We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST WINE EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Notaviva Vineyards

Notaviva Vineyards
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Hillsboro
Attraction details
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BEST WINE EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stopped by Notaviva on a whim and we're so glad we did, their wine is amazing. We liked everything we tasted and the story behind the winery made everything that much sweeter. The only bad thing is that they don't ship to our state but, we only live 2 hours away so we will be going back when we need to restock.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sissy220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Winery/Great Pourer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The manager did our tasting and she was very informative and knowledgeable. Rustic atmosphere with a friendly, comfortable feel. Wines were good but not outstanding.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Case of the Blues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Their website says "Wine Paired with Music" and for sure the music here is the Blues. We were previewing this as a place to have a corporate excursion. The space would have worked but the off-key attitudes of the staff/owner made us eliminate this as an option. I'm not sure what happened that put the staff in bad moods, but they were not very friendly or accommodating. Just a bad day? Not sure because we won't be back and have decided to use Barrel Oak vineyard for our event. Oh and the wine was just OK.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stephaniep768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

For the wines alone I would give three stars, but the hostess leading us through the tasting was so excellent she brings this stop at a Virginia winery up to 4 stars. Excellent stories and fun with a blend of humor. Given the owners history in the music industry, this winery offers a very unique twist on pairings and they suggest pairing for the wines to different musical instruments or types of music. Very nice stop... We recommend the Calor - a nice white that pairs well with Latin music. Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wv_mountain_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique Setting - Great Wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived at a quiet time at the tasting room, which is a purpose-built section of this home. Paula, who poured for us, was delightful and informative. She really made our visit pleasant. I have to say that I enjoyed the eight wines we tasted and some are real stand outs. Do not forget to bring your picture I.D. to this winery! They are adamant about proof of age, no exceptions (my husband and I are 60 years old, and had to present proof.) If this bothers you, don't go as you won't be served. We paid $8. per person for the tasting. The price goes up if you bring a larger group. I appreciated the setting, the quality of the wines and how personable Paula is.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KayRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notaviva Vineyards also viewed

Hillsboro, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Notaviva Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing