We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People of Hopewell dont get out too much.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of K & L Barbecue

K & L Barbecue
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Hopewell
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“People of Hopewell dont get out too much.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

BBQ is dry. All of the sides (vegetables) tastes like they were just scooped out of a gallon tin can and he a ted up.

The prices are very cheap and that is why its a popular local place to go.

There are no good local resturants in Hopewell. You will have to I go to Chester or Colonial Heights.

I have lived here for 60 years

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keekee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A small local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

It may be small but it is very busy all the time because the food is good and service is excellent. They have great BBQ and their coleslaw is the best I ever had. Their chicken salad sandwich is something I could eat every day. I recommend this restaurant highly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had minced barbecue pork lunch with potato salad, Cole slaw (very good), green beans, and applesauce followed by blackberry cobbler a la mode and chocolate merangue pie. The desserts were generous and good. Our server couldn't have been nicer. Cash only, not open weekends. I will go back to try the fried chicken, apple pie, and rice pudding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WildberryIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food cooked perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have had the oppurtunity to dine at K$L many times and tried most of their menu. The food is always cooked the same,Perfectly everytime. My favorites are the barbecue chicken, fried chicken is the best i ever had.The fried oysters are a genorous serving for great price. Speaking of price,Family of 3 eats for under $30 everytime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have dinner here, frequently, even though its at least a 20 minute drive. Well worth the trip! BBQ, home cooked meals, homeade soups and desserts. Better than reasonbly priced. We had 2 FULL meals and bought 2 more for lunch the next day, and spent less than $35. Staff treats you like family.
The only negative is that they are not open on weekends. However, this just shows me that these are not greedy owners,that are just in it for the profit, but because they love what they do!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sutton1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K & L Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to K & L Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing