We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time, beautiful accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun time, beautiful accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We got a living social package deal for the Homestead and had a great time. The rooms are cozy and comfortable (though ours had a plasticky bed cover under the sheets that we could have done without) and the bathrooms spotless. We had a lot of fun just exploring this giant building. The outdoor heated, natural springs pool was lovely. We were there while they were reconstructing the gym and spa area, so the gym was in a random conference room. Though the equipment was fine, the setting left something to be desired. I'm excited to go back once the remodel is complete. I highly recommend the afternoon tea (included in your reservation) to live piano music. Breakfast was amazing and the value was good since it was included in our package. Other meals at the resort restaurants were ok, but nothing special (there'a great pizza place a few miles away that I would definitely recommend). I think we got our monies' worth with the package deal but I don't know that I would have paid full price for our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JtravelsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are delighted you took advantage of a special and visited The Homestead recently. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our new outdoor heated pool that is now open year-round. Our new Canyon Ranch Spa Club will be debuting in a few weeks and will have a new extensive fitness area which will include cardio and weight room as well as studios for yoga, Pilates, cycling, dance and exercise classes. Specialty wellness options, under the direction of the on-site exercise physiologist, include Rx for Exercise, Target Heart Rate Determination and Fitness Assessments. The SpaClub’s nutritionist will lead one-on-one and group sessions such as Fastest Meals Imaginable and Lifetime Nutrition. Our renovation project also includes new restaurant venues and menus. Now that you know about our resort, we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,536
    1,180
    578
    276
    136
See reviews for
1,546
1,854
67
718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited The Homestead recently as part of a conference. It is a beautiful historic location, and I enjoyed sitting in the Great Hall drinking tea (the piano playing was excellent), but with the massive construction projects (we can only hope that the overall upkeep and cleaning/food prep issues will get better once they are done) and unappealing conference food, our stay was less than what I would call standard for a location of its former quality. The staff were very accommodating when asked for assistance. The bellmen and parking employees did a great job and were very well organized. Unfortunately, other issues made the visit less than expected. The "hot" food at the reception was lukewarm and appeared as if someone had opened a bag of frozen appetizers and threw them in the pan. It was messy looking and not at all worth eating. The ham biscuit appetizer was ice cold as if it had been taken straight from the fridge. Breakfast was not much better with overcooked scrambled eggs in a wrap with what appeared to be extremely tiny bits of sausage. I took one bite and threw it away. Looking for a banquet employee when we arrived, I stepped into the back area of the conference and it smelled so bad (like decaying food) I had to leave quickly, feeling very ill. We were told that the spa services while the spa was being constructed were great, but after looking at it, we decided it was definitely not worth the price with no spa facilities available. The point of paying the higher price would be to use a steam room, sauna, pool, etc. I can receive an excellent massage without spa facilities at home at less than half the price!
It is a shame to see such a beautiful place go the way of other aging poorly managed hotels, poor quality, cleaning standards and (at this point) poor upkeep of the facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is good to know you enjoyed our location, afternoon tea in the Great Hall and the hospitality of our staff. As you can tell from your stay with us, we are in the midst of a $25 million restoration and enhancement to our historic resort. We are working to complete these projects with the least amount of inconvenience to our guests. We apologizes we did not meet your expectations in the food category and our Culinary Department will be using your comments as tools for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back once our Canyon Ranch SpaClub and new restaurants open in the coming weeks so we may show you a truly great Homestead experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

It is a little difficult to get there, but once you do you will love this old world charm. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. They are so clean and the staff is wonderful. My kids learned to ski on the slopes and it was perfect for beginning skiers. There was a free shuttle to and from the hotel. It was easy to rent all your skiing needs and a nice lodge to eat lunch or get a hot drink. We will be going back again next winter! The spa was being worked on so there was not much pampering on the property. However, the spa will be amazing when it opens in the spring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful endorsement! It sounds like you had a magical winter visit to The Homestead. We’ve had an awesome ski season this year. As a matter of fact, we have extended the ski season to March 30th. We agree our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub will be amazing when it debuts later this spring. We invite you back to experience it and look forward to welcoming you back next winter if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at The Homestead, where family has been visting reqularly for 15 years. Not sure if caused by construction, but the typical and touted "unequaled hospitality" is gone. Front desk, concierge, and Sam Snead's Tavern staff seemed to use construction as an excuse, not a challenge to be overcome. Example- over one hour wait for food after ordering at Sam Sneads - kitchen problem likely caused by a revamped menu (no reasons given, just my guess). Example - front desk refusal (after three requests) to arrange Great Hall fireplace fire, since "the fireplace was just cleaned" (it was snowing outside, I think for over $250 pp/pn a little fireplace ash would be OK). No one, especially the concierge, seemed to know how to address malfunctioning doors or elevators. Here's hoping management can get staff attention, hospitality starts inside.

Room Tip: Consider waiting until after outdoor spa is completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RFrankRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat visitor of The Homestead. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and for being so candid in your remarks. We sincerely apologize for our shortcomings and for not meeting your expectations. We hope you will visit us once our renovations are complete as we would welcome the opportunity to provide you with the legendary service that you have come to expect from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having been a Spring visitor to The Homestead for the last 5 years, and sporadically over the 10 years prior, I must say this year was disappointing. Knowing that construction would be a part of the visit, I will allow for some dust and noise, however, I did not expect the fitness room to be right across the hall from the Rotary Club convention! High Tea has lost its glamour with the serve yourself set up and a cash bar set up the the end of the hall. It took two hours to have our meals brought to us at Sam Snead's Tavern. No apology or reason given. The menu has changed, not nearly as impressive. The breakfast buffet in the main dining room at $27.00 per adult is quite pared down. The omelet chef has maintained her no nonsense bossy attitude for years and we love her for it! She is quite entertaining. There are a few places in town for dining, including a Subway which is a great answer for the kids. Front desk clerk, bell hop, and valet service seemed rushed and frustrated in their daily duties. Housekeeping, however, was excellent, prompt, and friendly as was the main dining room staff! It took well over an hour to get one of our cars after checkout. The other car arrived within 15 minutes. The magic has left The Homestead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section for character and charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gigitotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations as we pride ourselves on being a luxury hotel with elegance and cleanliness throughout the property. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with a first-class memorable experience with Southern hospitality. We are working to complete our enhancements with the least amount of inconvenience to our guests. We invite you back to experience our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub as well as new restaurant venues once they are complete as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your goodwill and confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
572 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just finished my, perhaps, 10th conference at The Homestead. What had a few years ago been a stodgy old wealth property is quickly changing its image and marketing strategy. This summer they will introduce a range of water sports, mountain driving courses and other outdoor activities for the younger generation.

I hosted two groups of foreigner who are world travelers at The Homestead this weekend. They were very impressed with the overall facility, its exceptional service and the food.

In years past, it seemed that you were nickle and dimed for every little item, e.g. $5 per bottle of drinking water conveniently left in your bedroom; a fee for Wifi; fees for every activity on the property except the indoor swimming pool. These fees have largely been replaced.

My only complaint is the lack of Wifi service throughout the facility, particularly in the conference area. This makes it difficult to have conferences which need access to the internet.

If you are looking for a place where you can leave your problems behind and just be pampered for a few days, The Homestead is where you want to go to!

Room Tip: The rooms are virtually identical inside with the exception being for various size suites. not all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for writing about your 10th stay at The Homestead for a conference! We value your opinion as our repeat customers are important to us. We apologize for the challenges you experienced with Wi-Fi service during your stay and we are looking into this issue so that we may make improvements to better serve our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

What's not to like about a beautiful historic building in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The food is wonderful, the service, while not quick, is exemplary. Rooms are large and spacious, staff is attentive. Amentities in the rooms include shampoo, handcream, shower gel and condtiioner. Each room has a hair dryer and an ironing board, safe, small individual cup coffee maker and a nice size ice bucket.

So with all this luxurious treatment and surroundings, what's with the cheapo paper products in the room. Couldn't even blow my nose properly.

Also, I will never understand why low end hotels provide the internet for free and upscale hotels need it for a profit center.

All in all, it was a wonderful experience which I would do again when I have more time to really enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1213pdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Homestead and writing about your stay. We value guest comments and view them as a way to improve the guest experience. We hope you will return again soon for a longer visit so you may enjoy more of what The Homestead is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
23.5 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing