We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Motel 6 Hillsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Hillsville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Certificate of Excellence
georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway and decided to stop for the night. We did not have reservations anywhere since we did not know where we would end up. We stumbled upon the Hillsville area and decided to try the Best Western. It was a very nice surprise. The king bed was very comfortable and the room seemed to be newly renovated (the smell of new carpet). The only complaint is the size of the bathroom. The tub and toilet make for a snug fit but it was not too bad. The room did have a microwave and fridge which is always nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmomGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Best Western. We hope you will come back real soon to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    70
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
90
71
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed in this motel several times over the last few years. They allow pets, and the first floor rooms are ideal (no steps, and the doors open to sidewalk with parking lot very close). Considering the fact that they allow pets my rooms have always been clean and nice. I would stay here even if I did not have a pet. The heating/AC units seem a little noisy but the rooms seem to hold there temperatures so you can turn it off when want to go to sleep. I have stayed here in both cold and warm weather. Checking in and out has always been a breeze.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Best Western. We hope you will come back to see us real soon. We are only 14 miles from the home town of Andy Griffith. They have Floyds barber shop that still cuts hair, Aunt Bees Bar B Q place and Snappy restuarant that ophra has her pork chop sandwiches flew out to her. Other attractions about his show on TV. Andy Griffith was born in Mt Airy NC and went to school in Mt Airy. In October they have Mayberry Days. Hope you can come back and enjoy this area with us. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this venue location on our way back from Myrtle Beach. Our truck broke down on Saturday of Easter weekend (we sat on I77 for 4.5 hours) so we knew we would be here for a couple of days. Everyone was so friendly, accomodating and welcoming. The breakfast in the morning worked well for us as we were tired of restaurants. We had to stay a little longer on check out day or we would have had to sit at the dealership for the day (our truck wasn't ready until 6 p.m.) The staff told us to stay as long as we needed. We checked out at 1 pm and hopped on our motorcycle when the weather cleared. We came back to pick up our bike trailer at 6 p.m. and the clerk at the front desk was kind enough to offer us snacks for our trip. Having those allowed us to drive a little longer that evening before stopping. Thank you to everyone at the hotel! We will definitely be back as we have made plans to ride the parkway in the fall. My only comment would be that it was a little loud if you had people staying above you but the rooms were spotless and very roomy with all of the welcome amenities.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Best Western in Hillsville, Va. We hope you will come back to see us real soon. We are glad we could help you all out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My mom found this gem 13 years ago and we’ve been staying there ever since. Charming location, it sits nestled at the top of the mountains in Hillsville. Very attractive and accommodating rooms: great mattresses, linens, and pillows offer a good night’s sleep. All amenities: TV, fridge, microwave, etc… make the stay more than convenient and comfortable. Kudos to their staff as this place is immaculately kept and pet friendly. Before taking off enjoy a continental breakfast where anything that you could think of is available. I can’t say enough. Recently I was in an accident after leaving my stay in Hillsville. The first person I called was my mom and I told her to call the Best Western in Hillsville as I’d be returning. My car had been totaled and I was scared. Not only did they offer to come get me and my pets off the highway, I could not have been in better hands. They went above and beyond to provide comfort and safety. This place is the real deal and so are the people that run it. We always enjoy our stay!

Room Tip: We always like to stay on the front side of the building as it looks out over the mountains. I als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I want to thank you for staying with us at Hillsville Best Western. We thank God you are alright and was not injured in your accident. We consider you and your mom a part of our family and we do appreciate you all coming back to stay with us. We talked to your mom and she tells us you and your dogs are doing ok. We are on top of a mountain and when the weather get bad the mountain is terriable. We do look forward to you all coming to see us in the spring and we will go out to eat somewhere and enjoy your visit with us. Our guest becomes part of our family and we love you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Each year we pass thru this area in the spring and fall and always stay at this motel because it is always clean, nice furnishings. very comfortable beds, nice breakfast and very friendly employees that are always willing to be of help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Best Western in Hillsville. We hope you all have a blessed Holiday. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleves, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

After a long day's drive from Cincinnati, Ohio to NC this was simply a need for a comfortable bed and a short drive to Charlotte. It was a really nice room which was very clean and the lobby/breakfast area was also clean and tidy. The staff was very friendly.
This hotel is also "pet-friendly", only problem some pocket dogs started barking in the middle of the night, twice for about 45 seconds each time!
The breakfast area is not very large and I would anticipate that if there were a lot of guests it might cause an issue. Breakfast was quite good
We found all of the people in the area very friendly.
Even with the Pets, if I find myself near Hillsville, Va I will return to this motel without hesitation.
Past reviews helped me pick this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor away from the pet rooms for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Best Western in Hillsville, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The breakfast area is real small and I apologize for that. I wish we could expand it. In the summer we plan on having and area outside the door for our guest to enjoy the mountain air and view of the mountains around us while enjoying breakfast. We do hope you will come back and spend time with us. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

for the money, 98.00 we were dismayed by the condition of the carpeting. It was dirty. the rest of the room was ok. However, in the morning we found a cockroach in with our food bag. very upsetting!
we won'r stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We do apologize for any inconvience you had while at our motel. We are in the process of installing new carpet. I will have the carpet cleaned before anyone else stays in that room. We have had the rooms checked and unable to find any roaches. however, I have the pest control people coming in to spray the rooms. Again I am so sorry. Please come back and give us another chance. Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#5 of 8 in Hillsville
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
465 reviews
17.9 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Hillsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hillsville

Property: Motel 6 Hillsville
Address: 57 Airport Rd, I-77 Exit 14, Hillsville, VA 24343-3652 (Formerly Four Seasons South)
Location: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Hillsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Hillsville is conveniently located off I-77 Exit 14 in Hillsville, Virginia. We are located near shopping, dining, and entertainment. Visit the Hillsville Bi-Annual Flea Market, the Southwest Virginia Farmer's Market or the Blue Ridge Parkway. Enjoy fresh coffee all day or relax in our outdoor pool open from Memorial Day Weekend to Labor Day Weekend. All our rooms offer Free Wi-Fi, HDTV, and Micro-Refrigerators. Come see us at the Motel 6 Hillsville! (NOTICE: Motel 6 as a national chain does not offer Breakfast) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Hillsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hillsville
Four Seasons Hillsville
Hillsville Four Seasons
Hillsville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing