We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not a repeater.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We decided at the last minute on a long weekend away. We didn't want to deal with the hassle of flying, so we looked for something within easy driving distance and somewhere we haven't been previously. We decided to try The Homestead. It was nice, but I don't think we'll go back.
We stayed Saturday-Tuesday morning. As a previous reviewer mentioned, over the weekend there were tons of kids and many did run wild. That did not bother us so much, likely because we did not spend a lot of time in the public areas. Monday the place was QUIET and very different. When we booked our reservations, we were told that the spa was under renovation, so we were prepared for that. The alternate arrangements seemed fine. They had taken over an entire hall and converted the rooms into treatment rooms. Obviously, not as nice as an actual spa, but it worked.

The positives:
We booked a suite and the two rooms we were given were huge! We had a sitting room with a couch, chair and table and plenty of room to move about. The bedroom and bath were also huge! We were right over the main entrance, but up several floors.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
The skiing was very nice, with good conditions although really more for beginners and intermediates, not experienced skiers.
Swimming outside in the heated pool next to the ice skating rink and then sitting in the spring fed hot pool were great fun. Of course, we went in on Monday, not the weekend.
Our second spa appointments were very good.

The negatives:
When we checked into our room, there was a light bulb out in the bathroom and the sitting room TV did not work. In the evenings, there was a very strong wood fire smell in the hall and in our room. This was disturbing, and a few times uncomfortable.
The food was average. We had dinner in the main dining room one night. It was tasty but not hot, which was surprising since the dining room was less than half full. The menus are relatively mundane and very similar in all restaurants. Sam Snead's Tavern had the best food and the most innovative menu. The Casino Restaurant was good, but the menu is the same for lunch and dinner.
Our first spa appointments were not great. We both said that the therapists we each had seemed to be "counting strokes" and they had little creativity. However, as noted above, the second appointments were really good!

This is a place to go where you do everything on property. The town of Hot Springs is quaint, but has a coffee shop, a couple of other shops and that's it.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend the most time at one activity, you might want to ask for a room closer to that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herbowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at our historic resort. We value guest comments and view them as a way to improve the guest experience. We have heard from many of our guests who are eager to experience our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub when it debuts in the Spring, in particular Aquavana, which is a signature feature and is European-inspired. Our Spa Garden will open in the Spring as well and is a year-round sanctuary for adults only, featuring indigenous hot springs, therapeutic geothermal mineral baths, and more. Again, thank you for offering such constructive feedback. We hope that you will return again in the future so that you may experience all of our new improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,827 - 4,833 of 5,607 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

As we drove the back roads to arrive at the Homestead we passed by beautiful countyside and farms. But then..., as u come around the corner the sight of the most impressive resort comes into view. We took our teenage children for a quick getaway. There is so much to do. Something for everyone! We enjoyed many of the activities they offered. The breakfast buffet was definately worth it. Our rooms were very nice, clean and had a great view. We stayed in the new part. It is definately pricey, but everything is available to you, and you can be thrifty if you enjoy beauty, walking, and taking advangtage of the little known things they offer, like the firepit near the casino, the afternoon tea and history tour. Definately sign up before you get there. And have a wonderful time. Apparently many of our forefathers and US Presidents have.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement! We are thrilled you and your family had a chance to enjoy many of the things that make our resort so special – from a lovely drive to our historic property, lovely accommodations and grounds, breakfast in our Dining Room, fire pit, afternoon tea and history tour. We hope you will be able to return soon for a longer visit and enjoy more of what our resort is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For the price of a room at this hotel, you would expect a bit more elegance. It would have been nice to know the hotel would be full of children and college kids before making my reservation. Having all those kids running through the lobby, screaching in the swimming pool, and taking up the dance floor during dinner in the main dining room was a bit annoying when expecting a quiet weekend in the mountains.
The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. The couch (in our room) had lots of stains on it as did quite a few of the chairs in the lobby and the dining room. More information about what to do and the services offered to newcomers would be appreciated. We made dinner reservations at an off site restaurant and found out (by accident) that the hotel would shuttle us there. (unfortunately they had to cancel due to snow). The main dining room food is overpriced and average.
Tea time was nice and the cookies were good. But again, swamped with children and very noisy.
I really don't know if I would go back again. Would have to get a better deal on the room. We paid $300 per night and others we talked to got a 'cyber deal' and only paid $150 per night. Feel like I got ripped off...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

We appreciate your candid feedback regarding your stay at The Homestead. We do value input from our guests and use all comments as tools for improvement. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was out of the country for the holidays working and wanted to spend some time with my wife without the kids when I returned. We spent a weekend @ the homestead. It was very nice and plenty expensive. They are doing some renovations which I would agree need to be done. The dinner at Sam Sneads was amazing! For the money the best meal. The apple cider duck was the jam! The Saturday morning cascade falls hike was great! Brian was our guide. I would recommend asking who is the hike guide and if Brian isn't the guide then make plans to move your reservation to include him! He was awesome! I mean incredible! We took the afternoon off and spent some time at the beer tasting at the ski slope. Dinner was in the main dining room that night. Live band, elegant dinner, wonderful dinner but probably not as delicious as the dinner at SAMs Sneads for the money. Definitely do the main dining room once for the experience. Breakfast each morning was included with our room package and I would do that again. All in all it was great! Not every month but once a year it's a great couples get away. While we were there about a million kids were there. It seemed like they were all having fun. So I guess next time the kids will be with us. In the end I don't know if the price was worth it but it is fun to be spoiled every now and then.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Homestead when you and your wife visited for a relaxing weekend. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you plan on returning with your children for a family vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love The Homestead. In fact, I am going back again next month and can see this being an annual visit. The staff is top notch, the grounds are beautiful, activities abound. I personally enjoyed the skeet shooting. I also really enjoyed the spa and the baths from centuries ago! I can see why this was the retreat of choice for many presidents! Top notch!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amywhetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding The Homestead. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit, particularly skeet shooting, the grounds, Spa, and the hospitality of our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a grand hotel! You feel as if you are literally stepping back to an era where fine dining, courteous service and luxury are the norm rather than the exception. We were fortunate enough to be there the week after New Years, the decorations were still up and presented a beautiful sight! The ice skating rink next to the outdoor pool is a real treasure, just like something out of an old time Christmas movie! The indoor pool is relaxing and therapeutic, the shops enjoyable to stroll through and when the Canyon Ranch Spa opens in April, this will be an exceptional destination spot! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mochabeanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

What a wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed our historic resort and that you are looking forward to returning. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have not been in many years although I have memories of visiting as a child. We visited this weekend with my 18 and 21 year old boys. The hotel was great and service was fantastic. They are in the middle of renovating the spa and updating that area. The new heated outdoor pool and hot tubs was great. The skating rink is now near the hotel and used constantly. An outdoor activity was included with our package and we went for a house trail ride with a very friendly guide that was fun as well. The skiing is definitely for beginners but is something to do outdoors during the winter while you are visiting. The rooms are classic and the food and service are excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to The Homestead with your family. It is good to know that you enjoyed our winter activities as well as food and service. We hope that you won’t take as long to schedule your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
32 reviews
17 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
226 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
67 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: $219 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing