of other restaurants to choose from that are not associated with the Homestead. If you REALLY wanted to try the fine dining, then go with whatever the server recommends. My husband thought his meal was better than mine and our server recommended it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Momdemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very impressive really a fantastic getaway with an amazing amount of activities to choose from. Super for families and couples alike. A well done blend of upscale and comfort with ample opportunity for privacy when desired. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirelessWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Excellent weekend! Can't wait to return! We usually visit The Homestead in Feb. but we are definitely planning to bring the whole family for a long weekend next summer! There is so much for children to do as well as adults. We are thrilled with the excellent changes that the Omni Resort has made. My only recommendation would be to change tea hour to 4-5pm. We missed it on the day of arrival and it rushed us on Sat. of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 195bettyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We chose The Homestead for our 24th wedding anniversary. We had stopped there for lunch many years ago and thought it would be a nice place for a special occasion. Although showing it's age somewhat, The Homestead is a grand hotel/resort in a beautiful location. We have also stayed at the Greenbriar, nearby in WV. The two resorts are very similar, grand old ladies offering lots of activities, excellent dining, and ambiance. The history tour is recommended. The Lobby Bar is a beautiful location for pre dinner cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful for what it is. The staff however leaves a lot to be desired. I have to say this coming off of a fabulous July 4th at The sanctuary at Kiawah last year. The pool is fantastic for kids - although they close the fun part at 6pm. We rented cabanas at the pool both days ($225/day) - 9am- 6pm. When we got there at 9:30 the first day, no one was there to tell us which cabana we had. By 10:30, they had their act together somewhat and told is where ours was, brought us water and fruit and did well for the rest of the day. The second day, we anticipated that and got there at 10am. No fruit - water brought over at 10:45. Disappointing. All of the bartenders seem to have quite the snippy attitude - that is if you can get their attention. The rooms are fine, but NOTHING to write home about. The food is really good (except at the pool). We did however reserve Sam Sneed's the first night which is not on campus. After the bartender in the hotel insisted that I purchase a 9oz pour of KJ 15 min before dinner and said I could take it with - as soon as I walked in the restaurant with it they said it was not permitted. Lots of little things gone wrong. Right server/attendant makes all the difference. Just be prepared. The spa is nice, but the service there isn't fabulous either.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3falcones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a beautiful old hotel hidden away in the mountains of Virginia. The hotel and the scenery are spectacular, and there is so much to do for families with children of any age. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
187 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
19.4 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing