We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, United States
1 review
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Probably better to go here with older kids, not a lot for younger ones to do. Childcare starts at 3 years old, and horseback riding is for kids 4'6" or taller. With lots of steps everywhere and thin walls, babies and toddlers aren't the ideal guests. Couples, friend groups, families with older kids and business parties would be have a blast here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,101
    1,017
    484
    238
    121
See reviews for
1,273
1,560
59
613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Homestead is an historic gem. Beautiful architecture that is great fun to explore (so many hallways and staircases from its hundred or so years of additions and renovations). A gorgeous setting, with a lovely golf course, a great tennis pro, and so many activities that you wish you could stay longer. Croquet on the lawn, s'mores at night, and the new waterslides and lazy river as well as the beautiful indoor heated pool - just too much to do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Erika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time with a great room upgrade to a suite with a large outdoor porch. A minor peeve that didn't match the 5 star positioning the hotel seeks is they don't replace amenities unless they are half used as part of a green program. It struck us as just a try to save pennies on a room that costs $300. Really cheapens the overall great experience. We wonder if the mandatory gratuity doesn't diminish service quality since guests may not tip because they automatically pay 18% on their room rate. Does the gratuity get to the staff members providing great service?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful time at The Homestead. To clarify, the 15% Daily Resort Charge includes afternoon tea, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, high-speed wireless internet, nightly movies, tennis courts (seasonal), Allegheny Springs outdoor pool, the indoor pool, access to the fitness center, shuttle service to resort activities, and gratuities for housekeeping staff. We do participate in a Green Program but do appreciate your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel common areas were great, but the hotel rooms were barely better than a Courtyard Marriott and the food quality and the value of the food was probably the worst my wife and I have ever experienced. It was just a poor overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We apologize for the disappointment you experienced. We pride ourselves on being a luxury resort with elegance and cleanliness throughout the property, especially our guest rooms, and for providing a first-class culinary experience. We hope that you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The spa is divine, but don't expect to be received by the front desk as if you were anyone special. Our reservations could not be found - even though I had our printed confirmation. The room rate/package was wrong. We were made to pay for their mistake. Certainly doesn't feel like the Homestead we were accustomed to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your Spa experience. However, we are disappointed we did not give you a warm welcome upon arrival. If a mistake has been made with your bill, we would certainly like to rectify it. Please contact my assistant, Sandra Anderson, at sandra.anderson@omnihotels.com or call her at 540-839-7503, and give us the details. We would welcome the opportunity to regain your goodwill and confidence and provide the service you have become accustomed to at The Homestead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our third trip to the Homestead in the last 2 1/2 years. We went primarily to have family time at Allegheny Springs, and we definitely accomplished that. We arrived for check-in a few minutes after 4pm (check-in time), but our room wasn't ready yet. Amy at the front desk was extremely helpful and actually upgraded our room so we could be put in a room immediately. We had a tower room on 17 (which is actually the 6th floor) with an enclosed porch area and sliding glass doors. We were disappointed to learn that the lobby bar menu online was no longer accurate, so we could not get kid-friendly meals there as we planned. We ordered pizzas to go from the former Casino Restaurant that is now the Canyon Ranch Café. When we arrived to pick up the food, there were a number of outdoor tables open, and they were able to accommodate us there with the perfect view and good food. We took advantage of Allegheny Springs after dinner and had the place almost to ourselves. My 5yo and 1yo loved playing in the kiddie splash area and the pool.
On Saturday, my husband and 1yo headed back to the pools while my 5yo and I went to the stable for her to do a hand-led horse ride. I didn't realize that they would not even give her any reins, but she enjoyed the ride anyway. I must say this was the cleanest stable I've ever seen. We returned to the resort and joined the rest of the family at the pools. My 5yo was just tall enough to take advantage of the water slides and would have stayed on them for hours if we had let her. She also really enjoyed the lazy river. I didn't realize ahead of time that there was a small sand play area near the kiddie splash area. There are no toys provided for the sand, so if you have young kids, I recommend bringing your own sand toys. We had dinner at Jefferson's Restaurant and had previously requested a table by the windows. We had a great view and good service with the food arriving quickly. The kid meals were sizeable, and both girls liked them. I had the filet and really liked it, though the edges were a little too black for a medium rare steak. My husband got the lamb and liked it but would not order it again. He commented that our daughter's grilled cheese was the best thing any of us got. We waited to get dessert in Martha's Market where we split ice cream. He and my daughter then went to play putt putt golf and enjoyed the little course.
The minor issues we had were the following, and I must say that management and the front desk did not seem to care about the problems and failed to offer any apologies:
1) Housekeeping left a lot to be desired in our room. I saw a couple of hairs in the bathtub as soon as we checked in, but everything else looked clean enough and we didn't want to cause a fuss over it. As the first day went on, I found an empty shotgun shell, lotion bottle, and hair gel under the edges of 1 of the beds.
2) The high the 3 days we were there was only in the 70's, but the room was incredibly stuffy. We left the curtains closed on Saturday in the hopes that that would block the sun and help cool the room. When that didn't work, we asked that someone come to the room at 6pm when we would be out for dinner. At 7:15 when we returned, they were just starting to work on the AC. After more than 20 minutes, they said they had done all they could, helped us open the sliding glass door, and asked housekeeping to bring us a box fan to help circulate the outside air inside the room.
3) There were servers walking all around Allegheny Springs, but for whatever reason, no one would wait on us and the service was very slow when we stood in line for drinks. Also, $15+ for chicken tenders and fries is a bit much.
4) Despite the website saying the kids spa is open (which it has said for weeks), it isn't open.
5) There was peeling paint in the bathroom, but the rest of the room was in great condition.

Basically, we had a great time despite minor issues. A lot of the information on the website was inaccurate, so if you want the correct information call the resort and ask directly. The Homestead is as beautiful as ever!

Room Tip: Avoid the garden wing where a lot of the rooms are dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review and for being so candid in your remarks. We always appreciate hearing from our repeat guests as your opinions are very important to us. We are glad that you had a great trip overall, and do apologize for some of the issues you encountered. Since your visit, we have opened the Children’s Spa and all our information is now accurate on the web site. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Homestead is beautifully situated and makes a wonderful destination. The natural beauty of the area will renew your spirits. The staff is extremely friendly and the resort offers something for everyone. Both families and couples can enjoy it here. The Homestead is very large but you never feel overwhelmed by its size or lost among other events such as a wedding or a professional convention.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David And Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
53.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing