We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They checked someone else into my room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They checked someone else into my room”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days for a training nearby back in Feb 2011. They serve decent breakfast and the staff is friendly. However the most memorable part of my stay occurred when I went to the gym with my key card and returned to my room but couldn't get in. When i went to the front desk, I saw a couple complaining to the frontdesk that the room that they were just given has someone's stuff in it. So the staff apologized and gave them another room.

When I told them that the key to my room no longer worked after i stepped out for 30 mins to go the gym, i found out that they had accidnetally checked the couple into my room earlier. I was really outraged... i mean, i assumed my processions would be safe and I would never expect a hotel to check someone into a room that's already occupied. So every day from then on, i just took everything with me every morning when i left to go to work. It created much inconvenience but at least i know my stuff would be safe.

To their credit, management was responsive in resolving this matter. They offer to comp my stay but since it was a business trip and was all paid for, they gave me a free voucher for staying next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzy13ear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
36
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swords Creek, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed for one night traveling when I called to reserve a suite was available but I was told you could not use AARP for a discount??? I went ahead an reserved anyway because we were traveling, not familiar with the area and Fairfield always has a good rating and we are Marriott Reward Members. Check in was a breeze keys were ready as soon as I said my name. The suite we had was huge.. seperate place to watch TV without having to lay around on beds, bathroom was a bit tight but that way fine because you had extra living space. There is also a nice Italian place within steps to eat. The motel is undergoing renovation which is looking very good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRUISERS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland USA
Level Contributor
248 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Nice property with plenty of parking. The breakfast room and lobby was undergoing some construction but it did not deter from the experience or sleep. My room was fine. Bed was comfortable, TV worked well and I had no issues with internet. Room had a microwave and fridge. Plugs at a premium. Bathroom and shower was okay but the towels were think as could be! Although my stay was okay, I would choose somewhere else to stay the next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business and was generally pleased with it. The location was convenient, the front desk person was very friendly and helpful and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only thing keeping me from giving this place a perfect review was the Internet connection. It was extremely slow, so much that I couldn't even watch the most basic YouTube video. I tried both WiFi and plugging in the ethernet cable the hotel provides -- both equally slow. Other than that, I was happy and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCBenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stopped without a reservation. The front desk person couldn't have been nicer or faster. Helpful with all aspects of the stay and the area. Room was clean, well furnished and spacious. Breakfast was free and had a nice variety. No complaints .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYAnge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel! We stayed here when visiting family in Petersburg, and we brought our little dog along and asked to stay in a suite. The hotel is located right off Interstate 295, and was only a 10-minute drive to Interstates 85 and 95, Petesburg, and Colonial Heights. The room was wonderful, and included all of the amenities that were described on the website. The room was clean and comfortable (although the sofa bed was on its last legs), and room service was available when we needed them. It also helped that the pet fee was cheapest around.

There's a pool (closed during the winter), a workout room with treadmills, a room for you t do your laundry in, and a small business center with a printer available in the hotel, and the breakfast, which was a DIY waffle along with your choice of cereal, bread, coffee/milk/orange juice, and assorted Jimmy Dean biscuit, wasn't bad either, even though it was on the paltry side. Down the street there are restaurants from a McDonalds and a Starbucks Coffee to a Denny's and a Bojangles, so even if you didn't feel like eating at the hotel, there was still plenty around.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

It was difficult to find a decent, clean hotel in my budget that was also pet friendly. I was happy from the other reviews on trip advisor, so I tried the Fairfield Inn Hopewell VA. I am glad I did. The front desk clerk greeted us with a smile and, it took her about a minute, literally, to check us in. The room was conveniently situated, close to vending machines and the exercise room, but not so close that we ever heard noise from them. In fact the room was very quiet. It was also clean and brightly lit so there was no chance of hidden dirt somewhere. I checked the linens (as I always do) for bed bugs, and it was all clear. The linens on the bed were clean and fresh, as were the towels in the immaculate bathroom. We ordered pizza from the Italian place right next door, Rosa's, and it was surprisingly tasty. The pizza was awesome with nearly perfect (thinner style) crust and good sauce. The people who work there were also friendly and served us wine at the bar area while we waited for our pizza to come out of the oven. This hotel experience is among the best I have had, especially at this price point. I would definitely recommend it. Oh yeah, and if you choose this hotel, stay for the complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. It was pretty awesome, constantly restocked and kept very clean by the attendant. Some of the options were: Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, waffles made to order, yogurt, fresh fruit, fruit cups, juices, bagels with cream cheese, pastries, cereal, milk, and coffee which was better than average hotel coffee.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hopewell Inn
0.2 mi away
Stay - Over Suites
Stay - Over Suites
#3 of 7 in Hopewell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg / Hopewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at Fort Lee
Quality Inn at Fort Lee
#7 of 7 in Hopewell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Prince George at Fort Lee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell
Address: 3952 Courthouse Rd, Hopewell, VA 23860-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hopewell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites hotel in Hopewell, VA is located north from I-295, minutes away from Fort Lee, Virginia State University, and historic landmarks. We offer complimentary high-speed WiFi, a daily breakfast buffet, and parking. Guests enjoy our hotel’s spacious rooms and one-bedroom suites that include a work space and plush Marriott bedding. Catch up on some projects at the 24-hour business center or keep up with your fitness routine by swimming laps in the outdoor pool or visiting the 24-hour fitness center. Our hotel includes an onsite meeting space to host business or social functions, as well as audio/visual equipment that is available for use. Our location is within walking distance to several restaurants and is accessible to multiple counties, as well as to popular attractions such as Richmond International Raceway, Paramount Kings Dominion, and Busch Gardens Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Hopewell
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell Hotel Hopewell
Fairfield Inn Hopewell
Fairfield Hopewell
Hopewell Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing