We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Moldy food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Moldy food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We've been to the Homestead twice. Our first trip over Christmas was so enjoyable that we immediately booked a return trip. If I had written this review then, I would have said we had a 5-star experience. When we returned home we couldn't say enough positive things about the Homestead resort. We even convinced several friends to take their next trip to the Homestead.

On our return trip we enjoyed our stay until we ordered dinner in our room for our three year old who was staying in the room with a babysitter. The food arrived and was littered with black mold. Although the hotel immediately brought different food for my son, I was severely disappointed to receive moldy food from such an high-end resort.

I understand that accidents happen in large organizations, but this was inexcusable. In addition, I was largely disappointed with the hotel's response. Although they offered a free bottle of wine at dinner (which my pregnant wife could not enjoy) and a free dessert (which neither of us were interested in), we did not receive a genuine apology from anyone in management (we were told to contact the general manager when we checked out). We also thought it was strange that their attempt to remedy bad food, was by providing more food (my wife wasn't sure she wanted to eat anything from a kitchen that had already given us moldy food).

Unfortunately, although we'd love to return to the Homestead, the food options are so limited, that we are trepidatious to return because we're not sure what we'll get out of the kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IanAlexN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,155
    1,042
    495
    243
    124
See reviews for
1,311
1,595
61
627
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Went to the Homestead for 2 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday. Reservations were very helpful and booked us into a lovely room in the West Wing that had a porch where we spent much time. Getting there was an adventure as it was raining and it is all back roads. The hotel has good directions but should put how long you are on each road. We went off of 81 and it took an hour to get there. Check in was easy and the staff was super friendly. Loved our room. The mattress was thick and comfortable. We ate one night at Sam Snead and it was good. I had the trout which was very good. My husband had steak over pasta and he liked it. Th buffet breakfast was wonderful and so was dinner in the Dining Room. The waitstaff was friendly and knew us by name. We swam in the pool which was nice and went bowling. The only thing with bowling is that it costs $12 per person per game. That to me is steep!! We walked the grounds which were beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would return.

Room Tip: There is construction going on the next few mos. Try to get a room away from that. If you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindafromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our resort. We strive to provide unmatched customer service and a wide array of dining venues and activities. It’s our goal to make your stay as relaxing as possible. We hope that you will return soon for your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have visited the Homestead three years in a row now. We come to fly fish. This part of Virginia is absolutely beautiful. The Homestead is everything you would expect for an old fashioned, service oriented resort. There is something for everyone. Of course one of my favorite activities is just sitting on the veranda in a rocking chair and enjoying the beautiful view and the mountain fresh air. Will definitely continue to return each spring.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zphyr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We are glad that you’ve enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is our goal to provide guests with a luxurious experience while they are with us. The pools at our new Allegheny Springs water attraction just opened this past weekend and the lazy river and water slides will open later this summer. We look forward to seeing you each spring for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, VA.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Fantastic staff, beautiful grounds, wonderful adventure.

Room Tip: If possible, get a corner tower suite that faces the front and a wonderful view of the mountain. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kulahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments and are glad that we were able to provide you with a lovely stay at our resort. The pools at our new Allegheny Springs water attraction just opened this past weekend and the lazy river and water slides will open later this summer. We hope you will come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

The Homestead is a classic grand destination resort. Great golf, but lots of other things to do. They are currently working on some major improvements to make even more of a family experience. We attended a business meeting. The Homestead is great for this type of thing.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stew1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
The Homestead strives to provide exceptional experiences for both families and businesses alike. The pools at our new Allegheny Springs water attraction just opened this past weekend and the lazy river and water slides will open later this summer. Additionally, we are well equipped to host meetings and conferences of all sizes and have recently renovated our conference facilities. Whether business or pleasure, The Homestead provides a luxurious experience to suit all of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I've always heard how beautiful the Homestead is and wow, did it deliver!? This place is gloriously stunning in the most pastoral setting in Virginia mountains. The staff was lovely and friendly and every activity was better than expected. The prices are on the high side but when you see the property you realize it must be an expensive place to maintain and that certainly helps offset the costs. We did skeet shooting and visited the Jefferson pools. Both were excellent. As was the Kids Club that our two young chidren attended. We are looking forward to our next family visit to The Homestead.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We’re glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our resort. The pools at our new Allegheny Springs water attraction just opened this past weekend and the lazy river and water slides will open later this summer and is perfect for all ages. We eagerly await your return and hope that you will come experience all our activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honaker, VA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Everything from the room, to the atmosphere, quality of food, and superior service describes this resort. Extras may be a bit expensive, but if you can afford to stay here, no problem, it is all fun and first class. Water features coming in the summer of 2012 will make this resort more appealing for my family.

Room Tip: Use virginia.org to do your trip planning in this great region
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Havefun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments! The pools at Allegheny Springs, our brand new family water attraction, opened this past weekend. The three 100-ft water slides and 400-ft lazy river will open soon. We are glad that you enjoyed your most recent stay and urge you to come back and experience Allegheny Springs soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
17.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing