We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

Staff was always extremely courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. The room (ours was in the original part of the hotel, not the newer tower) was very nice. There was a refrigerator with a small freezer compartment, a microwave, and free wireless internet access. We were also provided with the extra "sleep aids"--a sleep CD (there's a CD player/clock in the room), lavender spray, eye mask and earplugs. Although the hotel is named as an airport hotel, we did not notice any noise whatsover. The room was very clean, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom contained extra towels, and a note that additional complimentary toiletry items (other than the shampoo/conditioner/lotion there) would be available without charge upon request if needed.

  • Liked — great staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CACAFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    174
    69
    28
    22
See reviews for
99
94
85
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

When I saw this was a refurbished Day's Inn I almost cancelled. Day's Inn strikes fear into my road warrior's heart and refurbished is almost inevitably lipstick on a pig. However, I'm glad I didn't cancel as I had an excellent stay at this hotel. My Club level room was well equipped, including a microwave and fridge, everything worked and the decoration and furnishings were attractive, clean and in good condition with the usual excellent Crowne Plaza bed. Throughout, the hotel was spotless and well-maintained with no signs of its former life to let it down. Check in was fast, all the staff I met were efficient, friendly and very service focused. The hotel has a nice size pool and spa and there is free wi-fi throughout. My only gripe would be the restaurant, while the bar was good and the staff were excellent, the menu choice, quality of the food and cooking was pretty poor. You'll do much better to walk across the road, go through the Marriott and out the other side where you'll find a plaza with every kind of restaurant you could want. Having tried several others, the Crowne Plaza will now become my regular Dulles Airport hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and efficiency
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Stayed here for 14 nights as I was on business near by. The shuttle frm the airport is generally good, a couple of times I had to wait 45 mins when it is suppose to run every 30 mins. Upon check-in, I was dealt with swiftly. I was on the club floor level which was nice & quiet. The room was very spacious & had everything I needed. Breakfast in the lounge in the morning was good & included in the price. The gym & pool facilities were very good too. Definately recommend this hotel! Lots of restuarants near by & the one that is part of the hotel is very good.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slimshaneylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Arrived at the hotel very early at 07h00 after a long flight and found check-in to be a pleasure with friendly staff who had no problem giving me a room so much earlier then check in time.

The room itself was great - spotlessly clean with great amenities like a sleep CD, ear plugs and lavender spray. The bed is really comfortable and I slept well.

The hotel is close to Dulles and the area was pleasant with shops and restaurants nearby. I booked on Hotwire and got a fantastic rate.

You cannot do better then the Crowne Plaza in the area, and I would recommend it to anyone. No problems to report at all.

  • Liked — Great location, rooms, service, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — small bath tub, but I think all US hotels are like this
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Stayed 1 night on business on the corporate rate of $179. Location was great, just minutes from the airport but be prepared to pay a 50 cent toll each way. Check in was a breeze we were there hours before checkin time of 3pm because of an early flight but were allowed right in. I had a priority club # and for that they gave me a larger room on the corner for free! Was provided a bag of goodies with a sleep cd, lavender spray, and a sleeping mask (none of which i used but was a nice touch) Room and bed was very large and comfy with an easy chair and desk/workstation plus microwave/fridge. Bathroom had an extended pull out makeup mirror which was great as well as the usual shampoo/conditioner. Liked the contemporary style. Newspaper and receipt was slid under my door in the morning. Only complaint was that wireless was very very slow. I was on the 4th floor in the corner. Parking garage attached to hotel was free and very quick walk (15 seconds) to elevator instead of going through the lobby. 530-630pm on Wednesdays (the night we stayed) they roll out a huge array of complimentary food and drinks in the lobby. Cheese and meat trays, bottles of beer and wine, all for you to enjoy for free! Was a great deal but unfortunately I couldnt partake cuz we were meeting a client for dinner at that time but it looked very tempting!! A small gift shop is also located in the hotel. Attached restaurant Houlihan's attracted the business professional lunch crowd but we sat on the patio and were greeted very quickly and served our food just as quickly. Menu was HUGE and pricing was reasonable. Definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Free evening reception on Wednesday, luxury accomodations
  • Disliked — Cleaning people and maintenance people in hallways tearing down the ceiling
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coorscrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

I booked the Crown Plaza on Priceline for a very reasonable $40. I called them prior to my stay and requested 2 queen beds. The night of my stay I called them again and requested 1 king. I was told that they probably would not be able to accommodate that since all the Kings were taken. However, when I arrived there from NC I was quite surprised that they were able to get me into a King room on the Club Level for no additional charge. While i was there, my stay was nice. One thing that was cool was they had a CD with nature sounds. We are not personally into that but I know that there are some people that are.
The only thing that annoyed me about the hotel is I was not made aware of the rear parking deck that was far more convenient to our room than the lot in the front. I discovered it on my own and quite by accident.
All-in-all this was a solid hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Club Level upgrade, proximity to Dulles Toll Rd.
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cedartree84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Booked through Hotwire for a very reasonable price (~$60). Everything else in the area was in the $200+ range. Totally fine hotel for an overnight stay. The room itself was fine, as was the lobby. Didn't use any of the amenities, other than the Internet, which worked. Wouldn't recommend it for a long-term stay, but for a single night, it's fine.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank aglazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#6 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
1.3 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Address: 2200 Centreville Rd, Herndon, VA 20170-4305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. Onsite self parking is complimentary, and new valet service is available for a fee charged daily ($10 day, $15 overnight). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Starbucks Cafe is now open in the main lobby and available from 6am -6pm, 7 days a week. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center. Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theater. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. Attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing