We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very nice room, brought our 2 dogs and they were happy too. Rooms were clean and convenience of snack room and washer and dryers right on same floor. Also gave us a movie to watch in the evening. I believe managers name was Mickey. She was awesome and more than we could of asked for in our quick visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank You very much for such a wonderful review. We are so happy to know that we made your stay comfortable. Whenever you are in our neck of the woods again please come back and stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 95 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great stay. Clean rooms helpful and gracious staff. Enjoyed the free washer dryer, and the opportunity to visit the store to get snacks.I also appreciated they let me know to turn on the ice maker in the fridge. Little things like that make a stay better. I really thought it was great when I took my dog out, everyone picked up after their animal. And the special touch of popcorn in the microwave. Beds were nice and very roomy.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank triptakerMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to make your visit with us as comfortable as possible. Being that we are a pet friendly hotel we cant help but love them too. Anytime you are back in the area we would love for you to return to your home away from home! Thank You for your wonderful comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Candlewood Suites at Hopewell, VA is a great stay! The staff is great!!! I would visit this property again. I was concerned of the quality of the room, because of the length of my stay was 4 months. It was just like an apartment. Excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajorTLOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had bugs in my room. Had one drop down into my bed from the ceiling, and found them under bath towels left on floor when maid did not come. When I reported infestation to the front desk they already were already aware of them and said "they are only beetles and do not die out because of climate change". Maid service is once a week not daily. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam and Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Pam and Mike B,

Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay and for that we'd like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Hopewell.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The rooms were very clean, seemingly modern. The 1bedroom suite was perfect for us, as the living area had a sleeper sofa and a comfy recliner. Wish we could've stayed another night. Convenient short walk to some restaurants and easy access to 295

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni4471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

It was absolutley our pleasure to be able to accomadate your needs. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with great customer service. We look forward to serving you again! Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The worst I can say about this hotel is that I killed a spider a day and that there are cheaper hotels nearby with better rooms. If you want friendly staff this is a good place. But I had to leave to the Fairfield because they offered a better rate.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlos l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Sorry, only 4 stars rating - I would have rate 5 STARS if you would provide FREE breakfast. Front desk folks were very helpful and care about your stay. I will continue to make reservation there for my next TDY or business travel in Hopewell, VA. Great Thai restaurant in the plaza and highly recommend Candlewood Suites in Hopewell to others!

Cheers

Room Tip: I called them directly for room reservation with no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg / Hopewell
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hopewell Inn
0.6 mi away
Stay - Over Suites
Stay - Over Suites
#3 of 7 in Hopewell
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heigh...
#5 of 8 in Colonial Heights
54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell

Address: 5113 Plaza Dr, Hopewell, VA 23860-7324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hopewell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: $101 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection. The Candlewood Suites Petersburg Hopewell Hotel offers weekly housekeeping service for stays of 7 or more nights. Fully equipped kitchens, 25' TV, VCR, AM/FM/CD/alarm Clock radio, iron/ ironing board, hairdryer, 2 telephone lines and free high speed Internet access. At the Candlewood Suites Petersburg Hopewell Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay, and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club reward points for each qualifying stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell Hotel Hopewell
Candlewood Hopewell
Candlewood Suites Hopewell
Hopewell Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing