We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Candlewood @ Hopewell is a great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Hopewell, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Candlewood @ Hopewell is a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Candlewood Suites at Hopewell, VA is a great stay! The staff is great!!! I would visit this property again. I was concerned of the quality of the room, because of the length of my stay was 4 months. It was just like an apartment. Excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MajorTLOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
11
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had bugs in my room. Had one drop down into my bed from the ceiling, and found them under bath towels left on floor when maid did not come. When I reported infestation to the front desk they already were already aware of them and said "they are only beetles and do not die out because of climate change". Maid service is once a week not daily. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam and Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Pam and Mike B,

Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay and for that we'd like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Hopewell.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The rooms were very clean, seemingly modern. The 1bedroom suite was perfect for us, as the living area had a sleeper sofa and a comfy recliner. Wish we could've stayed another night. Convenient short walk to some restaurants and easy access to 295

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toni4471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
It was absolutley our pleasure to be able to accomadate your needs. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with great customer service. We look forward to serving you again! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The worst I can say about this hotel is that I killed a spider a day and that there are cheaper hotels nearby with better rooms. If you want friendly staff this is a good place. But I had to leave to the Fairfield because they offered a better rate.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Sorry, only 4 stars rating - I would have rate 5 STARS if you would provide FREE breakfast. Front desk folks were very helpful and care about your stay. I will continue to make reservation there for my next TDY or business travel in Hopewell, VA. Great Thai restaurant in the plaza and highly recommend Candlewood Suites in Hopewell to others!

Cheers

Room Tip: I called them directly for room reservation with no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late to this hotel- 11pm with two small children. When we got to our room- they front desk called to make sure the room was adequate. It was clean and comfortable. They only had Folgers coffee, but there is a Starbuck's close by. It worked for us.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were headed north with our three dogs.

The hotel, obviously allowed dogs and did not overcharge us in extra fees for the dogs.

The staff was great, the room was clean and in very good condition.

The only down sides is there was only a queen bed (the dogs sleep with us) and the there is no ice maker.

Room Tip: Traveling with pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlf_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg / Hopewell
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hopewell Inn
0.6 mi away
Stay - Over Suites
Stay - Over Suites
#3 of 7 in Hopewell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Prince George at Fort Lee
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn at Fort Lee
Quality Inn at Fort Lee
#7 of 7 in Hopewell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell

Property: Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell
Address: 5113 Plaza Drive, Hopewell, VA 23860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hopewell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection. The Candlewood Suites Petersburg Hopewell Hotel offers weekly housekeeping service for stays of 7 or more nights. Fully equipped kitchens, 25' TV, VCR, AM/FM/CD/alarm Clock radio, iron/ ironing board, hairdryer, 2 telephone lines and free high speed Internet access. At the Candlewood Suites Petersburg Hopewell Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay, and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club reward points for each qualifying stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell Hotel Hopewell
Candlewood Hopewell
Candlewood Suites Hopewell
Hopewell Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing