We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible find on I-77”
Review of Motel 6 Hillsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Hillsville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible find on I-77”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Because we have been traveling back and forth between SC and PA more often than usual lately (due to a death in our family), we have been staying in a motel in Salem, VA, that we found on our first trip two months ago. This time, we decided to drive a bit further down I-77 and were pleased to find this Best Western. We've always been pleased with Best Western facilities but this location is one of the best we've visited. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and fresh and was nicely furnished. The breakfast was better than we would have expected. We walked around the grounds a little bit just to stretch our legs and found them to be in very nice condition, too. The internet connection worked without any problems and the choices of t.v. stations was good, too. This was our fourth trip back and forth in five weeks and we were thrilled to find a business that was American owned versus the many that are owned by families from India. Needless to say, we won't be taking the exit into Salem, VA, any more! The reviewer who states that "you get what you pay for" must not stay in motels/hotels very often. We have paid a whole lot more for a room that offered only half of what we received here at Four Seasons South BW. We were so impressed that we just might take a trip to Hillsville, VA, and stay here again but this time explore the surrounding area. Sue, the General Manager, gave us a gift bag when we checked out which was very much appreciated. Sue was in the breakfast area visiting with guests while we enjoyed our omelettes, sausage, bacon and juices. She and her staff really listened to our requests when we checked in and met all of our needs. I have already recommended this Best Western to some of our friends from PA who are coming south in a few weeks. There are several choices for restaurants in the immediate area and the gas prices were some of the cheapest we found in VA. All in all, this was an awesome find for the two of us!

Room Tip: We had a room around the back and it was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloriaG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Frist i would like to say that im sorry for your lost. However were very happy that you had a great time at our hotel. I'm gald you enjoyed our breakfast and hopfully you can come back and see us after we get our new pancake maker! I enjoyed talking to you while you were here and so did my staff. We are not only close to the flea market we are also only 14 miles from Andy Griffin home town they also have mayberry days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    70
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
90
71
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

For the past four years, my husband and I have stayed with the Best Western, in Hillsville, VA, during the Labor Day weekend. The staff has always been accommodating and extremely friendly. While the room, this year, was smaller than I would have preferred, it was extremely clean. The bed was wonderful to sleep in after a LONG day at the Flea Market. We have our reservations in place for Labor Day 2013. I would advise this to anyone who is planning to visit Hillsville next year, so as to have a place to stay with no worries.

Room Tip: Call ahead to reserve a larger room, if during a busy weekend. The corner suites are the BOMB. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckR571312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing us on Tripadvisor! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you keep coming back! It is great to know that we get to see you agian next year! hopefully you will be able to all of the new ideas we got on the way. Buy this time next year we hope to have a new pancake make and more ecofriendly spoones forks and knifes! We will also be getting all new flat screen TV's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was very pleased with this stay. The staff was friendly and helpful; the room was clean and in good repair and the bed was comfortable. Did not partake of breakfast, but it did seem comparable to better than such food spreads. Coffee was excellent.
CAVEAT: The hotel's key stock advertises a local restaurant which comps an appetizer when the key is shown to the server. If the restaurant is named for a high performance American sports car, skip the appetizer....and dining experience....it is not worth the effort. You might want to drive about eight miles to Galax where there are many good choices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyB0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are so Glad that you had such a good time at are hotel! Thank you for the review and the comment about the places arond us. We thank you again for staying at Best Western and we hope that you can come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel with a clean bed than this will meet your needs. My mother always said you get what you pay for. The room was small, the showers lukewarm and I heard every step taken by the person above us. the Internet was unsecured. We decided to skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nancy968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
I am so sorry that you didnt have a wonderful experience at are holet but we thank you for the review. We are in the progress off getting all new thicker carpet put in to all of are room to help with the noise. More then 50% of all of are room have the carpet in them now. We have also changed internet provider for a faster and easier connection. So we hope that you can come back and see us with all of are new inprovements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradenton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in Hillsville, VA purely by accident. The weather turned bad while traveling and we decided to stop for the night. Knowing the Best Western name and always having good luck with them we stopped. We were not disappointed. We were promptly given a room in the back of the motel. It was quiet and extremely clean. Other reviews state that this is an older motel, but we could not tell.

The next morning breakfast was hot and plentiful. All personnel were very pleasant and personable.

We would definately stay here again and gladly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rondonlyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
I am so happy to hear that you had such a great stay at Best Western. In the very near in the furture we are making are breakfast even better and adding a pancake maker! The staff and i are very excited for all the new changes we are making and we hope that you can come and enjoy them with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Wow, The staff and hotel were excellent, Check in was quick and friendly, Room very clean for all 3 days, near the Highway but far enough away to be quiet. Strongly recommend and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Best Western and for taking the time to write us on TripAdvisor! We so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best Western always say that we want to lead the indusrty in superior customer care and we are glad to see that you see that in this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Second time here older property well kept better than many newer motels far enough away from road avoiding noise and priced right.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamster671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and choosing Best Western in Hillsville, Va. We appreciate your feed back on tripadvisors. We are so happy to here you enjoyed your stay at our property. Although our motel is older we are doing a lot of renevation. We are in the process of installing new carpet, new tvs, and all new refrigators and microwaves in all our rooms!! We hope you can come back soon and we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#5 of 8 in Hillsville
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
466 reviews
17.9 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Hillsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hillsville

Property: Motel 6 Hillsville
Address: 57 Airport Rd, I-77 Exit 14, Hillsville, VA 24343-3652 (Formerly Four Seasons South)
Location: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Hillsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Hillsville is conveniently located off I-77 Exit 14 in Hillsville, Virginia. We are located near shopping, dining, and entertainment. Visit the Hillsville Bi-Annual Flea Market, the Southwest Virginia Farmer's Market or the Blue Ridge Parkway. Enjoy fresh coffee all day or relax in our outdoor pool open from Memorial Day Weekend to Labor Day Weekend. All our rooms offer Free Wi-Fi, HDTV, and Micro-Refrigerators. Come see us at the Motel 6 Hillsville! (NOTICE: Motel 6 as a national chain does not offer Breakfast) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Hillsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hillsville
Four Seasons Hillsville
Hillsville Four Seasons
Hillsville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing