We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem left over from another era!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A gem left over from another era!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love The Homestead. In fact, I am going back again next month and can see this being an annual visit. The staff is top notch, the grounds are beautiful, activities abound. I personally enjoyed the skeet shooting. I also really enjoyed the spa and the baths from centuries ago! I can see why this was the retreat of choice for many presidents! Top notch!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amywhetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding The Homestead. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit, particularly skeet shooting, the grounds, Spa, and the hospitality of our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,659
    1,219
    594
    291
    137
See reviews for
1,609
1,930
74
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a grand hotel! You feel as if you are literally stepping back to an era where fine dining, courteous service and luxury are the norm rather than the exception. We were fortunate enough to be there the week after New Years, the decorations were still up and presented a beautiful sight! The ice skating rink next to the outdoor pool is a real treasure, just like something out of an old time Christmas movie! The indoor pool is relaxing and therapeutic, the shops enjoyable to stroll through and when the Canyon Ranch Spa opens in April, this will be an exceptional destination spot! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mochabeanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
What a wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed our historic resort and that you are looking forward to returning. We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington,nc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have not been in many years although I have memories of visiting as a child. We visited this weekend with my 18 and 21 year old boys. The hotel was great and service was fantastic. They are in the middle of renovating the spa and updating that area. The new heated outdoor pool and hot tubs was great. The skating rink is now near the hotel and used constantly. An outdoor activity was included with our package and we went for a house trail ride with a very friendly guide that was fun as well. The skiing is definitely for beginners but is something to do outdoors during the winter while you are visiting. The rooms are classic and the food and service are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome you back to The Homestead with your family. It is good to know that you enjoyed our winter activities as well as food and service. We hope that you won’t take as long to schedule your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always wanted to visit Homestead Resort , and this time I tried Groupon offer - 2 nights stay plus breakfast. I called resort to make a reservation and asked about upgrade to a room with a view, which was extra. We picked late November weekend for our trip, when main hotel and grounds were already decorated for Christmas. We arrived late Friday afternoon, and hotel stuff was very pleasant and attentive to us, we was helped with valet parking and our luggage has been delivered to our room. Room was a nice size, with 2 double beds, big storage closet and nicely decorated bath, we really liked old time style décor of the room and bath. Next morning we started with breakfast buffet and really enjoyed service and variety of hot and cold breakfast choices. Restaurant tableware sets resembled a style from old days, which was a nice detail.
After breakfast me and my son decided to try some ice skating, we paid extra for a rent and a block of skating time, which I think could be included into resort fee for guests. Heated outdoor pool was very nice and clean, but we decided do not use it. We went to check out an indoor pool, located at the spa section of the resort; spa was under renovation and pool was cold and all changing rooms were closed. I ended up booking a massage for my husband, which he liked. We stopped by the guest service desk and reserved a carriage ride for the same evening, it was extra as well for adult, small kids were free. The weather that day was very sunny and a little cold, so we decided to go to a playground, I liked that playground was big and my son liked all slides there. Playground located next to kids camp, where parent could leave kids for a day or half, camp room looks nice with a lot of toys, but we didn’t use that option. We visited gift shops and I really like a shop with Christmas décor, located outside, there were a large variety of Christmas ornaments and prices was OK. When my son took a nap, I went downstairs for an afternoon tea. The lines for tea and cookies were long, but I got lucky to be in front. Enjoyed tea time and some piano music! Same day at the afternoon we took a carriage ride, it brought us up the hills and woods, we could see resort from far distance, we made a stop at the ski area and made s’mores and hot cocoa. Hot drink worked good as the weather became chilly. We enjoyed the ride, extra layer of clothing would keep us warm. After arriving back to the resort we decided to check out a movie theater, which was showing a Christmas movie, there were 2 more people at the theater with us. I liked old style of movie theater, but a movie selection that evening wasn’t the best and my son got bored very fast. So we returned to our room and watched TV.
Next morning we started with breakfast buffet again, when walked around resort ground, stopped at the library, gift shops, etc. It was our last day at the resort. We checked out and drove back home. We took some small country roads an way back a scenery was beautiful.
We enjoyed our stay, even with limited selection of winter resort activities during that time. I wished a spa and indoor pool renovation would be completed. We definitely like to go back late spring or summer time and include hiking and other outdoor activities into our trip.
I like a history of Homestead Resort, quest s can find a lot of historic facts at the first floor library, full of old photographs , books and memorabilia items. We knew that resort is on ‘haunted resorts’ list and actually some of personnel shared their ‘ghost encounters' with us, we even stayed at a floor below the ‘haunted’ floor, which was cool and a little mysterious same time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a mountains view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing the highlights and photographs of your first visit to The Homestead. We are thrilled that you enjoyed many of the things that make our historic resort so unique and special. Our Canyon Ranch SpaClub and Spa Garden will debut in the spring and it would be a delightful time to schedule a return visit. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very accommodating. Beautiful spa/resort. Plenty of amenities for the whole family!! Husband & I enjoyed the getaway. Loved everything about this resort, indoor pool, ice skating!!!!!xvzxxxxxxxccccccccccc

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
And thank you for your amazing review! It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

For hundreds of years, the Homestead has provided its visitors with rest, relaxation and outstanding entertainment and dining. I have been coming here for nearly 30 years now, and am very glad to have the opportunity to bring my own family here. Of late, the resort has relaxed its strict rules of dress and etiquette - I miss some of the old formality, but this was my first visit with my own children (ages 3 and 1) and, as a parent, I appreciate the new, more relaxed regime. This was a great experience for the three-year old. She was able to try to ski for the first time. The ski area is small and close, and great for beginners. For me, though, it would appear that this hit of the trip was the new Allegheny Springs Pool area. It is a bit of a schlep to get there from the main hotel - but in winter, the enormous outdoor pool is heated. There is a new outdoor hot tub replete with waterfalls. The kids pool is transformed in winter to an ice rink. This pool/ice complex (which in summer includes a lazy river and water slides) is a fantastic addition to the resort. The kids loved it, we loved it. Five stars! The dining experience remains fantastic. The Jefferson Pools remain unchanged. The Spa is undergoing significant renovation at the moment - the indoor pool was not at its peak right now. We are already planning our next trip in June to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Be certain to discuss room options before you go so that you are not dissapointed with the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your family's visit with us in January. It is always good to hear from our long-time guests as your opinions are respected and valued. We are glad that you enjoyed our many winter activities including the ski area, ice-skating and our new Allegheny Springs Winter Wonderland! We look forward to welcoming you back in June to celebrate your daughter’s birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our 1st time visiting the Homestead. After reading several different reviews and tips we realized which helped us out the most in planning for the weekend getaway:

Tips:
*call and ask for a room in the main building/tower/or west wing-reason-best views and close to shops and main dining room. We stayed in the west wing-the bathrooms and carpet were recently upgraded and still had some old world charm....few doors and window in our bathroom were older (still functionable)
*take advantage of the 3-4pm tea time in the main lobby, they serve hot tea,iced tea and small sandwiches and cookies-all were very good
*go here to practice and learn how to snowboard or ski-slopes are great for beginners
*go to the jefferson pool at least once to experience it-you do come back feeling very relaxed-note to self-you must pay to go its $17 each day and they can charge it to your room-I didnt know this and honestly didnt think it was worth $17 family time is 12-2pm so drive yourself over there to take advantage of the 2 hours you get-and you can talk all you want in either pool :)
* From 2-5pm the jefferson pool is available for men only in one pool and women in the other pool-if you must talk you can only whisper and its clothing optional
*You must make a reservation at the Waterwheel Inn for dinner at least one night while there-service is the BEST and food was FANTASTIC!
*Go to the little cafe up the road for breakfast-best meal for the $$$
*Pack your own water bottle and fill it up in the gym-or visit the spa and enjoy filtered water anytime

We went on a busy holiday weekend. We never were able to sit by the fireplace in the main lobby-people kept hogging it. We wanted to try the casino room for dinner one night, but the times they had available were too early-so we were offered the buffet in the empire room-for $35 its was overpriced. Food selection for the buffet was ehhh, I was not impressed at all-another night at the Waterwheel Inn would have been better. We did not want to try the main dining room or Sam Sneads Tavern due to all the bad reviews.Many said it was overpriced for what you get. If we go back one day we will try to go to the Players Pub-too bad they open from 7pm-2am though. Oh and avoid ordering in your room-they charge you fees just for ordering room service not to mention the tip once the food arrives-its a rip off. Again -they are doing renovations to the resort-they are creating a wellness spa and got rid of the bowling alley. The theatre room is pretty big but they played movies for kids to see. We enjoyed playing cornhole and ping pong passed the garden wing. We opted to park our car ourselves -its a short walk and we didnt mind it. The staff was very friendly-except these 2 young girls at the front desk just kept talking to each other-we felt we were interrupting them from a very important conversation-not a very good first impression. We noticed they did not have enough activites to do and they were understaffed. Need more activities for adults and maybe activites for older kids!! They also need more of a variety of food /restaurants in the resort! Last but not least-I saw a roach on the bathroom floor the last night we stayed!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the main building/tower/west wing for better views and proximity to everything garden wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Familyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at The Homestead. We value input from our guests and use all comments and suggestions as tools for improvement. We are delighted you enjoyed many activities at our resort, in particular afternoon tea, the ski area, and the Jefferson Pools. We do hope that you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
23.5 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
54 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
47 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
182 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing