We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good, not Great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, D.C., United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, not Great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Better customer service, attentiveness and an investment in a good chef would make this resort great. Unfortunately for the Homestead, it's only good at the moment. Perhaps now that the Omni has taken over, things will only improve. When you spend a considerable amount of money to stay at one of these places, you expect the hotel to pay attention to every detail. Would consider going back, but may check out the Greenbrier instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Israel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Homestead and for being so candid in your review. Please know we take your feedback seriously and will work with our team through better training to reinforce the level of service and product you should have received. Your comments, while obviously disappointing to us, are crucial to our hotel, as it is only through input that we are able to make necessary corrections. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future to show you a truly great Homestead experience and regain your goodwill and confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,155
    1,044
    495
    243
    124
See reviews for
1,311
1,595
61
627
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My relatives from Israel came to visit so, I took them to see a nice piece of Virginia's history: The Homestead Resort and Spa. The property boasts past visits of dignitaries, royalty and presidents. It houses hot springs, found by the Native American Indians and taken over by the original settlers. The "healing waters" (mineral rich) are captured in the indoor and outdoor pools and gurgling jacuzzis. The property seems to be doing well under new management with Omni Hotel Group. Hopefully, with additional training it will come up to even higher standards. The Homestead needs the loving care as it is an older property with what appears to be facility maintenance challenges. Definitely, charming and well worth the visit to this historical landmark.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank NancFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had the chance to spend a long weekend at the Homestead in October, and it was lovely. The room was nicely decorated, but didn't have a very good view. We bought the dining package, which was rather expensive. The food was delicious, but if you stay longer than 4 days you might get a little weary of the dinner selections, depending on how many restaurants you frequent. We enjoyed Jefferson's and the main dining room. The breakfast buffet was superb. I had meetings to go to during the day, and enjoyed the hiking trails, but otherwise might have been bored. There are plenty of aristocratic sports like falconry, golf and archery. During the warmer months there are outdoor swimming pools and water parks. The indoor pool was closed for repairs. It is in a fairly isolated location with not much else to do close by. is worth a visit for 3 or 4 days but not much more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Homestead on business, which must have taken up a lot of your time and did not allow you ample opportunity to explore and enjoy the more than 30 activities we have to offer, including a Spa, two all-season heated outdoor pools, state-of-the-art fitness center, tennis, golf, archery, Segway tours, Equestrian, Shooting Club, fly-fishing, nightly movies in our historic Theater, the historic Jefferson Pools in Warm Springs, history tours, shopping and antiquing in the nearby villages-and much, much more. Unfortunately, we did have an issue with the indoor pool which necessitated closing it for a few days and it has since been repaired. We hope that you visit us again soon and take the time to relax and unwind and enjoy our peaceful surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Historical, great service and fairly reasonable price. A fantastic family location year around with plenty of great activities. Located in the beautiful and historic Shenandoah region of Virginia. Worth the drive, highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank petew41133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I went to the Homestead for a long weekend. The Hotel is first class! There are activities for every age! We did a horseback trail ride-beautiful, we were sad that all we could get was a 30 minute ride-an hour would have been much better. The canyon hike is a must do--be sure to have Brian as your tour guide-he is knowledgeable and entertaining (have your puns ready)! The canyon ranch spa is a first class indulgence not to be missed! The only down sides to our trip was lunch in the canyon ranch café--the service was very good, the food was subpar and dinner in the main dining room-lovely atmosphere, dancing to a jazz trio, fabulous food but very average service--more than once we had to wave our arms to get a servers attention. We took a short break to dance between dinner and desert, when we got back to our table our desert menus were gone and the bill was left on the table. It took at least 10 minutes to get a server to find our server. He did take our desert order and like the rest of the dinner it was fabulous. The bill came again, this time it was incorrect-they left off our bottle of wine. It took another 10 minutes of waving to get someone to come back over. To the hotel's credit, when we got back to our room, my wife was upset enough to call the front desk to complain. The manager on duty did remove our dinner charge from the bill--a very nice thing to do. Overall this is a first class resort-great for a getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank akgauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Homestead for a long weekend getaway. We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many of the things that make The Homestead special, in particular a hike in the Cascades Gorge with Brian. Brian is indeed a valued member of our team and he will be delighted you took the time to recognize his efforts to ensure you had a great time. We appreciate you pointing out the shortcomings with dinner service, and it is good to know that our manager on duty appropriately apologized and took care of this for you. We take feedback seriously and will work with our team through training to reinforce the level of service you should have received. We hope that you will return again soon for a longer visit so you may enjoy more of what our historic resort is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Beautiful location and majestic architecture frame this elegant hotel/spa. Especially attractive during the fall when the leaves are changing color. World class SPA with more amenities than I've seen anywhere, including hot natural mineral springs. Dining in the main hall with live music and dancing was first rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've been here a couple of times with my wife, and frankly I'd really rather give it a 3.5 rating instead of a 4. This old hotel/resort is typical of its era - big, imposing, some impressive architecture, smallish rooms with that Lillian Vernon style décor, a bunch of "activities" for families and kids, and 3 or 4 dining rooms/pubs. It's not a bad place, it just isn't our cup of tea really, we prefer cities and more dining options. It's out in the middle of nowhere (sorry Hot Springs residents, no offense intended), and you are pretty much limited to eating and drinking at the hotel, there's no place within an hour's drive to eat/drink worth a darn. You can get a suite obviously, but they are quite pricey. If you have kids, however you will definitely need a suite, the regular rooms are too small. The bathrooms have been renovated and are decent, but nothing to write home about. Our chamber maid must have had a bad week, as she repeatedly failed to clean up certain things, left a coffee maker dirty, etc., just nits really but when you added them up it was not the best experience from a room cleanliness standpoint.

The hotel staff are either completely indifferent or genuinely pleasant, it's completely binary (and arbitrary). Sometimes they go out of their way to help you and other times they go out of their way to avoid you. The food is, well, the quantity of food they serve is impressive, the actual taste less so. Again it's not bad just not terribly impressive. The wine list has some interesting odds and ends on it which helps, but I must comment on the prices - I understand they have to haul everything in from long distance, but $17 for a martini? Really? $13 for the house chardonnay? Really?

The resort activities are equally pricey, so if you are bring the family, better stop off at Fort Knox or tap into your 401K account first...... $75 for one round of sporting clays is about triple the normal going rate..... But forewarned is forearmed, and as long as you budget carefully you can still have a good time here. One high point is the new Canyon Ranch spa facility - very nice, and just beautiful. New pool area, new fitness facility, etc., it was really well done. Omni Hotels recently purchased the Homestead and reportedly they plan to spend some money and make upgrades - badly needed if you ask me for everything except the new spa.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the golf course - much quieter than the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
It is always good to hear from our repeat guests as your opinion is invaluable and gives us an opportunity to improve upon the guest experience. It is good to know that you enjoyed our newly renovated Spa and fitness center. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for any shortcomings you experienced on this visit. Please be assured that Omni is committed to the restoration of The Homestead and through extensive employee training, to providing our guests with the legendary service they have come to expect. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
17.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing