We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hama Sushi & Grill Japanese Restaurant

Hama Sushi & Grill Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 217 Restaurants in Herndon
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very inviting atmosphere to go with exceptional food. My husband had shrimp tempura and I had teriyaki salmon. For seating, there is a choice of traditional Japanese, table, booth, or sushi bar. Friendly servers made it the perfect lunch! We plan to go back often!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice Japanese food in Herndon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very nice welcome from the staff, good cuisine with tea and fresh sushi. A good place to go in Herndon, both for quick business lunch or diner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy to miss but that would be a mistake.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Consistent, friendly and high quality. Good menu range from sushi/sashimi to cooked fare.Recommended

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsm2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
346 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“very good Japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Went with my family for an enjoyable evening out. The tempura was right-on, light and crispy. They had a wide selection of sushi, all that we ordered was expertly prepared and nicely presented. The service was friendly, helpful, and efficient. Price was OK for the quality of the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ggold113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
173 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good sushi, interesting service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hama has great sushi/sashimi and we've been there numerous times. It's fresh, and nicely prepared, but maybe not the absolute best quality each time. Each sushi chef has their own style and things are different each time we visit. Some of the rolls are a great value. On our last visit the special Mango roll was excellent. Check the number of rolls before ordering. The Bento boxes are good for the variety. I asked to taste one of their wines and they seemed very shocked--brought my taste in a tiny sake cup! On our latest visit with another couple, we had a "last call" for sushi at 9:30 which I thought was a bit rude considering how much we spent that night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hama Sushi & Grill Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Hama Sushi & Grill Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing