We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes more Shabby than Chic but always relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sometimes more Shabby than Chic but always relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my fourth visit to the Homestead and I have to admit that sometimes I wonder what it is I like so much about the place. It is "Shabby Chic" and sometimes the shabby is a lot more prominent than the chic. Case in point was the first room they showed us...the white bedspread had a noticeable stain (I am hoping it was dried up make-up), serious scuffs on the wall, lime stains in the shower, as well as some disturbing stains of unknown origin above the head post. The room also had two double beds when we requested a king and the hotel quickly moved us upon request to a room that was clean and lovely.

The food at the Homestead is expensive and...fine. I've never had anything unforgettable to eat there, but I also have never had anything bad. It is all very expensive.

That being said, there is just something about the Homestead that can't be duplicated. It is like living in a piece of history. I love feeling like I am a part of a living tradition. It is so fun to walk around the resort and see room after room each with its own decorative flair that has housed historic meetings and family events. When I am there I feel like I am walking through an imaginary rich relative's country estate in a place from another time. I love walking through the Great Hall and just looking from end to end and reflecting upon all of the different presidents who have enjoyed the same views as me. It is also so gratifying to help support a local industry that employs so many folks from the area. So many resorts must hire from other countries, but the Homestead still seems to have lots of locals on the staff.

I also appreciate the shops at the Homestead. While there are only a few, I can actually find affordable and unique items within the shops. So many resorts have nothing that an average person could consider buying. I always leave the Homestead with a little something special. My husband loves the trout fishing and walking by the Cascades.

My only REAL disappointment is silly, but the Homestead changed their soap line! My whole family used to say "Everything smells better at the Homestead." My parents used to order the shampoo to be shipped to them for Christmas. What they have now is nothing special. I didn't even take what was left in the small bottle from my room.

All in all, I LOVE the Homestead, but you have to understand that it is different when you go. Don't expect it to be like any other place you have ever been in the US and just let it get under your skin. Soak in the relaxation and enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid the "Garden Rooms." Ask to be near the tower even if you don't have a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at our historic resort. We appreciate your patronage of our resort and, as always, it was a true pleasure to have you with us. We value our repeat guests’ opinion and view them as a way to improve the guest experience. The Homestead’s multi-million dollar Next Chapter features enhanced guest rooms and public areas as well as new dining options, a new Lobby Bar, and spa renovations. We have just completed the renovation of 110 guest rooms with new bedding, upholstery, draperies, and carpet, etc. Our two-acre Allegheny Springs water complex, which opened this summer, is now our Winter Wonderland with a heated, spring-fed outdoor pool, heated deck, and ice-skating rink. Our adults-only Spa Garden pool will open in a few weeks and our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub at The Homestead debuts this spring. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future so that you may experience all of our new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,536
    1,180
    578
    276
    136
See reviews for
1,546
1,854
67
718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Upon arriving we just could not believe how beautiful the outside of the hotel and the grounds were! Early check in was easy. They held our bags and called us on our cell phone when our room was ready allowing us to enjoy the resort ammenities while we waited. Although not very well publicized, there is a complimentary tea at 3:00 with beverages and delicious little sandwiches. A very nice touch!! The grand lobby is just that!! Tall ceilings, lots of wood trim, gorgeous columns, and comfortable seating! Would love to go back in the winter when the fireplaces are blazing with warm, crackling fires!!

Room Tip: High floors are quiet. Our casino side room had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksr121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your visit and wish to return sometime in the winter. In addition to the warm, crackling fireplaces you mentioned, our Allegheny Springs Winter Wonderland is new this season and will offer ice-skating and heated spring-fed outdoor swimming with heated deck. The Homestead opened up the first ski resort in the south in 1959 and this year we will open a Rossignol Experience Center, the first in Virginia. With nine well-maintained trails, the slopes are perfect for beginners and families. After stepping off the ice or snow, guests are welcome to roast s’mores over the firepit or relax with hot cocoa. There is much more to do in the wintertime at The Homestead and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to enjoy more of our many activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just spent the weekend at The Homestead with our kids and friends and their kids (all elementary age) thanks to a Groupon. When asked what their favorite thing was it was a combination of archery, Jefferson Pools, fishing and Kids Club. They all want to go back.

The hotel is in need of some investment to bring her back to her former glory but she still retains great character. If you are looking for trendy and sleek then this is not the place.

Yes food and activities are expensive but no more so that other resorts of the same scope. There are some free activities including nightly movies, free fishing poles for the kids pond, afternoon tea, history tour and plenty of walking opportunities.

The hotel may not have the finesse of The Greenbrier but it is less expensive and is by no means your average hotel. It appeared to be less crowded which gave it a more peacful feel, and a slightly younger age demographic made it a better setting for the kids.

Most of the staff were friendly and polite others could have taken some customer service lessons from Samuel at the front desk and Brahim in the dining room.

All in all a pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view when reserving or you may end up looking at AC unit. Make dining reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It is good to know that you and your family enjoyed your visit to The Homestead, in particular archery, fishing, the KidsClub and our historic Jefferson Pools. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon so that you may enjoy more of what The Homestead has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful place to find in the mountains of West Virginia. We stopped by the Greenbriar for lunch and a tour of the bunker and were so glad we did not stay overnight there! The Homestead is far more gracious and the decor so much more superior to the Greenbriar. The hotel staff was wonderful and the breakfast in the morning a delicous buffet with everything you could possibly want. We would highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review! We are thrilled you recently discovered The Homestead in the Allegheny Mountains of Virginia and enjoyed your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel's architectural are totally stunning.. Every public room is in itself a view. The grounds are well kept and fall is a great time to visit. The additional color was spectacular. Now, although every window I saw was sparkling, there are some signs of deferred maintenance. Brass not polished, elevators needing touch up, etc. These signs in no way influenced the enjoyment of our stay. The staff here are wonderful, friendly and when asked a question, they smile. This place was filled with pleasant people! The food? Incredible! Service? Top notch! The restaurant dress code (collared shirt and jacket for men) was not restrictive at all. In fact, it added to the elegance of the evenings.
My only negative is that the spa is under renovation and the mineral pool, sauna and steam room were unavailable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your fall visit to our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the resort’s architecture and grounds, our friendly staff, food and service. We hope that you will schedule a return visit in the spring when our Canyon Ranch SpaClub at The Homestead will debut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Here for conference very upset as first night here arrived late room was literally set at 60 degrees! But worse thing is woke up the next morning with bites on shoulders and neck! Did not see a bed big but called front desk and they did move us! But I don't feel like they have a good policy in effect to deal with bedbugs! They did move us and changed linen in room but I didn't see exterminator! What is worse is fact that it was already listed on bedbug list! I have travelled extensively stayed at some very nice places! The rooms are run down the furniture is upholstered and seems dirty musty! Very over priced and waking up with bites is horrific experience!! Bed bigs are epidemic and this hotel seems very unconcerned about it! Not to mention the gross mattresses that are made out of duck feathers with feathers all over place! Not the very nice goose type feather beds with occ white feather but handfuls of black brown duck feathers! If someone has allergies or asthma they would be at risk for severe reaction! Don't waste money and I just pray I don't take bedbugs home with me! I am taking precautions but totally freaked out!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravelmomz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Director of Marketing at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We note this review is dated Nov. 5 and that the guest visited during the month of November. We do not have a record of such a complaint during this time, other than a request for a room move and foam pillows due to a possible allergic reaction to feathers. The Homestead takes any complaint of this nature very seriously. We use the hospitality leader in pest control and they provide an ongoing and comprehensive preventative pest control program for us. We take all measures to ensure we reduce the chance of being infected and to date we have not had a positive report for bed bugs. We want to ensure all our guests are safe, happy and want to return to our resort. Should this guest wish to contact our Executive Office and provide more information regarding this incident, we would welcome the opportunity to investigate the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a wonderful visit at The Homestead! I have to say that I was apprehensive about staying there due to the number of negative reviews that I read prior to booking but after having stayed there all I can say is "what is wrong with you people?" Are you just THAT pretentious that you can't put down your silver spoons long enough to open your eyes and minds to enjoy everything The Homestead has to offer? I swear it seems as though some people look for disappointment no matter where they go. We did purchase our stay through Groupon, not because we're cheap but because it seemed like a good deal and we weren't even looking to get away anytime soon. The Groupon pretty much put the idea in my head. After extensive research, I decided to purchase the Groupon and give it a shot. So glad we did!

OUR ROOM:
I have to say that I did worry that we would be "branded" as cheapskates which first became issue upon booking. I was told no king beds were available but that I could pay extra per night for an upgrade. Not wanting to be "suckered" into an upgrade, I declined (though I can't blame them for trying!). Upon check-in I asked to be changed to a king room and it was done without any hesitation. Our room was absolutely beautiful! It was clean and nicely decorated. The view wasn't anything to get excited about but we were hardly in our room except to change clothes or sleep.

HOTEL:
This is a very old hotel with a lot of history and character. Take the time to walk around and take it all in. Don't walk through with a white glove and magnifying glass cause I'm sure you'll find lots to complain about (Did someone actually write a review about lead paint? FYI: this place was built before 1978!!). The Homestead is full of charm and beauty but not to be compared to a modern day 5 star hotel. Keep this in mind while you're sipping your afternoon tea.


SERVICE:
Was exceptional! Everyone was pleasant and provided great service.

FOOD:
We ate appetizers at the Players Pub, dinner at 1766 Grille and breakfast at the buffet in the Main Dining Room. The breakfast was great but the other two were just mediocre. I guess if I'm going to be negative about anything it's that. For what we paid for our dinner the meal should have been exquisite, but mediocre, and I'm being kind, is the highest rating I can give it. Based on other reviews of this same issue it seems as though a chef change may be in order. The Homestead is missing out on a golden opportunity to easily improve its reviews by trying something, or someone new.

ACTIVITIES:
So much to choose from! And yes, there is a charge for everything but do your homework and make your plans ahead of time and you won't be surprised or disappointed. We chose to do the Segway tour. It was fun and worth the $. A great way to see the grounds. My only suggestion here, and not a complaint, is that it would be nice to have a little history be given on the tour. I don't see why we couldn't have stopped periodically to get a little insight to certain areas then continue on.....but maybe it's just me!

OVERALL EXPERIENCE:
We wanted a kid-free, relaxing weekend and we got it. We will absolutely visit again and with all The Homestead has to offer we might even bring our kids next time!




Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KareyS925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are delighted you took advantage of a special and visited The Homestead recently for a relaxing weekend. Thank you for your many kind comments, and we are thrilled that you wish to visit again and bring your children with you. During the winter months, your children will enjoy our ski slopes and ice-skating rink, complete with s’mores by the fire. During the summer, they will want to try out our new outdoor pool complex with lazy river and slides and much much more! Your feedback and suggestions are valuable to us as we constantly strive to improve our guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
23.5 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing