We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“They tried...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They tried...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hilton is a venerable brand with a reputation of quality and connivence. Unfortunately, this particular branch needs a bit of work on their service. They have a great location near the Dulles International airport -very convenient! The have a restaurant and bar in the hotel. The restaurant has a breakfast buffet that I admittedly did not try but seems well stocked with a varied assortment of items to choose from. The bar is open late and has several snack items to go along with your drinks or beer. But the service didn't live up to the highest of Hilton standards. They DID try to correct the mistakes that were made (not cleaning the room one day and only partially cleaning it another day and giving the wrong instructions for getting picked up when we arrived), but I really think that the mistakes should not have been made in the first place. It's just a large hotel that doesn't have all of their staff "genned in" on the quality of service that they are more than capable of delivering per Hilton standards. Although there are other hotels closer or just as close, I would say if the connivence of being close to the airport is important to you, and you are a Hilton Honors member, then staying here will fit the bill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Tbhines,

Thank you for your candid review. Our team is happy to know that you did like the location, and abundant selections we offer at the breakfast buffet. We take your comments and our custumer service very seriously. I'm very sorry if you experienced any delays or lapses in customer service. We do hope to redeem your service when you return to the area. It is our pleasure serving you, and we will discuss your comments with the appropriate directors.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    436
    205
    86
    45
See reviews for
236
220
198
799
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October prior to flying back to Europe. Hotel has a complimentary shuttle running every 30 minutes non-stop 24/7 from IAD which is very convenient as its about a good 10-15 minute drive and a cab fare is about $15-$20 one-way. As hhonors gold got upgraded to a suite which was very large and appeared to be recently refurbished the bed was also extremely comfortable. The executive lounge was the usual US Hilton standard nothing exciting and breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Plenty to do for an airport hotel with a nice fitness centre and pool also it was very welcome that they had a complimentary shuttle to the Udvar hazy Air & Space museum and the shuttles were timed so as to coincide with the opening and closing times it was nice not having to pay for a taxi for once. Overall if ever traveling through IAD again I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avi8or_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here because we missed our flight out of Miami and the check in staff cancelled our reservation at another Hilton in Washington and transfered the rate over for a night here in Miami. They gave us some toiletries for free as well because our bags had gone, despite us not making it!

The rooms are large and and spacious, we had a great view over the lakes and airpot.

The Pool is nice and big and the food here and at the restaurant is very good for a chain hotel.

Our only issue was we ordred breakfast for 6:30AM as we had to leave for a morning flight at 7:15. Our breakfast arrived at 7:15 when we were walking out the door. We were not charged but I was hungry all day!

Room Tip: Get the newly refurbished rooms looking over the airport and pool. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear jimcohen,

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the spacious room and view. We are also happy that you enjoyed the quality of our food. I'm sorry that the breakfast was not delivered in a timely manner, and hope this does not discourage you from staying with us on your next visit to the Dulles area. We will speak with the appropriate directors in order to provide a more timely delivery next time.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Everyone - Reception, waitrsses, shuttle bus drivers, room cleaners, were courteous and seemed genuinely friendly. Especvially notable were the Colmbian waitress in the Restaurant and the British lady attending in the Executive Lounge. It was a comfortable and spacious room with all we could need and the shuttle service both to the airport and the Air and Space Museum was a helpful bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Traveled for business. Very large hotel...definitely a good conference hotel. Rooms are a long walk away & hotel should look to refurbish in a couple years...it's age is definitely showing. Rooms were just okay. What I was most impressed with was the food! Staff was helpful & courteous. For a good price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRocks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Mel H,

Thank you for the review! Our team is pleased to know you enjoyed the service and food. We would hope you join us again on your next visit to the area. I will pass along your suggestions to the rest of the management.

Warm Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
551 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I love the deal where you can stay for one night only and then you can leave your car there and fly on holiday and then come back to collect the car. It is very conveniently if you fly out from Dulles. The Executive Room is comfortable, and the Junior Suite is even better. Got upgraded on my return. I love the food there too. Well worth staying there. The service was good, when our taxi did not show up - 5:00 am in the morning. The receptionist offered to drive us up if the taxi don't show up in the next 5 minutes. It did show up, apparently the controller of the taxi company sent the driver to the wrong hotel! None the less, I am a fan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superlegalbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Not too much time for sight seeing but this hotel made up for it. Great location for flights back to the UK. The staff service in this hotel stands head and shoulders above some of its competition. Large comfy rooms meant a great nights sleep. Business or pleasure this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheadleHulme79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
1.6 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
2.2 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Property: Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171-3218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#5 Family Hotel in Herndon
#6 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel is conveniently located only three miles from the Washington Dulles (IAD) terminal and 30 minutes from Washington DC. This Herndon, VA hotel is an ideal choice for a business trip in Washington DC, given our proximity to local business centers, corporations and government offices. Explore the surrounding area via the complimentary local shuttle service and discover the historic town of Herndon and nearby Reston, VA. Many popular Washington DC attractions are also easily accessible, including the White House and Capitol Building. Our tastefully appointed accommodations are contemporary, comfortable, and designed for one purpose, your comfort! The Hilton Serenity Collection™ is featured throughout each 400 square foot guestroom, allowing you to rejuvenate yourself with our Serenity Bed featuring the internationally-acclaimed Suite Dreams™ mattresses, Down Duvet and Down Pillows & luxurious bath amenities. Experience the new standard of guestrooms only at the Hilton! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests to get connected in HDTV by upgrading to Business Class Accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing