We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stopped for the Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Hillsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stopped for the Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stopped here on the way back from Georgia on my way to Northern Virginia. I was getting tired and did not want to continue on. It is definitely an older hotel and the lobby has seen better days, but I was treated well. The room was as clean as it could be with two large beds and two chairs with a table. The TV and the heat worked (both of which I needed). The room had a working fridge and a coffee pot/coffee. The bed was a little too soft for me, but I was so tired I slept the entire night. I did not try the restaurant next door or the breakfast the next morning.

It is next to the highway so it could have been noisy, but with the heater on it basically drowned out the road noise.

I had a nice inexpensive stop for the night and was well rested to complete the rest of my journey the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

It wasn't awful nasty smell in the rooms though and tv remote sucks!Though,nice breakfast and a friendly staff.Walking down the halls remind me of the shining.some nasty looking carpet stains and a loud sound in the halls and can be heard at night.Halls smell strongly of cleaners

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hillsville hotels

Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Although this hotel has seen better days and is a bit shabby around the edges the room was clean and the beds were comfortable.Attached to the hotel is a Chinese Buffet, a Subway and a gas station what more could you want. My companion and I stayed there on our way to Pennsylvania and would not hesitate to stay there again. So if anyone is travelling I-77 through Hillsville Va. and is in need of a place to sleep this is the place to stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zvamp404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stay here when traveling I-77 between north and south locations. It's very inexpensive yet clean enough. The staff are friendly. There is a convenient all you can eat Chinese Buffet attached so you can get dinner for around $10.
Don't expect the Hilton. This is a budget motel. You will get a bed, a TV and a bathroom. Not much else. The rooms are clean. The decor is from the late 70's or early 80's.
Typically your stay will be under $50. For that price, there is not going to be much in the way of amenities, but the friendly Asian staff always has coffee, and juice/cereal/muffins/cake in the morning.
The rooms are the old fashioned "Metal KEY" entry rooms. No key cards, just true metal keys. Security may not be the best if you are going to leave valuables in the room. I don't leave the room except for a trip to the restaurant, so it's no issue for me.
I stay here because it's convenient, low cost, and I get a quiet, inexpensive, good night's rest.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same. Perhaps the upstairs rooms are a bit more quiet since you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We go for the flea market (May and Sept.)and this is a very good location. The rooms are average, nothing special but we have always enjoyed staff, location, food and store. They have the lowest prices around and a person should not expect the Hyatt. Just comfort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2009grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Kind of between outdated and trying. We were given two keys but each was to another room. Tried to give one back and was told no that is your room. Another couple had our other key. So security kinda sucks. That is the cause of the low "service" rating. Room smelled a little stale. Beds were very soft and flimsy. I rolled on to one edge and it collapsed and threw me off. Didn't see any bed bugs. Shower did have a real touchy problem with being able to be adjusted to comfortable temp. No hair dryer. Pets are kept in furthest rooms and there is a fee, and a bigger fee for sneaking them in. I always take a pair of ear plugs but I kept hearing a sound like a steady soft reving of an old car. Never saw one. I think it was the central A/C because the rooms had their own wall units. TV was a bit fuzzy. Usual fattening continental breakfast. There is a Chinese Buffet next door that has food that's dried or shriveled up on a lot of selections.

Room Tip: Get one closer to the office because the dogs are towards the other end
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yearningtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed here for the annual flea market for two nights and they were two sleepless nights! Made reservations for 4, had towels for 2. Room smelled awful! Shower did not work properly, you either had freezing cold water or scalding hot water, no in between. Faucet did not work at all, no matter how you had the knob turned for the shower. It was all shower, which would have been fine if we could have had warm water. Pipes leaked underneath the sink so you had wet feet every time you went into the bathroom. Carpet felt gummy, dogs barked, doors slammed and the a/c didn't work properly so our room felt like an oven. I can go on and on with the complaints. Lesson learned, next year we will stay in a nicer, cleaner, hotel across the street!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krg6486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsville
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#8 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
18.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hillsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hillsville

Property: Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Address: 2666 Old Galax Pike, Hillsville, VA 24343 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Hillsville)
Location: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hillsville 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, the non-smoking, budget friendly Red Roof Inn Hillsville provides a comfortable and affordable stay that includes free WiFi and flat screen TVs. Located less than 3 miles from historic downtown Hillsville there are many dining and entertaining opportunities available. Carroll County Historical Museum, Hillsville Diner, and Beaver Dam Creek are nearby to the hotel. Crooker Creek wildlife Management and Twin County Cinema are within 10 miles. Also just a short drive from Wytheville Community College. A comfortable stay at an affordable price awaits you at the Red Roof Inn Hillsville. All guestrooms at the Red Roof Inn Hillsville are non-smoking and offer free WiFi. Also included in all rooms are flat screen TV, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer. Select rooms include iron & ironing board, and in-room coffee. Continental breakfast offered daily in the lobby (6am-9am). Free coffee & tea are available in the lobby. One well behaved family pet is welcome per guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Red Roof Inn and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hillsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Hillsville
Hillsville Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing