We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed the Homestead greatly! The rooms are clean, very traditional. If you are over 6 feet tall beware the full size bed will be too small. The breakfast is incredible and the staff is very accommodating. I loved the omelet station and the sinfully fattening doughnuts.
The Casino restaurant was great! I recommend the lobster bisque
Sam Sneed Tavern was good as well, the "The Olde Allegany Trout" was delicious!
The walking trails are very nice and the shooting area was great for those who enjoy.
There are a lot of renovations occurring so the bowling alley was closed and the spa is being relocated.
I can't wait to come back when they finish

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommyonthego68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your fall visit to our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the resort’s architecture and grounds, our friendly staff, food and service. We hope that you will schedule a return visit in the spring when our Canyon Ranch SpaClub at The Homestead will debut.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,953 - 4,959 of 5,681 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Have been coming here for 20 years and it continues to be a wonderful destination. Yes, gloved waiters no longer serve you tea in the gorgeous lobby, but the afternoon tea (free) is still lovely. No, you no longer have to leave your jeans at home, but there is still a feeling of elegance as you walk around the gorgeous grounds or eat in the fairy tale perfect dining room.

The golf is world class, lovely pools, ice rink, and hiking trails, a fabulous spa -- really unmatched -- and a wealth of unique available activities, from falconing to off road driving tours to waterfall hikes to fly fishing.

The rooms are comfortable and lovely -- some with fireplaces ( although you can always go to one of the huge fireplaces in the lobby if it's chilly). Even the soaps and toiletries in the rooms are unique and fabulous.

If you can, do come and stay awhile...and say hello to maitre'd Woody for me -- he is legendary and has probably been here for 50 years.

Oh, and have the trout for dinner and make sure to eschew breakfast in your room in favor of the fabulous breakfast buffet. Other than the Jefferson Hotel's Sunday brunch, it's the best hotel breakfast array ever.

Room Tip: The older rooms are more charming. Ask, as you get closer to your stay, if you can get a fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

It is always good to hear from our longtime guests such as yourself as we value your feedback. As you have found out, The Homestead offers a myriad of activities for all ages and all levels. There are many things to do for those seeking adventure or for those just wishing to have a relaxing time. Woody Pettus is indeed a Homestead legend and celebrated 50 years at our resort not long ago! Thanks for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We came here for my wife's 40th birthday. This was a great choice the service was some of the best we have ever had. This is all around everyplace we went the people were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good. San Sneads tavern had really good food. The highlight was dinner in the main dining room on Saturday. The food was excellent, there was a three piece band that played throughout dinner, the service was excellent. I would reccomend this resort to all. It is a little expensive, but you have to pay for great service, which we definitely received. This was a great birthday present.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grovetucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

The Homestead is a very popular place to celebrate special occasions and we are delighted you and your wife enjoyed celebrating her 40th! Our staff is committed to providing each guest with a memorable experience that they will cherish for years to come. We hope to have the pleasure of creating more special memories for you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Took my sister to the Homestead for her birthday. Loved the decor, beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms are pretty, sort of old timey so do not expect a double vanity or separate shower and bath. Service was amazing throughout the hotel - never felt like anyone was hovering, but were able to immediately get anything we needed. We loved all the seating areas and quiet spots to sit. Afternoon tea was nice but too well attended - noisy and crowded. However, we had no difficulty finding a quiet spot to retreat to with our tea, little sandwiches, and cookies. I got a package that included the buffet breakfast, christmas ornament, and discount on outdoor activities. We took the Segway tour (note, this does not qualify for the discount) and had a great time. It's more about riding the Segway - for information on the hotel take the free history tour in the morning. The buffet is amazing, everything from lox to the most beautiful fresh fruit. My sister told me it was the best birthday present ever.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veracity55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We’re thrilled that you chose our historical resort for a birthday celebration! It is good to know you enjoyed many things that make our resort so special, in particular the Segway tour. This is a new activity at The Homestead and has quickly become a favorite with our guests. We look forward to seeing you and your sister again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Homestead is an absolutely beautiful property that has old style hotel feel of days past. The staff is warm and friendly and the hotel is extremely comfortable. There are many activities to pick from or you can just relax in one of the hotels many comfortable public spaces. Although the hotel and resturants are quite pricey, the higher price seems to dictate a certain refinement in behavior among the patrons including the children. There is just something about this place, maybe the history- maybe the feeling that you have stepped back in time to a more simplier age, but you definitely want to come back. Despite the large size of the hotel, it just feels like an elegant old home. Cayon Ranch will be opening a spa at the Homestead in the spring of 2013, I just hope that doesn't detract from the old style charm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcatArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are happy that you enjoyed many things about our historic mountain resort. We are proud to be partnering with Canyon Ranch on our SpaClub at The Homestead, with an expansive, state-of-the-art facility. Rest assured that this partnership will not detract from The Homestead’s old world charm. “Taking the waters” will still be offered in the most storied spa structure in America, while offering a variety of opportunities to explore the rewards of living a healthier, longer, more vibrant life. The Canyon Ranch SpaClub at The Homestead will debut in the spring and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at that time so you may enjoy this new experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my fourth visit to the Homestead and I have to admit that sometimes I wonder what it is I like so much about the place. It is "Shabby Chic" and sometimes the shabby is a lot more prominent than the chic. Case in point was the first room they showed us...the white bedspread had a noticeable stain (I am hoping it was dried up make-up), serious scuffs on the wall, lime stains in the shower, as well as some disturbing stains of unknown origin above the head post. The room also had two double beds when we requested a king and the hotel quickly moved us upon request to a room that was clean and lovely.

The food at the Homestead is expensive and...fine. I've never had anything unforgettable to eat there, but I also have never had anything bad. It is all very expensive.

That being said, there is just something about the Homestead that can't be duplicated. It is like living in a piece of history. I love feeling like I am a part of a living tradition. It is so fun to walk around the resort and see room after room each with its own decorative flair that has housed historic meetings and family events. When I am there I feel like I am walking through an imaginary rich relative's country estate in a place from another time. I love walking through the Great Hall and just looking from end to end and reflecting upon all of the different presidents who have enjoyed the same views as me. It is also so gratifying to help support a local industry that employs so many folks from the area. So many resorts must hire from other countries, but the Homestead still seems to have lots of locals on the staff.

I also appreciate the shops at the Homestead. While there are only a few, I can actually find affordable and unique items within the shops. So many resorts have nothing that an average person could consider buying. I always leave the Homestead with a little something special. My husband loves the trout fishing and walking by the Cascades.

My only REAL disappointment is silly, but the Homestead changed their soap line! My whole family used to say "Everything smells better at the Homestead." My parents used to order the shampoo to be shipped to them for Christmas. What they have now is nothing special. I didn't even take what was left in the small bottle from my room.

All in all, I LOVE the Homestead, but you have to understand that it is different when you go. Don't expect it to be like any other place you have ever been in the US and just let it get under your skin. Soak in the relaxation and enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid the "Garden Rooms." Ask to be near the tower even if you don't have a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at our historic resort. We appreciate your patronage of our resort and, as always, it was a true pleasure to have you with us. We value our repeat guests’ opinion and view them as a way to improve the guest experience. The Homestead’s multi-million dollar Next Chapter features enhanced guest rooms and public areas as well as new dining options, a new Lobby Bar, and spa renovations. We have just completed the renovation of 110 guest rooms with new bedding, upholstery, draperies, and carpet, etc. Our two-acre Allegheny Springs water complex, which opened this summer, is now our Winter Wonderland with a heated, spring-fed outdoor pool, heated deck, and ice-skating rink. Our adults-only Spa Garden pool will open in a few weeks and our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub at The Homestead debuts this spring. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future so that you may experience all of our new improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Upon arriving we just could not believe how beautiful the outside of the hotel and the grounds were! Early check in was easy. They held our bags and called us on our cell phone when our room was ready allowing us to enjoy the resort ammenities while we waited. Although not very well publicized, there is a complimentary tea at 3:00 with beverages and delicious little sandwiches. A very nice touch!! The grand lobby is just that!! Tall ceilings, lots of wood trim, gorgeous columns, and comfortable seating! Would love to go back in the winter when the fireplaces are blazing with warm, crackling fires!!

Room Tip: High floors are quiet. Our casino side room had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksr121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your visit and wish to return sometime in the winter. In addition to the warm, crackling fireplaces you mentioned, our Allegheny Springs Winter Wonderland is new this season and will offer ice-skating and heated spring-fed outdoor swimming with heated deck. The Homestead opened up the first ski resort in the south in 1959 and this year we will open a Rossignol Experience Center, the first in Virginia. With nine well-maintained trails, the slopes are perfect for beginners and families. After stepping off the ice or snow, guests are welcome to roast s’mores over the firepit or relax with hot cocoa. There is much more to do in the wintertime at The Homestead and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to enjoy more of our many activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
34 reviews
17 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
21.6 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
59 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
227 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: $227 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing