We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra service helps us catch flight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extra service helps us catch flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

Stayed the night before a 6:00 International flight. We missed the 4:30 scheduled van to the airport by a minute. We asked the front desk attendant if I could call us a cab and he said that it would take 45 minutes.

Without hesitation, the kind gentlemen immediately got another driver to make a special trip to the airport for us. Without this gesture, we most surely would have missed our flight. Bravo!

The rooms were nice and served the purpose. The staff at the Houlihan's on site were nice for happy hour and the sushi restaurant across the street by the Marriott was pretty good (7/10).

In the same situation, I would definitely stay at the Crowne Plaza again.

  • Liked — Personal Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank willisdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Walnut Cove, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Had a pleasant experience overall. Unlike another reviewer, we did find coffee in the lobby and had a USA Today in front of our door. Although a bus load of teenagers arrived at 10 pm one night, we heard nothing. Comfortable beds. Very convenient to Dulles and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coveman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

I booked this because it was the best Park & Fly rate near Dulles. Not a good choice for an early flight. Although the hotel advertises a good night's sleep, it was very loud. Ask for a room on the inside, because there was a bus parked right outside our third floor window with the engine idling all night long. No newspaper is provided and there is no coffee in the lobby. Make sure you are there for the shuttle ride to the airport, because ours pulled out at 6:00 a.m. on the dot.

  • Liked — proximity to Dulles
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MarylandBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

The CP Dulles is very convenient to IAD and provides a regularly scheduled shuttle, saving you the cost and hassle (more on that later) of taking a taxi such a short distance.

Be sure to ask for a Tower room. These rooms are a bit nicer and much quieter than rooms in the front section of the hotel. The staff is always quite helpful and generally cheerful.

One word of caution: check in lines can be a bit long if there are flight cancellations at IAD as people seek shelter for the evening.

When looking for a place to eat, Houlihan's has a decent menu. However, if you're up for a 10 minute walk, cross the street to the shopping plaza (one with the Marriott Suites) and explore its restaurant selection. I can personally recommend TurCuisine - authentic food, great staff, and generally quick during dinner hours. Friday's has the only late night (1 - 2am depending) bar in the area. If you're jet-lagged and can't sleep it may be your saviour.

As for the taxi hassle: cab drivers detest us travelers who take taxis the 2 miles from IAD to Herndon (location of CP Dulles). It occasionally will spark a confrontation as they are hoping for fares into DC. Don't tolerate this behavior! If they return to their airport within 30 minutes they are allowed to resume their position in line.

  • Liked — Convenience to IAD & my office
  • Disliked — Non-tower rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

Staff was always extremely courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. The room (ours was in the original part of the hotel, not the newer tower) was very nice. There was a refrigerator with a small freezer compartment, a microwave, and free wireless internet access. We were also provided with the extra "sleep aids"--a sleep CD (there's a CD player/clock in the room), lavender spray, eye mask and earplugs. Although the hotel is named as an airport hotel, we did not notice any noise whatsover. The room was very clean, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom contained extra towels, and a note that additional complimentary toiletry items (other than the shampoo/conditioner/lotion there) would be available without charge upon request if needed.

  • Liked — great staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CACAFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

When I saw this was a refurbished Day's Inn I almost cancelled. Day's Inn strikes fear into my road warrior's heart and refurbished is almost inevitably lipstick on a pig. However, I'm glad I didn't cancel as I had an excellent stay at this hotel. My Club level room was well equipped, including a microwave and fridge, everything worked and the decoration and furnishings were attractive, clean and in good condition with the usual excellent Crowne Plaza bed. Throughout, the hotel was spotless and well-maintained with no signs of its former life to let it down. Check in was fast, all the staff I met were efficient, friendly and very service focused. The hotel has a nice size pool and spa and there is free wi-fi throughout. My only gripe would be the restaurant, while the bar was good and the staff were excellent, the menu choice, quality of the food and cooking was pretty poor. You'll do much better to walk across the road, go through the Marriott and out the other side where you'll find a plaza with every kind of restaurant you could want. Having tried several others, the Crowne Plaza will now become my regular Dulles Airport hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and efficiency
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Stayed here for 14 nights as I was on business near by. The shuttle frm the airport is generally good, a couple of times I had to wait 45 mins when it is suppose to run every 30 mins. Upon check-in, I was dealt with swiftly. I was on the club floor level which was nice & quiet. The room was very spacious & had everything I needed. Breakfast in the lounge in the morning was good & included in the price. The gym & pool facilities were very good too. Definately recommend this hotel! Lots of restuarants near by & the one that is part of the hotel is very good.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slimshaneylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.3 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#10 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.1 mi away
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To better serve our guests needs we are renovating our hotel lobby. November 2, 2015 - January 31, 2016 our main lobby will be temporarily closed and the front desk is being relocated to the back of the hotel. We will have directional signs and greeters available to help our guests. We appreciate your patience with us and can't wait to share our new look with you in 2016! Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport as well as complimentary scheduled shuttle service to local offices within a five mile radius (Mon-Fri). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Relax with a swim in our lap pool or enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center.Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theater. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. Attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing