We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jaw droppingly bad in-room dining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
harrisonburg, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“jaw droppingly bad in-room dining”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

On a recent stay at the Homestead, the quality of the in-room dining varied drastically from Thursday night (very good) to Friday night (the worst I've ever had). My wife is a vegetarian and ordered the pizza since it was the only true vegetarian option; what she received was obviously a take-out pizza (suspiciously like Dominoes) that was even delivered to our room in a take out box, with onions and black olives added by your kitchen staff. Also, the chocolate ice cream was literally a shopping store container of ice cream (identical to what we buy at Martin's)--it wasn't even put in a dish. This is nothing short of embarrassing, and is unacceptable for a resort like the Homestead, especially considering the cost of the food that is added to the room price. I'm estimating the cost of the food since it's included in the bill, but I'd say we paid about 60.00 for a Dominoes pizza and a pint of ice cream. Should have just brought our own!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We appreciate your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at The Homestead. We regret that your in-room dining experience did not meet your expectations. Our Culinary Department joins me in extending our sincerest apologies. We do value input from our guests and use all comments as tools for improvement. We hope you will visit us again soon so we may have an opportunity to regain your goodwill and confidence and provide you with a first-class experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,720
    1,246
    611
    304
    145
See reviews for
1,668
1,972
74
758
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
richmond, va, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

we had a wonderful time. Nick from Jamaca who is always cleaning something was great with the kids and Lisa at Wm Flynn store was very helpful and professional. Overall it was a great stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Unfortunately, this is the first negative review I have written. That is partially due to the fact that we always research where we choose to stay, and generally find that positives far outweigh potential negatives. That is not the case for the historic Homestead. At the Christmas tree lighting, the new manager remarked he had been at the property for 8 days, hopefully he can get things moving in the right direction.

Having just moved to Virginia from Colorado, we were looking for a new Thanksgiving tradition. In the past, we spent the holiday on the slopes. From the reviews we read, The Homestead seemed like a good choice. What we discovered through the course of the trip was that most of the guests had stayed at the property before, and many of them have been staying for decades, literally. That makes me believe that these people have too much of an emotional connection to see things objectively. I heard guests making excuses for the hotel constantly. That is a bad sign. Guests should not be defending a product, the product should speak for itself.

Here is my objective assessment:

Pros:
- The staff. Everyone we encountered had a positive attitude, worked hard, and clearly wanted to help guests in whatever way they could. Without the staff, I'd have given a 1.
- The property. The Homestead has remarkable curb appeal. You can see the history and majesty of the property as soon as you drive up.

Cons:
- The prices. The rooms were at least double what they would normally be because of the holiday, but should have been probably 1/5 the cost. Having stayed all over the world, if I pay $500 a night for a room, I'm expecting slightly more than Holiday Inn. Maybe I'm crazy.
- The food: For the price, the food was a joke. Again, I don't mind paying for a nice meal. I do mind paying for inadequacy. The filet mignon I had at Sam Snead's Tavern was the worst I've ever had in my life. The food at Jefferson's and the Casino was pretty good, but not nearly as good as the price tag indicated.
- The Spa: The massage was great, however, we booked the spa so that we could also enjoy the outdoor hot tub and pool that is just for spa guests. These areas were closed for the ENTIRE day though because of ice. I found this hilarious having just moved from Colorado because 1. there was no visible ice on the pool deck and 2. if there was ice, GET RID OF IT! Unbelievable. I'm trying to imagine a hotel in Breck or Aspen or Vail telling their guests the pool is closed because of ice.
- Thanksgiving dinner: We chose the Thanksgiving buffet dinner, as did the vast majority of the other guests. The buffet was set up in a massive banquet hall. With the hundreds of guests eating, they set up ONE guy serving ONE turkey at a time and ONE pan of each of the sides. Needless to say, the lines to get food were absurd, and I never actually ended up getting mashed potatoes, having waited for a new pan for 10 minutes on two separate occasions. I can't imagine such poor planning at any hotel/restaurant. Here's the best part, the buffet was $75 per person, just for the food. With one drink a piece for my wife and the automatic 17% surcharge plus taxes and tip, we ended up paying $250 for a few pieces of mediocre turkey and some apple cobbler. The Thanksgiving Dinner experience sort of epitomized the entire trip for us. Paying mightily for nothing more than the name of the resort.
- The pretentious society folk. I grew up in Georgia, so I am very familiar with the Southern patriarchal status crowd. The Homestead is absolutely teaming with wealthy well-to-do Virginians that believe that staying at The Homestead in some way conveys their worth to whomever they are trying to impress. These are the folks that equate expenses with quality. If you are like me and base quality on the product/service regardless of expense, you will be left wanting. Severely.

This review is already too long, and I could continue with many more examples, but I think I've conveyed my point. I think next year, we will head to the Caribbean and have twice the quality for half the price. Or anywhere else in the world for that matter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 486BrianS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Homestead to spend your Thanksgiving holiday and for your very helpful feedback. Be assured that we take your comments seriously and they will be very useful to us as we make plans for not only next Thanksgiving, but all future holiday events. Omni is very proud to have added The Homestead to our family and we are looking forward to making this magnificent historical property even better. We hope that you will return sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Interesting and unique hotel but the prices are steep. The Main Dinning Room is beautiful but I expected much better service and meal quality for the price ($230 for 2 people). While it was nice to experience The Homestead once, I don't think I can justify a return visit at that price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Parker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel has changed ownership at least one to many times and most of the staff appears to be recent hires who have no clue what they are doing. The buildings are old with little maintenance. For what one gets at this price, the value is gone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Homestead. Please know we take your feedback seriously and will work with our team through better training to reinforce the level of service and product you have become accustomed to. We recently completed a $25 million renovation to our historic property, and exciting plans are being made for more restorations. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future to show you a truly great Homestead experience and regain your goodwill and confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The resort is fabulous. My husband and I stayed at the hotel last week. The Homestead offered a variety of dining options from formal to casual. The service, facilities, and food are outstanding. The staff exceeded our expectations. Viviana at the front desk is wonderful. We requested a room with king bed and we had a room with two double beds. She changed us to a room with a king bed and upgraded us to a beautiful room. Also, she helped us to make dinning reservations since we couldn't get a hold of the concierge desk. Her hospitality was just wonderful. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay the perfect gateway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

All is top-notch here from the first hello to the ambiance to the bedding to the staff to the excellent food. This is our 4th visit, we know what to expect and we received it. Due to icey conditions, we were unable to use the new spa hot pool outdoors, but were graciously shown to the new spa Aquavana experience free of charge since we could not enjoy the 'whole show'. Very accommodating at this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest Maribet... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
211 reviews
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
184 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
11.8 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing