We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you don't like to swim this is a good place to stay!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you don't like to swim this is a good place to stay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel and the rooms are great however they do not allow you to use the pool from 11am to 4pm. It is open at 6am to 11am but by the time I get up(I am on vacation) and eat it's closed. Then at 4 pm it really only gives me 1 hr before meeting friends for dinner. I love to swim and also have taught swimming and have my CPR certificate but they insist a life guard has to be on duty. Do what the other hotels do and the Hyatt across the street does, put a sign that says no life guard on duty swim at your own risk. Not a good choice management of Crowne Plaza for us older travelers. Need to put on your Internet site so other travelers don't make the mistake the in choosing to stay here and not able to use the beautiful but unused pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coastaleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and your guestroom. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced because our pool was closed between 11am and 4pm (the pool hours on weekends are 8am-10pm). Unfortunately it is a Fairfax county regulation that hotels cannot have their pool open without lifeguard supervision, so this necessitates hotels having restricted pool hours. Our hotel follows this law so cannot allow guests to swim at their own risk.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to the Herndon area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    204
    75
    30
    22
See reviews for
118
114
98
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recently stayed over night before 10 day trip. Did the park and fly with shuttle. All worked fine. Room was nice, clean, comfortable. No problems with shuttle to/from Dulles. Parking was plentiful and convenient. A great value. Will use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the value of our Park, Stay & Go package. This package is very popular because you can avoid airport daily parking fees and instead park your car in our garage and hop on our complimentary 24-hr van shuttle to Dulles Airport.
We look forward to hosting you again during your next trip from Dulles Airport. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I Stayed here for a weekend and it was amazing.breakfast was very nice, I order omelettes and they were delicious.fitness center is wonderful had everything you need. Mark and edin have excellent costumer service, I used the concierge service a couple of time and they couldn't be more helpful..I definitely would recommended this hotel..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast in our Houlihan's restaurant as well as the customer service from our guest service agents. I will forward your comments regarding their great service to our management team.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a company meeting at the hotel, which the hotel provides a shuttle to and from the airport which was real convenient. However, the bed was far from comfortable and lacking pillows with any kind of support. We asked for more pillows and stacked them together. The hotel restaurant Houlahan's has something for everyone.

Room Tip: room 242 has awful bed it's close to the elevator and no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AugustaOnTheGo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary 24-hr van shuttle and Houlihan's restaurant. I would like to recommend for a return visit trying one of my favorite new entrees, the Roasted Half Chicken or the Shrimp Panzanella salad.
Thank you for your comments regarding the bed in your guest room. I will forward your comments as we are currently replacing mattresses, as well as this summer will be adding new bedding and linens in all guest rooms.
We look forward to the opporntunity to host you again when you return to Herndon for a meeting.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

i stay here two nights and the stay was perfect .. rooms was very clean and well appointed.. the bed was like sleeping on a cloud.. paul and edin was wonderful and efficient.. i defenitely come back again..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our Crowne Plaza. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked your guest room and comfortable bed. We will be adding new bedding and linens to all guest rooms this summer. I will also forward your nice comments regarding our front office team to our management staff.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Easy Check-In, Check-Out, Clean Bathrooms, my room had close proximity to elevators. The elevators are locked unless you have a card key after 9PM, which I loved for safety reasons. The rear parking deck has direct access to the lobby from the rear entrance even if parking is limited. Beds were comfy, only one drawback when I pulled teh comforter back on one of the beds it had stains which were pretty obvious since it was white background as though someone had spilled juice. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HQOFCMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that your checkin/ checkout was convenient and that you enjoyed your guestroom and bed. We continue to make improvements and will have new bedding and linens in all guest rooms this June.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Perfect hotel for proximity to Dulles Airport which is good value - ideal for flying visits (pun intended). Won't win any design or interior decoration awards but all perfectly clean, maintained and well run with helpful staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback from your recent stay. We are glad that you found our hotel a good value and liked our location just two miles from Dulles Airport. We focus on maintaining high standards of cleanliness and maintenance, and are especially pleased when customers let us know that our staff has been very helpful.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.1 mi away
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Address: 2200 Centreville Rd, Herndon, VA 20170-4305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. Onsite self parking is complimentary, and new valet service is available for a fee charged daily ($10 day, $15 overnight). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Starbucks Cafe is now open in the main lobby and available from 6am -6pm, 7 days a week. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center. Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theater. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. Attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing