We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

While the hotel is not easy to get to the journey was worth it. located in the mountains of VA the historical hotel, great service, fantastic scenery made it all worth the extra effort. The old course was fun to play and we enjoyed a day of spa service and took a carriage ride around the property. Was a lovely 4 day get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank camulodny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,097
    1,015
    482
    238
    121
See reviews for
1,271
1,556
59
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We didn't get the room we reserved which made for a very uncomforatble first night on double beds in a hot room. The Homestead is a beautiful historic hotel, but make sure you know the kind of room you're getting since they range from nice suites with beautiful views to "EconoLodge" variety.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We sincerely apologize we were unable to accommodate you in a king-bedded room the first evening of your stay and that you found your room to be uncomfortable. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with first-class accommodations, Southern hospitality, and a unique, memorable experience. Please contact me the next time you would like to visit so that I may personally oversee your arrangements and ensure a great Homestead experience.
Brent Glashan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I know that the Homestead will start with the cookie-cutter response of "thanks for highlighting the positive aspects of your stay," but it is impossible to ignore a few of the issues that still prevent this from being a top-notch place. Just recently returned from a 5 day trip with family - as previously reviewed, I have been here many times in the past, so I have a decent perspective on how The Homestead has evolved over the years.

The Jefferson Grill is downright odd, and not in a good way - appreciate that they've livened things up in the bar area (vs. the very stodgy President's Bar), but the restaurant retains the high-end prices without the high-end food or high-end atmosphere (previously the food was quite good). The service was downright awful - confused host and waiters from drinks to dessert - and the food was equally bad. The bone-in filet is mediocre at best (gray, lifeless), with a stock marinade of Lawry's quality and a $49 price tag - terrible mashed potatoes (a holdover from my last review) and lifeless asparagus. I cannot overstate how poor the dining experience was. It was atrocious.

The "pub" beneath the Jefferson has been rejuvenated with a kids focus - new arcade games, mini-bowling, air hockey, etc. A bittersweet change - we've spent many nights in the old version of the bar, but my kids certainly appreciate the new look and feel. Overall, an improvement for sure.

Great bar/staff in the lobby - one of last year's upgrades, which was closed when we were there due to low occupancy. This time it was very lively and fun. Also glad they found a proper home for the President portraits that previously adorned the President's Bar.

Fishing pond - just to the right of the pool complex/mini-golf area. We borrowed a pole from the Allegheny Activities shop in the main house for my toddler to use. When we got to the pond, it couldn't cast. The reel was basically rusted out and useless. When I went back to exchange it, the lady commented "yeah, none of them work and we are trying to replace them." First - why give us a rod in the first place when you knew it was busted? Second - those kids Zebco's cost $15 on Amazon, so there is no excuse to have a bounty of them available. Others in my party commented that the legitimate fly fishing gear "available" for rent was also broken, which is completely inexcusable for a peak weekend in the fall. As I understand it, the hotel was 98% full on Saturday, so they likely angered a lot of people.

The new mini golf is poorly conceived. Good looking, but not your proper layout. As silly as it may seem, most holes should have a path to a hole in one. This "track," however, is just a bunch of arbitrary bumps and curves, with no rhyme or reason. Also think it is insulting that they list a $1.25 lost ball fee and a $50 destroyed putter fee - are people so reckless that the masses have to be insulted with that type of "bounty" for issues? Definitely not fitting of a classy hotel.

The new lazy river is very cool, and my kids enjoyed it thoroughly. A particular shout out to the lifeguard staff, who were extremely friendly and engaging. They were far and above the most memorable folks we met on our trip. If the lazy river does, indeed, stay open all year, I think they should consider turning off some of the overhead sprinklers/waterfalls. The water is warm, but the air temp could be a problem.

The indoor pool was completely out of commission this week. Another miss, for sure. Apparently it was a broken pump, not a renovation, but still extremely disappointing.

Family did a few spa treatments - the renovations look great, and the staff were generally solid. Things sold out on Sunday, but our party still enjoyed a few pedicures/massages earlier in the week. Not cheap, but well worth it.

Cascades in very good shape this week. Had a great round. Separately, very disappointed to hear they got rid of the Lower Cascades. It wasn't the greatest track out there, but it was very enjoyable.

Overall, it's another hit or miss visit but much more miss this time than the last one I reviewed. A nice dining experience is always atop of my vacation priorities, and the Homestead simply did not deliver. Some promising facility upgrades, but key niggles that are hard to overlook - stop skimping on the small things that really tarnish the overall experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uvadover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat, valued guest of ours. We are very sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay were sub-par as we wish to create amazing memories each time you come. Be assured that your comments have been shared with our team so we may learn from your experience and make improvements. I would really appreciate you contacting me the next time you are planning a visit so I may personally assist with your arrangements. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon so we may provide you with the awesome experience you have come to expect from The Homestead.
Brent Glashan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Homestead is a wonderful retreat with great service and lovely rooms. We have only been in the Fall, but the leaves are always beautiful and the air cool and crisp. We also enjoy the afternoon teas with cookies and sandwiches. One our favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The Homestead is designed to make you relax. The beautiful scenery and exceptional service make this possible. The property was recently purchased by Omni. It will be exiting to see what they do to update this lovely property.
Tips: go for long walks; play golf on the exceptional courses; must do afternoon tea; eat trout!
Don't do the breakfast buffet unless you are a BIG eatery. At $27 a person, it is hard to feel like it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalisala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We only could afford to stay one night and had a great time. Staff were very friendly from the time we pulled into the driveway. Our request to upgrade to a suite was granted which made our trip even better. Complementary high tea, indoor heated mineral pool, and historical tour were great. The rooms dated by to 1904 and were nicely updated but still retained their historic character. Room service was prompt, very friendly and some of the best eggs benedict we've had anywhere. We skipped the spa facilities after seeing how much we could do without spending a small fortune. The grounds are beautifully kept.

Room Tip: Lower floors in the older sections have higher ceilings. As you go higher up, the ceilings get lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Our trip was a visit to the quality resort of years gone by. Comfortable environment with a beautiful setting. Wonderful new canyon ranch spa. Lots of fun doing skeet shooting at their on site shooting range. The breakfast buffet was fabulous! Although the dinner meals left something to be desired and could have been seasoned better. Overall a very nice experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rpbp4_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
53.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing