We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of plusses; a bit uneven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Joisey - the Corruption State
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Lots of plusses; a bit uneven”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very nice property for what-theoretically-is-the-low-end of the Marriott chain. Rooms and breakfast were better than what one usually expects for a Fairfield. Everything was clean and (mostly) in order, but no 5*'s because . . .
1) they were really busy, or whatever our 1st nite there and housekeeping never showed up. Not sure why someone didn't let us know this before we found out ourselves.
2) breakfast was too ambitious. hot items, fruit, etc. - way beyond what a typical Fairfield offers, but it was too much of a stretch. Eggs from a microwave are not good.
.
But overall, this is a well-located property and the staff works hard . . . maybe too hard as there's a lot to keep track of if/when they get full. Still, I would stay here again, as the location is ideal if you need to be in the Hopewell / Ft. Lee area.

Room Tip: I'd go 2/3rd's of the way down the hall to get good access from the side doors, but away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marriott_Devotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Marriott_Devotee,

Thanks for reviewing our Fairfield Inn & Suites and sharing your feedback - we're glad to hear you had a great stay overall, but our team will be sure to discuss your comments as providing a clean guest room is one of our biggest priorities even when we have a full house. I am happy that our location was so convenient for your needs. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    36
    11
    8
See reviews for
49
36
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I made a recent trip to Williamsburg and due to my late planning - I couldn't find any rooms within 15 miles of Williamsburg that were under $150. I found this hotel online and while it is an hour away from Busch Gardens/Water country, it was literally half the price - about $75.
We got to the hotel easy enough - it is right off a main road and is right across from a Wawa. Check-in was quick and easy - the front agent had my keys ready to go waiting for me. That night, I realized I had forgotten to pack my toothpaste and went down to the front desk. The agent was very friendly and gave me some new travel tubes of toothpaste and even asked if I could use a toothbrush, as well.
Breakfast was probably the best I've ever seen in a hotel - fresh scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, small boxes of cereal, multiple brands of yogurt, fresh fruit tray, hot chocolate, juice, etc. I'm so used to seeing bagels and the waffle maker, but this was definitely the best continental breakfast I've ever seen.
The only complaint I would have would be the bed: there were a few long mystery strands of hair on the sheets and the actual mattress was pretty flat. It felt like I was sleeping on a board, but it was bearable.
There is a great Mexican restaurant right next street - El Nopal with super cheap prices. Overall, this was a good stay and if the commute to Williamsburg wasn't so long, I would probably stay here a lot more often. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diskyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Diskyguy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; I'm very pleased to hear that we were able to provide a nice, affordable stay during your trip, as well as that you loved our complimentary hot breakfast so much! I do apologize that your bed was not as comfortable as you would have liked and our team will discuss your feedback. Otherwise, we look forward to your next stay! Thanks again for your review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here with my husband, three grandchildren and our Chihuahua when our son had a weekend pass from his training at Fort Lee. Rooms were clean, common areas clean, staff courteous and friendly. Grandchildren enjoyed the variety of the complimentary continental breakfast. Pool was clean and well maintained. We have already made reservations to stay again in July. Austin is awesome! Thank you Austin!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriceJacoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear PatriceJacoby,

We appreciate you leaving a review and hope you had a good time visiting your son. I'm happy to read you had a clean, comfortable stay and that you enjoyed our outdoor pool as well. Thank you again and we'll see you the next time you're in Hopewell!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We were driving from Fl back to NH in a bad rainstorm and about 11pm sick of the slow diving on I95. We decided to look at Marriott mobile and this hotel came up with room opening on a Friday night we took it. Was easy to get to and seemed to be safe location. I was rather disappointed for Marriott property, one of the most run down I have stayed at. The hall and room had a musty, mildew smell which caused me to have allergy attack, but good for a stop over. Room was clean besides the smell. Breakfast was good with usually carb overload and no fruit left. The breakfast staff was nice when I asked for a banana and more milk because they were gone, she got me more! Staff was friendly and lobby was clean.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Magicsneakers B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Magicsneakers B,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that we were able to be here for you during a bad storm and would like to apologize for the issues you ran into while here - I will pass your comments on for discussion so we can improve in the future. If you'd like to speak more about your experience, please get in touch at the number below. Otherwise, I am happy to hear that our staff was very friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope to see you again when you're in the area!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent four days at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Hopewell, Virginia while visiting Fort Lee and the local community. Very clean facility with a great staff. Courtesy was the norm and the staff made you feel like an honored guest and old friend all in one.

Room Tip: Call ahead and speak with the desk clerk, they'll try to meet yur every need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrongGrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Tony F,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you had a clean and comfortable stay and found our staff friendly and helpful. We do indeed try to accommodate requests as best we can! Thanks again and we hope to see you the next time you're in Hopewell.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stay here whenever I visit my boyfriend at Fort Lee which is less than ten minutes away! It feels comfortable, it's clean, and it's comfortably decorated. The bed is comfortable as well. I wasn't sure about it the first time I stayed, but I stayed here again and loved it! The clerks at the front desk are very nice. I forgot her name but I loved her!

Room Tip: I've only stayed in king rooms... But I don't see why the other rooms wouldn't be as nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jts22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Jts22,

Thanks for reviewing us. We really appreciate you staying with us when you're in town and are happy that you find us comfortable, clean, and well-furnished. We look forward to your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was a great place to stop for the night. Travelling on the I95, just a short distance to the interstate. Very nice lady checked us in, great pizza restaurant next door, great breakfast in the morning, gas station across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMama110514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear TravelMama110514,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm happy that you had an enjoyable stay and found our location convenient. We hope to see you again when you're in Hopewell!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hopewell Inn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg / Hopewell
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at Fort Lee
Quality Inn at Fort Lee
#6 of 7 in Hopewell
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Prince George at Fort Lee
0.2 mi away
Stay - Over Suites
Stay - Over Suites
#3 of 7 in Hopewell
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell
Address: 3952 Courthouse Rd, Hopewell, VA 23860-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hopewell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites hotel in Hopewell, VA is located north from I-295, minutes away from Fort Lee, Virginia State University, and historic landmarks. We offer complimentary high-speed WiFi, a daily breakfast buffet, and parking. Guests enjoy our hotel’s spacious rooms and one-bedroom suites that include a work space and plush Marriott bedding. Catch up on some projects at the 24-hour business center or keep up with your fitness routine by swimming laps in the outdoor pool or visiting the 24-hour fitness center. Our hotel includes an onsite meeting space to host business or social functions, as well as audio/visual equipment that is available for use. Our location is within walking distance to several restaurants and is accessible to multiple counties, as well as to popular attractions such as Richmond International Raceway, Paramount Kings Dominion, and Busch Gardens Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Hopewell
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell Hotel Hopewell
Fairfield Inn Hopewell
Fairfield Hopewell
Hopewell Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing