We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family trip”
Review of Motel 6 Hillsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Hillsville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Certificate of Excellence
Montoursville. PA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“family trip”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I stay here on our way from PA to Hilton Head, SC the first week of October. We were very pleased with everthig about this hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good, The employees were very friendly. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chukbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First of all I want to thank you for staying with us at Best Western in Hillsville, Va. We thank you for taking the time to give us a review with tripadvisor. Me and my staff are pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. I see you was here in October, if you get to come back this year in October you might want to go to the Autum Leaf Festival in Mt Airy Nc 14 miles from us. This is the town Andy Griffith come from and his show was named mayberry after his town. The streets are closed off and is a big event. Also we 8 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway a scenic drive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    74
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
93
72
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gonzales, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was our 4th hotel in 4 days and I was ready for a decent hotel! I was pleased when we got here. Arrived around dinner and the front desk staff was nice. Got a AAA discount so the price was right. We were able to park outside our room and the grounds and pool looked nice.

We had a king room and it was pretty spacious. Inspected it fairly closely to look for bugs and such but found no problems. The little room with the tub and toilet was very small, though, and hard to move around in with the door closed. However, it was all clean and seemed to be in good shape. Easy to get to on/off the interstate and there's gas and restaurants around. TV worked good, lots of channels and we didn't hear the neighbors.

Breakfast area is small but we were there early. Not a huge selection but it was good and filling. We were headed out for a day of driving so we didn't want a heavy meal anyway. Overall, I liked it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First of all I want to thank you for taking the time to give us a review on tripadvisor. I also want to thank you for staying with us at Best Western in Hillsville, Va. Me and my staff are pleased your stay was a good one. We have added many items to our continental breakfast. We now have biscuits and gravy with egg omlets, boiled eggs. We also have sausage and bacon added that we may not have had on your last visit with us. We also have many other items. We are also getting a pancake maker. We do hope you will come back again real soon. Thanks again for staying with us. We also are only 8 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway and 14 miles from the Andy Griffith home place in Mt. Airy NC. Oprah Winfrey has pork chops flew to her from the snappys restaurant in Mt. Airy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Positives:
1. Spacious, clean room in a motel-type hotel.
2. Continental breakfast.
3. Good location just a few miles off Blue Ridge Parkway.

Negatives:
1. Major concern: Windows would not open and the AC is so extremely loud one cannot leave it on when in the room so it gets fairly hot with no fresh air.
2. Plastic cutlery at breakfast, not very environmentally friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OP255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Best Western in Hillsville, Va. Thank you also for taking the time to give us a review on tripadvisor. I am sorry the a/c heater was making a lot of noise. We are in the process of changing all the units out. We hope you will come back and give us another chance. We have now switched from plastic plates to the paper. We also have a dispenser for the cutlery. As you know we are only 8 miles from the parkway. I hope you did have a chance to drive on the parkway. That is beautifuly scenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2010

My husband and I were impressed by the hotel efficiency. The room was very clean, the bed was spotless and so was the bathroom area. We accessed free Internet and enjoyed a complete breakfast the next morning. Staff is very friendly. Even though we were not traveling with our pets this time, I love the fact that this is a pet friendly hotel; ( I think I overheard that they don't charge extra for bringing your pet.). All in all, a positive experience; we have certainly bookmarked this hotel for future trips.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive response! We appreciate your business and would love to see you when you're heading through Hillsville again!
As always we continue to welcome our four-legged friends.
We strive to be the cleanest and most comfortable hotel around and it does our hearts good to know our hard work is being appreciated. We do sincerely hope to see you again!
Sue Worrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, IN
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Our room was super clean. Easy on and off the interstate and pet friendly. Exterior entry which makes for easier dog walking. Loved the breakfast and Ceclia that was working the breakfast area that morning. Arrived here fairly late and did not see the pool. Linens were crisp and clean. Bathroom spotless. Will definately stop back when passing through! Thanks for the nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again when you're in the Hillsville area.
Sue Worrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stopped 3/27 on our return trip home from Florida, tired, late at night after we had been shut out by other hotels that didn't accept small pets. What a surprise! Very friendly & hospitable at front desk. Entire room was impeccably clean; bathroom was spotless; bed was very comfortable & bed linens were crisp & fresh; towels were clean, fresh & nicely set up; furnishings looked new; and the carpet was like new, so clean that we could have slept on it, no slippers or socks required. Smiling & friendly morning greeting at front desk. Entire facility was so well kept we were surprised to learn that it had been there for more than 20 years. Excellent choices for free breakfast in eating area kept spotlessly clean. Great Value for reasonable cost.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We appreciate your positive feedback! We certainly hope to see you again!
Sue Worrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on the way home from our trip to Florida. We have always used the Best Western chain and have always enjoyed our stays - until now!!

Our room - #118, was suppose to be a non-smoking room but it was painfully obvious that someone had recently smoked in this room. It was awful but the hotel was pretty packed and the only option to move was a pet-friendly room and due to pet allergies it wasn't an option.

The room was large and appeared fairly clean.

The door didn't close properly which allowed for a cold draft into the room. Sleeping on the bed closest to the door I felt that draft all night. And, with the door not fully closed, the floor was soaked in the AM due to the heavy rain we were experiencing. Sleep was non-existant which did not make the 12-hours drive the next day fun.

The vanity light stopped working in the middle of the night along with the hair dryer so we had to start our day was damp hair.

The breakfast was not what one expects when dealing with a Best Western. It was crappy. There was seating for only 10 people. Little choice and the milk was expired.

Free internet didn't have enough of a signal to do anything.

Staff were friendly and wrote down our complaints but there wasn't much they could do. The hotel has past it's day and needs to invest in some renovations.

I am not sure if this was just a bad room or a bad hotel. Friends of ours had booked the same night at the comfort inn just down the road - it was clean, newer and the breakfast spread was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47106, General Manager at Motel 6 Hillsville, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We are so sorry you had a bad experience with us. The problems with room 118 had not been brought to our attention until we read this review. We apologize for the inconvienance.
We would love for you to try us again and give us a chance to show your what Best Western hospitality is all about.
Sue Worrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#5 of 8 in Hillsville
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
483 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Hillsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hillsville

Property: Motel 6 Hillsville
Address: 57 Airport Rd, I-77 Exit 14, Hillsville, VA 24343-3652 (Formerly Four Seasons South)
Location: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Hillsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Hillsville is conveniently located off I-77 Exit 14 in Hillsville, Virginia. We are located near shopping, dining, and entertainment. Visit the Hillsville Bi-Annual Flea Market, the Southwest Virginia Farmer's Market or the Blue Ridge Parkway. Enjoy fresh coffee all day or relax in our outdoor pool open from Memorial Day Weekend to Labor Day Weekend. All our rooms offer Free High Speed Wi-Fi, HDTV, and Micro-Refrigerators. Guest Self-Serve Laundry is available 24/7. Come see us at the Motel 6 Hillsville! (NOTICE: Motel 6 AS A NATIONAL HOTEL CHAIN DOES NOT OFFER BREAKFAST) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Hillsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hillsville
Four Seasons Hillsville
Hillsville Four Seasons
Hillsville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing