We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Weekend to Date!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Weekend to Date!!!!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Gorgeous hotel!! Exceptional staff. lovely rooms. Food was very good, but there are places in town that provide exceptional food as well as an escape from the crowds. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the lobby. Make sure to wear a sweater as the lobby and main dinner room are drafty in winter. We loved our snowmobile adventure in the evening guides were very friendly and informative and made us feel safe. Snow tubing was great and everyone at the Tube Park was very friendly and helpful. Every staff member we encountered from the moment we arrived with the valet meeting you at the front door, to the concierge, housekeeping, store staff, and front desk staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and more than willing to do anything to make our stay memorable. We will definitely return to the homestead resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It is good to know that you enjoyed a relaxing winter weekend at The Homestead and the Southern hospitality of our staff. We are delighted you wish to return and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,660
    1,219
    595
    291
    138
See reviews for
1,610
1,931
74
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our third visit to the Homestead and this was probably the most memorable! We were celebrating a birthday and early Valentine's Day and had received a special offer from the Homestead for a great price, including breakfast. We checked-in Sunday evening (Superbowl Night!), stayed until Tuesday, and the resort was very quiet over-all. The staff was wonderful and really seemed to appreciate us being there. We were upgraded three levels for our room which was really generous of them! This was the most pleasant and beautiful room we have stayed in - spacious and comfortable with a lovely view. We had asked about getting a room with a fireplace once we were offered the upgrades but were told we would have to pay extra for that - we passed. The resort is old and elegant and usually wild with activity. Not this time - it was calm and peaceful and there could not have been more than 50-75 people in the entire place! We were pleased to find that all the expected ammenities were still available, despite the reduced number of patrons. We actually did go swimming in the outdoor heated pool and soaked in the hot tub. Outdoor swimming in February - what a memorable experience! Two other couples were there and we all enjoyed each others' company. Everything was impeccably maintained despite some construction and rennovations going on around the resort. We had breakfast in the main dining room each day and the food and service were typical, yet very good. We have had dinner many times in the main dining room and decided to try something different for this stay. We went "local" and ate at a little restaurant in town, which was good. The Lobby for High Tea at 3 pm was very nice and relaxing near the fireplace. The piano player and tea service were also nice touches. Hotel service was very good overall except that our room was not made up until about 3:30 pm and only after we called the front desk when we were on our way to tea. Perhaps they were short-staffed that day? We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the Homestead during a non-holiday time and truly had a nice, private, winter get away experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narcy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing fond memories of your stay at The Homestead. We're thrilled that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion at our resort and enjoyed many of our activities that make our resort so unique in the winter. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to the homestead after purchasing a Living Social deal. We had a wonderful, relaxing weekend. We requested a renovated room which we received. Based on reviews, we avoided the main dining, expect for breakfast which was included in our package. We had dinner one night at Sam Sneeds Tavern (part of the Homestead) and the second night we went to the Waterwheel Restaurant (part of the Gristmill, about 10 minutes from the Homestead). For a small fee, the Homestead provided us transportation to the Waterwheel. I would recommend both restaurants. Sam Sneeds was quiet and cozy, we sat by the fire. The Waterwheel was very personable as it is run by its two owners in an old mill. The wine cellar in the basement is next to the actual wheel used in the mill and worth walking downstairs to see. Their wine is reasonably priced and their owner John was very knowledgeable about the wine as well as the vineyard it came from.

The Homestead provides a variety of activities. I would recommend planning out some of your activities in advance. I wouldn’t recommend going to the Homestead just for skiing unless you are a beginner; in that case I think it is a great place to learn. Definitely, go to the Jefferson Pools, the bath houses are from the late 1700s. The Homestead also offers a variety of different activities depending on the weekend, some complementary.

The Lobby was very nice to relax in and sit by the fire. They offer a complementary tea every afternoon. After dinner, it was nice to sit and enjoy drinks and people watch. Overall, the hotel resembles the “Old Virginia” elegance.

Room Tip: The hotel is undergoing renovations, ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Homestead. We're thrilled you enjoyed some of the many things which make our resort so special, such as afternoon tea, drinks in the Great Hall, Sam Snead’s Tavern (named for the late great golfer who was born in Hot Springs and made it his home) and the historic Jefferson Pools in Warm Springs. Thank you also for sharing your tip on planning in advance. We do recommend our guests make dinner and activity reservations prior to arrival in order to make the most of their visit. We hope to see you back for another relaxing visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We decided at the last minute on a long weekend away. We didn't want to deal with the hassle of flying, so we looked for something within easy driving distance and somewhere we haven't been previously. We decided to try The Homestead. It was nice, but I don't think we'll go back.
We stayed Saturday-Tuesday morning. As a previous reviewer mentioned, over the weekend there were tons of kids and many did run wild. That did not bother us so much, likely because we did not spend a lot of time in the public areas. Monday the place was QUIET and very different. When we booked our reservations, we were told that the spa was under renovation, so we were prepared for that. The alternate arrangements seemed fine. They had taken over an entire hall and converted the rooms into treatment rooms. Obviously, not as nice as an actual spa, but it worked.

The positives:
We booked a suite and the two rooms we were given were huge! We had a sitting room with a couch, chair and table and plenty of room to move about. The bedroom and bath were also huge! We were right over the main entrance, but up several floors.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
The skiing was very nice, with good conditions although really more for beginners and intermediates, not experienced skiers.
Swimming outside in the heated pool next to the ice skating rink and then sitting in the spring fed hot pool were great fun. Of course, we went in on Monday, not the weekend.
Our second spa appointments were very good.

The negatives:
When we checked into our room, there was a light bulb out in the bathroom and the sitting room TV did not work. In the evenings, there was a very strong wood fire smell in the hall and in our room. This was disturbing, and a few times uncomfortable.
The food was average. We had dinner in the main dining room one night. It was tasty but not hot, which was surprising since the dining room was less than half full. The menus are relatively mundane and very similar in all restaurants. Sam Snead's Tavern had the best food and the most innovative menu. The Casino Restaurant was good, but the menu is the same for lunch and dinner.
Our first spa appointments were not great. We both said that the therapists we each had seemed to be "counting strokes" and they had little creativity. However, as noted above, the second appointments were really good!

This is a place to go where you do everything on property. The town of Hot Springs is quaint, but has a coffee shop, a couple of other shops and that's it.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend the most time at one activity, you might want to ask for a room closer to that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at our historic resort. We value guest comments and view them as a way to improve the guest experience. We have heard from many of our guests who are eager to experience our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub when it debuts in the Spring, in particular Aquavana, which is a signature feature and is European-inspired. Our Spa Garden will open in the Spring as well and is a year-round sanctuary for adults only, featuring indigenous hot springs, therapeutic geothermal mineral baths, and more. Again, thank you for offering such constructive feedback. We hope that you will return again in the future so that you may experience all of our new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

As we drove the back roads to arrive at the Homestead we passed by beautiful countyside and farms. But then..., as u come around the corner the sight of the most impressive resort comes into view. We took our teenage children for a quick getaway. There is so much to do. Something for everyone! We enjoyed many of the activities they offered. The breakfast buffet was definately worth it. Our rooms were very nice, clean and had a great view. We stayed in the new part. It is definately pricey, but everything is available to you, and you can be thrifty if you enjoy beauty, walking, and taking advangtage of the little known things they offer, like the firepit near the casino, the afternoon tea and history tour. Definately sign up before you get there. And have a wonderful time. Apparently many of our forefathers and US Presidents have.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement! We are thrilled you and your family had a chance to enjoy many of the things that make our resort so special – from a lovely drive to our historic property, lovely accommodations and grounds, breakfast in our Dining Room, fire pit, afternoon tea and history tour. We hope you will be able to return soon for a longer visit and enjoy more of what our resort is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For the price of a room at this hotel, you would expect a bit more elegance. It would have been nice to know the hotel would be full of children and college kids before making my reservation. Having all those kids running through the lobby, screaching in the swimming pool, and taking up the dance floor during dinner in the main dining room was a bit annoying when expecting a quiet weekend in the mountains.
The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. The couch (in our room) had lots of stains on it as did quite a few of the chairs in the lobby and the dining room. More information about what to do and the services offered to newcomers would be appreciated. We made dinner reservations at an off site restaurant and found out (by accident) that the hotel would shuttle us there. (unfortunately they had to cancel due to snow). The main dining room food is overpriced and average.
Tea time was nice and the cookies were good. But again, swamped with children and very noisy.
I really don't know if I would go back again. Would have to get a better deal on the room. We paid $300 per night and others we talked to got a 'cyber deal' and only paid $150 per night. Feel like I got ripped off...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We appreciate your candid feedback regarding your stay at The Homestead. We do value input from our guests and use all comments as tools for improvement. We do hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddleston, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I was out of the country for the holidays working and wanted to spend some time with my wife without the kids when I returned. We spent a weekend @ the homestead. It was very nice and plenty expensive. They are doing some renovations which I would agree need to be done. The dinner at Sam Sneads was amazing! For the money the best meal. The apple cider duck was the jam! The Saturday morning cascade falls hike was great! Brian was our guide. I would recommend asking who is the hike guide and if Brian isn't the guide then make plans to move your reservation to include him! He was awesome! I mean incredible! We took the afternoon off and spent some time at the beer tasting at the ski slope. Dinner was in the main dining room that night. Live band, elegant dinner, wonderful dinner but probably not as delicious as the dinner at SAMs Sneads for the money. Definitely do the main dining room once for the experience. Breakfast each morning was included with our room package and I would do that again. All in all it was great! Not every month but once a year it's a great couples get away. While we were there about a million kids were there. It seemed like they were all having fun. So I guess next time the kids will be with us. In the end I don't know if the price was worth it but it is fun to be spoiled every now and then.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Homestead when you and your wife visited for a relaxing weekend. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you plan on returning with your children for a family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
23.5 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
54 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
47 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
182 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing