We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Pretty, Very Pricey, Lots to do!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% OFF + BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Pretty, Very Pricey, Lots to do!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

There is so much to do. I stayed Wednesday & Thursday night. The room was small but cute. I loved tea time at 3-4pm, this was free. They don't have very many options of tea flavors. They also serve little sandwiches and cookies. It was delicious. The staff needs to dust on top of the mantle. The roaring fires were beautiful but they created a lot of dirt that no one was taking care of.
I went snow tubing at the lodge for an hour. It was so much fun. The walk from the ski lodge to the tubing lanes was rough (long, and very deep snow), but it was well worth it.
I went snow mobiling. Because it had just snowed, we took the snow mobiles on the horse trails. 2 staff members went along w/ me and my boyfriend. We each drove our own.
The outdoor pool and hot tub are great. They are beautiful and the perfect temperature. It was beautiful to swim in while it snowed. The bath houses are nice too. There was 2 showers and a swim suit dryer, but I could not find a hair dryer.
I ate 1 meal in the dining room. My total with tax and tip for 2 people was $173. There was a pianiost who played beautifully. There were very few people dining. For about 20 min we were the only people in the dining room.
The resort has little stores inside. They are cute but over priced. They sell dresses for $200 and windbreakers for $400.
I wanted to take an exercise class both mornings I was at the resort, cycling and a dance class. I was the only person to show up for the class. The front desk told me to show up 15-20 min early. I was disappointed both classes were cancelled because the staff didn't make it in (due to snow on the roads).
I went on the building tour. It was very infomative. Not many people attended. I'm glad I went becuase otherwise there are parts of the resort I would have never discovered.
The arcade downstairs was fun. They were not serving food because there wasn't enough staff. They had a mini bowling game, $3 for 5 frames. Don't play the pool down there. There is free pool upstairs behind the lobby bar.
I was very confused by my bill when I checked out. If you charge meals to your room, the total on your receipt is not the REAL total. They will add tax on top and never give you a printed receipt of this final total. The front desk had to explain why all of my meals were more expensive than the receipts I received.
I went to the Jefferson Hot Springs. Everything was original from when jefferson was there. The paint was chipping, the floor was filthy, it was super drafty and cold. There was barely any place to put your clothes. I heard a rumor that it will be remodeled this year, I hope this happens because the building is in desparate need of repair.
Service in the Jefferson Bar was TERRIBLE. My server brought the food and never checked back. I had to get my own refill. The sever stood to the side of the bar and watched the olympics.

Room Tip: Our room was small (1472) but it was cute. It had a King size bed and a HUGE pedestal sink in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zazoom783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,089
    1,014
    479
    238
    121
See reviews for
1,265
1,551
59
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I went here for a two night vacation. The place is full of things to do from dining options to adventurous activities. We chose to do the sporting clays course on the gun range and had a blast (no pun intended). The staff was very helpful and patient with my wife as she re-learned how to shoot a gun. The spa garden was fantastic and enticing. We didn't participate in the winter sports (ice skating, skiing), but those are available if desired. We continued to say "wow this would be a great place to bring kids" as everything a kid would want to do is located in one spot. The price is high, but it is full of opportunities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlove55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel was wonderful, the staff was nice and willing to help in any that they could to make your stay easier. The rooms were nice and clean. The spa staff was so helpful and willing to answer any question that you have and willing to help anyway that they could

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great last minute getaway for a reasonable price. We stayed here Sunday-Tuesday and got a much better rate, since we were there during the week. Worth every penny of being pampered! Skiing is minimal but just fine for us. Also, going during the week helped on the crowds. The Spa is always the highlight of our trip. You could spend the whole day there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank kachus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went for a long weekend over Valentine's Day. Due to 18" snowfall, the setting was magical. Hotel despite being full delivered on service. Food good at Grill and outstanding at Casino Restaurant. Average and overpriced at SS Tavern. Rooms a bit noisy, wished they offered cross x skiing, hot springs spa lovely but upcharge of $17/25/daily. Resort fee covered delicious pm tea - overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 22ellens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Activities were great for the kids and the pools were awesome. Service was poor as they seemed understaffed. Game room was fun. Ski resort is good for beginners and learning. Pillows could be firmer and the hotel seemed hot all the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great facility benefitting by Omni Hotel purchase and recent upgrades and capital investments. The updated fitness center, Jefferson's lounge and spa enhancements added on to the always great food made this the best visit of the past three years.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
53.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing