We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“discriminating and unscrupulous” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
burlington, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“discriminating and unscrupulous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were to have an event there that include Gay and Bi sexual members attending. We had a written contract and a deposit and the managers of the hotel called to cancel within 2 weeks of the event saying "they didn't want this kind of an event" at their hotel! We now are having to get an attorney for these shameless actions. Do NOT do any kind of catering or business with them.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    461
    211
    91
    50
See reviews for
252
237
206
839
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had another fantastic visit at the Dulles Hilton. The room was nice and clean and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet (extra charge but worth it) was very good with plenty of food choices. Our server "Candy" was very prompt, professional and friendly.

The hotel shuttle runs every half an hour. Often, it runs a few minutes late from the hotel but it always works out just fine. One of the drivers could be a bit more helpful with the luggage.

The front desk staff and managers are very nice and personable. The business lounge staff ladies are very friendly and provided professional and prompt service and we were very impressed.

The dinner restaurant offers a new menu and the quality and price were both very good. They do use some fancy new wording on the menu that I did not understand like "bacon jam". I thought it was jelly that tasted like bacon. Silly me. So, I asked and was told it was a piece of real good bacon on the hamburger and it was just that. One thing they can offer is more cheese options for the hamburgers. The food and service were both outstanding. We will go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: We have been happy with all of our rooms. We prefer a king size bed but we booked very late so they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevadaNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed the night before the MCM 10k on 10/28/12 in D.C.. The accommodations were excellent and the staff top notch. Having the fine amenities available after the race was a great refresher for a tired body as well! Will be sure to use them again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here as had meeting in Dulles and was convenient for airportl. Room: clean, spacious, dark decor which makes room apear too dark; Bathroom: good, shower lovely; TV: large flat screen but I never bother to with TV when in US as it's attrocious and it was election time! Need I say more :-(
Transport: didn't use shuttle bus as had rental car so can't comment on availability
Food: only had breakfast in Executive lounge but that was usual Hilton standard. Everything good but no surprises. Although afternoon snacks that come out at 6 pm were lovely.

Hotel is circular shape, seems like you walk forever if your room is on the other side of the circle from the lobby...Location: nice and close to airport but it's on a business park so there's absolutely nothing around; upside is it's very quiet; downside no shops/restaurants/COFFEE shops that are walking distance, but a drive to Reston you can find all you need and that seems to be a happening place in the evening

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you dyfrank!

We are happy you enjoyed our close location to Dulles Airport, and the executive lounge pm snacks. We do apologize for any decor or lighting issues you may have experienced and will bring this up to the appropriate directors. Our team does hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area. We value your opinion and hope to conitnue to provide you with great service.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

2 days of meetings held at hotel.
Room: clean, spacious, dark, decor-yawn
Bathroom: good, shower-over kill
TV: Big (too big), bright, good way to wake-up (have sun glasses handy)
Transport: bus (doesn't arrive at airport every 30min as publicized), passengers need a kidney belt when traversing bumps
Food: above average
Pub: enclosed room(strange), lots of TV's, small yet enough seating, good food/drinks choice
Services: basic, OX restaurant spendy, closed in even, gift shop, strangely up a floor and away from lobby, (but have 4 computers (2 Mac's/2 PC's in front lobby for use with printer-EXCELLENT!!)
No street noise
Hotel is circular shape, seems like you walk forever if your room is on the other side of the circle from the lobby...
Wake-up call service: trustworthy
Location: nice and close to airport; no shops/restaurants/COFFEE shops that are walking distance, a bit of a drive to get to D.C. or Baltimore (traffic snafu's)
Gym: Excellent equipment, size, cleanliness, equipment, ventilation

Room Tip: Choose a room that's close to the lobby side of the circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello dearingd,

Thank you for the kind review! We are happy to hear your enjoyed the cleanliness, size, and amenities the hotel offers. We do apologize about the shuttle timing and will address this with our team. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the area, and hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived very latei at night. Reservation desk was helpful and efficient. Airport transportation was quick and efficient. One disappointment was that you couldn't order room service in advance. Also, their was no honor bar availaable.

Very good value for the dollar -would definitely stay there again if I needed a hotel in that area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Peggy R,

Thank you so much for the four star review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the efficient service. We will also bring your concerns about the room service and honor bar to our Director of Food and Beverage. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. We value all our customers opinions and hope to continue to provide you with great value with every stay.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The property would have gotten 3-4 stars if it weren’t for the fact that I didn’t have any hot water for my 4:00 AM shower and the terribly slow tub drain (I was standing in about an inch of water while showering).

Overall it’s decent, a little dated (not a lot of electrical outlets for computers, cell chargers, etc), but clean. If you’re flying out of Dulles it’s fine for an overnight stay, but a little hard to get to/find (its located in the back of a business park). Will I stay there again, maybe, I typically fly out of Baltimore any only use Dulles once a year…..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear jbwilkins,

We are very sorry for the cold shower and slow drainage. Some unforeseen engineering cirumstances led to the cause of this issue. We do apologize for this and hope you can give us another chance next time you're in the area. Our team looks to better serve you in the future on your next visit. Feel free to reach out to me directly william.matthews@dulleshilton.com upon your next arrival.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
1.6 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Property: Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171-3218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#5 Family Hotel in Herndon
#6 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel is conveniently located only three miles from the Washington Dulles (IAD) terminal and 30 minutes from Washington DC. This Herndon, VA hotel is an ideal choice for a business trip in Washington DC, given our proximity to local business centers, corporations and government offices. Explore the surrounding area via the complimentary local shuttle service and discover the historic town of Herndon and nearby Reston, VA. Many popular Washington DC attractions are also easily accessible, including the White House and Capitol Building. Our tastefully appointed accommodations are contemporary, comfortable, and designed for one purpose, your comfort! The Hilton Serenity Collection™ is featured throughout each 400 square foot guestroom, allowing you to rejuvenate yourself with our Serenity Bed featuring the internationally-acclaimed Suite Dreams™ mattresses, Down Duvet and Down Pillows & luxurious bath amenities. Experience the new standard of guestrooms only at the Hilton! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests to get connected in HDTV by upgrading to Business Class Accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing