We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're in for a surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knob Hill Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You're in for a surprise!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed at the Knob Hill Motor lodge as I wanted to stay in Hillsville for the annual Labor Day flea market. I've heard of the 4-day flea market and wanted to check it out for myself. Not knowing the area I went in blind more so for the adventure. I checked into Knob Hill as it was the cheapest motel in town. To my surprise this was the best find in town. I don't think I have ever stayed in a more cleaner lodging place ever. This place is great. 5 star rating because I can't leave 10 stars. You will not be disappointed and this is from a person that doesn't write very many reviews.

Room Tip: If you go for the annual Labor Day flea market (which to took me over 6 hours to walk through) reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    13
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
20
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed overnight August 24th to visit the Blue Ridge Music Center as a friend of ours was playing that venue with the Gospel Plow Boys. Trip Advisor had recommended this place and it truly is a place to stay and get more bang for your buck. It was very clean, quiet and had a great king size bed. The proprietor was friendly as was the housekeeping person. I think they aim to please. It is an older motel but well worth the $60 a night we paid for the room. Drive away from the Interstate chains and go into Hillsville for a quiet, restful nights sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking, pet free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here while riding the Blue Ridge on my motorcycle. The rooms are spotless, and the staff are some of the nicest people on this earth. Park the bike right in front of the room, new flat screen TV, ice cold AC. Several good restaurants in the area. The big bonus, This place is the best price in town, check it out you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twowheelingcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just returned to Northern Virginia from my five day trip back home to Carroll County for my Hillsville High School reunion and my family reunion. It is always a pleasure to return to one of the most beautiful areas of this wonderful country./// I picked up my 8 May 2013 edition of the Carroll News which reported that Charles Jennings and Karen Rich had reopened the Knob Hill Motel in Hillsville in October of 2012. After reading the article I immediately made reservations there for my trip back home./// KNOB HILL MOTOR LODGE, Hillsville's oldest motel, has been in operation for over 50 years and is a landmark in the town and county./// Jennings and Rich have refurbished the facility and purchased new mattresses and box springs and new bedding. Each room has a small refrigerator and microwave oven, and they are replacing the older TVs with new flat screen models. They have also installed Wi-Fi to all the rooms, which they provide to the traveling public at no extra cost./// As other recent guests have noted here on Trip Advisor, the motel does show its age, but that is a good thing. The motel is of "real" brick construction like they built 50 years ago, and the rooms are very quiet because of the way it is constructed./// Jennings and Rich are hands-on type owner/managers who really take care of their guests. The first night I was there, in a room with one of the older TV sets, it failed during the night. I notified the front desk, and the next morning when I went outside, there was a new flat screen TV at my door waiting to be installed./// The motel is spotlessly clean, very comfortable, and conveniently located, but most of all it is a GREAT VALUE (NOTE: We Scotch-Irish place emphasis on value) for the price. In my opinion, all things considered, this should be rated #1 in the Hillsville motel market.

Room Tip: All rooms are equivalent in comfort, some are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

8 miles off the Parkway. Is it older? Yes. If you want modern, stop Motel browsing. It is immaculate. Faux hardwood paneling is made up for with a pristine white cotton coverlet that shows its cleanliness. Thoughtfulness is everywhere, from the new fresh white glass storm doors that allow you to peer outside your entrance, to the kind welcome from the ex-military gentleman who urged us to browse his personal trip planner. Brown and white not my personal fave colors in a Motel, he he he, but that's my personal silliness. Pride of ownership here. And my Mother loved her faux paneling :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dayle2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Passing through the area on motorcycles headed back home. We checked reviews once we got into town. There is really nothing new to ad to the reviews already written. Room was very clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. No coffee pot but coffee was available near the office at 6:30 a.m., therefore, it was a nonissue. It is a dated hotel and the bathroom is rather small but for the value and considering the comfort of the room, this too is a nonissue. You would be hard pressed to find a proprietress any friendlier. She didn't just assign us a room, she assigned us a room based on the fact that we were on cycles (bikes right outside our room) and that we had been riding all day and wanted comfort. She even allowed us to park our motorcycles under cover. If ever in the area we will not pass up staying here again. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1a9v5i5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Dated but quaint, great comfy bed, and exceptionally clean. I planned on leaving for home early but I was so comfortable I put it off till check out time. I Highly recommend this place and plan on staying here again next time I travel north to visit family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baddeley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsville
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
135 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
428 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#5 of 8 in Hillsville
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
229 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
473 reviews
19.1 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knob Hill Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill Motor Lodge

Property: Knob Hill Motor Lodge
Address: 305 E Stuart Dr, Hillsville, VA 24343-1662
Location: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knob Hill Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Knob Hill Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing