We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Big, clean rooms & a Houlihans Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big, clean rooms & a Houlihans Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hotel was about 10 minutes from the airport and had a shuttle service. I stayed in the tower and the rooms were hugh! Very clean and well appointed. I normally wake up several times during the night when I stay at hotels but I slept right through to when my alarm went off. They had wireless internet throughout the building. I wanted to watch the hockey game so I went downstairs and they have a Houlihans attached to the hotel. There are also a lot of other restaurants in the area and a movie theatre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Crowne Plaza NJhotelguy! You touched on many of my favorite features including the free WI-FI (only full service hotel offering the service) and watching hockey in Houlihan's (I hope the Devils played well for you that night).

Thank you for taking the time to post you review...and thank you for your business.

David Welliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    202
    74
    30
    22
See reviews for
114
112
94
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Melisa Geter was our reunion person that I and one other person dealt with for our reunion. Melisa was always very accommodating to our needs and ideas and the plans we wanted to do for our reunion. Just as an example we wanted to have a barbeque out side and she worked it out to our satisfaction and the needs for about 48 people. Melisa also gave us other activities around the area that we could pick from for our members. Melisa really has quite the experience for military reunions. She is a great asset to your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerrys61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Hi West Chester Pennsylvania and thank you for the time you took to complete this great Trip-Advisor survey. We take great pride in participating with military reunions - they are not only filled with great stories but make us feel patriotic as well. Thank you for your kind comments and for your business loyalty.

David Welliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

I was recently the reunion coordinator for a military reunion at this Crowne Plaza Hotel. The rates were excellent, the staff profoundly helpful, the location convenient to the airport - with a nearby bus connection to the METRO. There were plenty of nearby restaurant options. I give the location five stars. We were pleased with the rooms and guest services. I am a retired airline pilot and have enjoyed and suffered from the extremes of hotels all over the world. In comparison to the hotel rates in the District, and housekeep in those hotels, this hotel was an incredible value.

The food services staff put forth an excellent banquet for our group of 43. Melissa the reunion coordinator, Jay the food service manager, were most helpful.

Overall we were very pleased.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willyum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Hello Ferndale Washington and thank you for your kind review of our Crowne Plaza. We love our military reunions - not only are the stories fascinating but it makes us feel a little patriotic to play a roll in these kinds of reunions. Thank you for your kind comments and thank you for your business loyalty!

David Welliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

If you are looking for convenience to Dulles, this is the hotel for you. If you have other considerations-forget it. The Marriot is DIRECTLY across the street. We booked a King room months before arrival. We requested a change to Queen and were denied. We were told the hotel has many high point priority customers and the queen and Tower rooms are for them. When we arrived, they had arbitrarily changed to a double room. We were in the double room for 5 days/4 nights. There were two false fire alarms, one of which was at 3:30AM! Guests were huddled under the hotel carport in the rain for nearly an hour. The elevator carpets are filthy, not even vacuumed. (We were there 5 days)
They do not change the bedding daily and honestly, it looked wrinkled and unchanged when we arrived. Even when laundered, they are not pressed. The desk could not provide area restaurants or tour info just DC info.
So, if you have a zillion Priority points, you may get your room request. If you are there for business or in and out of Dulles-fine. We had no choice. It was the choses sight for a reunion. Otherwise-choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Be a Priority Member with lots of points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler31_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

I cannot be more complimentary about this hotel. I stayed here last night before I flew out of Dulles, and the hotel is fantastic. The shuttle bus makes the hotel superbly convenient, but the interior and touches of class are wonderful. The pool is big enough to swim in. The fitness room is well equipped. Rooms are good sizes, TVs are huge, beds comfortable. Lots of freebies, including water and snacks.

Not only the hotel itself, but the staff were also excellent. My flight was late, so asked to stay a little longer - a 3pm check out. They staff said this was fine without any questions asked at all. They also booked my taxis for me for my business meetings. Excellent. I am glad the manager comes on here to read comments - he should be proud of his teams efforts.

The restaurant attached also serves good food - I think it is called Houlihan's. It is a shame the service is so atrociously terrible in there, however. It has soured my entire experience, and I hope the hotel manager passes this on to the management of the restaurant. Slow service, and innatentive staff. Also, this afternoon I wondered down to get a beer as I had some time to kill, and the guy asked for some ID. Aside from the fact I am well beyond this age, I could only produce a UK drivers license. It was all I had on my as my baggage was packed up and securely locked away. EVERYWHERE else accepted a UK license, but this guy was just plain rude. He said "I am not going to serve you unless you go and get your passport. Your UK driving license means nothing to me". Unbelievable. I know it is the law, but he was just so rude to go with it too...

So well done Crowne Plaza, you excelled yourselves. But avoid the restaurant. Get room service instead. Same food, but delivered by staff who give a ****.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mellowlellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

As a frequent traveller for business as well as leisure, I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza (Dulles location) on several trips. It is a great location and is quiet and clean. I especially appreciate the staff who are friendly and are sensitive to the needs of frequent travellers. Wayne Thompson, the Room Manager, goes out of his way to remember guests and ensure their satisfaction. There are numerous hotels around this location, but I find myself returning to this hotel repeatedly because of the service and the fact that know I will get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PackFan320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Good Afternoon Spokane Washington and thank you for taking the time to share helpful and kind comments of your experience with our Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport.

We are proud of all our staff and appreciate your recognition. In particular, Wayne Thompson is a hard-working and true hotel professional and I am pleased he has made a great impression on you.

Thank you again for your positive input and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours,

David Welliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

I was very surprised at how efficient the hotel operated. The process from reservations to check-in was very efficient, quick, and professional. I felt welcome starting with the van driver that picked me up at Dulles Airport. The Front Desk staff made me feel warm and welcome when I walked in. The room I stayed in felt fresh and new and HUGE! The King size bed was comfortable, with large pillowtops. I also really like the comforter that was on top of the bed. The carpet was vibrant and felt clean. The granite countertop tables and bathrooms were also nice.

The large Philips flat screen TV had an hdmi hook up...so I was able to watch my Netflix movie online while sleeping on the bed. The hotel also had a listing of all the programs on each channel, which is pretty convenient. Because I do a lot of work in the room, I use the desk and office chair a lot. The quality and size of the desk and chairs are good as well as the lighting.

There was a mid-size refrigerator with a full range thermostat that I can control...I cranked it up cold enough to create ice in my coke! Above the frig was a nice coffee and tea set as well as a microwave. The single cup coffee maker is a big plus...convenient so I can brew my cup of coffee before I check out in the morning. The 100% Colombian supremo coffee was really good...there is also a choice of decaf if that's your choice.

The other thing I like about the hotel is that the restaurant (Houlihan's) is attached to the hotel, so you don't have to go outside to go to dinner. It's very convenient...the food was very good. If you feel like a quick bite later at night, there's also a Wendy's and Taco Bell a couple of steps away that stays open til late. I picked up a couple of items at 7-11 as well (which is right across the street).

One of the nice features of the hotel is that they have an Enterprise Rent-A-Car inside the hotel, so you can rent the car when you need it. And connected to the hotel is covered parking, which is great if it rains or snows. The hotel also has a small but nice gym and indoor swimming pool (which I'll use next time!).

I was very satisfied with my stay and will certainly re-book next time I have a trip to Dulles.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank govoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Hello Govoyage, and thank you for the time and effort you took to share the kind comments of your experience at our Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport. The helpfulness and detail of your comments will no doubt benefit other Tripadvisor users when they research their hotel decisions in the Dulles Corridor.

We are very thankful to have earned your business and I hope to thank you in person one day.

Yours,

David Welliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
1.3 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
0.1 mi away
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Address: 2200 Centreville Rd, Herndon, VA 20170-4305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. Onsite self parking is complimentary, and new valet service is available for a fee charged daily ($10 day, $15 overnight). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Starbucks Cafe is now open in the main lobby and available from 6am -6pm, 7 days a week. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center. Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theater. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. Attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing