We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Dulles Airport overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport (CPDA) Hotel for one night before an early-morning flight to Las Vegas, and I'm glad I did. I booked it just a day beforehand on Expedia and found a pretty good rate of $65/night. (I had an Expedia coupon for $50, so that made it much cheaper, but even without a coupon, the rate seemed pretty good for a 3.5-star major-airport hotel.)

The CPDA has several things going for it: (1) very convenient location -- just off Rt. 267 (toll road) and the Dulles Access Road (no toll), with toll-free access to and from IAD. The hotel is just across the road from a Marriott and a large strip mall with a good choice of restaurants, including Italian, Thai, and Vietnamese. (2) Check-in and -out were easy and convenient. (3) Room -- spacious, clean, and comfortable. I was a bit skeptical when I saw the rather cheap-looking floor-mounted HVAC unit underneath the window, but it had a separate and accurate wall-mounted control that worked just fine. (It offered the option of digitally setting and maintaining the temperature via heating or A/C.) (4) Parking: plenty of free surface and garage parking, and the garage is right next to the bank of rooms at the "back" (side closest to the airport) of the hotel.

Another helpful feature: I'd settled into my room with some takeout food and a beer when the front-desk receptionist (Michael? Mark?) called: someone had turned in what appeared to be my rent-a-car key. He'd surmised it was mine from the info. I'd provided on the car (for parking purposes) when checking in -- key was indeed mine; I'd dropped in the elevator when fumbling for my room key. I appreciated the thoughtful follow-up by the hotel staffer.

While I did find the Dulles Hilton (see my review for that property) a bit better overall, I was nonetheless pleased with my stat at CPDA and would definitely stay there again. Recommended, especially if you can get it for less than $70 or so a night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KittyChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear KittyChan,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Crowne Plaza. I am pleased that you enjoyed your guestroom, our convenient location and our complimentary garage parking. Many guests also take advantage of Worldgate shopping center, which is located across the street and offers many restaurant options as well as a multiplex movie theatre. I will also pass your positive comments regarding the service of our guest service agent who found your missing car keys to the Front Office Manager.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

The property is modern and conveniently located to Dulles Airport, where I had scheduled an early morning flight. We decided to stay over and had a good price from Priceline ($65 plus their addon taxes and fees). When we arrived, there was a strong smell of sewage in the lobby/reception area. Could not figure that out and didn't bother to ask. We went up to the room, which looked good enough. When we got into bed, however, there was one long, perfect single human hair between the sheets as well as sone suspicious stains on the spread up by the place where my face goes. We moved to the other bed.

I called this to the attention of the desk clerk on checkout who acknowledged my concern with little interest.

You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChunnyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear ChunnyM,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the unusual condition of the room you received. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These have been shared with our Housekeeping team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Despite your disappointment, we do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been travelling to the area on business for many months, and of the hotels I've stayed at, this is my favorite. Full selection of TV channels (others only had basic). Year round open indoor pool (others were outside). Good restaurant downstairs and a short walk to WorldGate, a shopping plaza with a large selection of various restaurants. They provide shuttle services to get to my office. The staff has been very helpful anytime I needed anything. On an occasion I needed to have some adjustments made on my reservation, the front desk staff took care of everything. A special thanks goes out to Deysi, Paul, and Andrew for helping out with that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Matt,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and were able to take advantage of our complimentary corporate shuttle, Houlihan's Restaurant and indoor pool. Many guests enjoy our guest rooms' extensive selection of Hi-Def channels when relaxing, as well as the additional dining and movie theatre options located next door.
I will forward your recognition of Paul, Andrew, and Deysi's helpful customer service to our Front Office Manager and General Manager. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is at a great location, located right off the Dulles Toll Road. They have a wonderful gym and a great buffet breakfast in the morning, but the best thing about this place is the very friendly staff. I would like to call out three in particular, Deysi, Paul, and Andrew. They were very professional, friendly, and a huge help.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on our hotel services. We strive to provide the best customer service and accommodations for our guests, so are very pleased that Deysi, Paul and Andrew were so helpful and friendly during your stay. Our convenient location just off the Toll Road and next to shopping and restaurants is also a popular feature with guests. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again and next time try our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar for dinner or happy hour.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have to say that all the staff is very very helpful, friendly and caring. I take note of the kindness and professionalism of Deysi, Paul, and Andrew. From now on I will stay no where else when I am in town. The room is very nice, clean, and well appointed with every thing you could possible need. I could not give a higher rating to the hotel, and the the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WagsWVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review of our Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. We are very proud of our guest service team's customer service and will pass your compliments about Deysi, Paul and Andrew to our Front Office Management staff.
We are pleased that you also enjoyed your guest room's appointments and look forward to the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles corridor!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

the price was good ...but didn't realize that there would be no one to help with my luggage at either the door or the front desk .... went to multiple soda machines before I could find one that accepted my money only to find out that machine was sold out of 7-up and there was no soda machine on my floor... room didn't get cleaned until after 1 pm (yeah could have called and insisted but...) ... after traveling a long distance and using this as a 1-day layover, I might have preferred to pay more and had a few more nice touches along the way ....room was clean and front desk staff adequate and bed comfortable but on the way back, I am trying a different hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loki_21202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Loki,

Thank you for your recent review of our Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room as well as the comfy bed. Our van drivers also perform bellman services, so I apologize if no one was available upon your arrival. We also will notify our outside vendor who services the vending machines regarding your issues with the machines accepting money and being out of 7-up.
We hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

What makes this place is the staff, nothing too much trouble, always friendly, day or night. Great breakfast, buffet or ordered on room service. Friendly bar and they cater for smokers outside with shelters and seating! Good bathroom facilities. Great pool and gym. Bus service right outside the door, or you can walk to the local mall. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Not much of a view from anywhere.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and were able to take advantage of our Houlihan's Restaurant as well as pool and gym. Our convenient location next to shopping and a multiplex movie theatre is also very popular with hotel guests. Once the new Silver line of metro opens late 2013, we will also be just 4 miles from the new Reston metro station, making easy access to Washington D.C. attractions.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles Corridor.

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
1,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
2.2 mi away
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 2200 Centreville Rd, Herndon, VA 20170-4305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range: $88 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. Onsite self parking is complimentary, and new valet service is available for a fee charged daily ($10 day, $15 overnight). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Starbucks Cafe is now open in the main lobby and available from 6am -6pm, 7 days a week. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center. Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theater. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. Attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing