We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Local Favorite”
Review of Euro Bistro

Euro Bistro
Ranked #18 of 225 Restaurants in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Austrian, European, German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Local Favorite”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We love the atmosphere, especially when they have an accordion player and folks are singing along. Family and friends we take always compliment the food. I love the schnitzel, and have a hard time choosing anything else; my wife loves the Sea Bass, but she tries everything and likes it. It's a fantastic family operated café with a good selection of old world brews. Definitely one of Herndon's little gems.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_n_Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had been to this restaurant many years ago, so we thought we would try it again. The menu is primarily German, with a number of Thai influences and a little Italian thrown in (very odd combination). It seemed they were trying to be too many things, although they seem to specialize in German food. We decided to go that route -- I had sauerbraten, which was not bad. My husband was going to order weinerschnitzel, but the server mentioned that the veal was a little dry and suggested the pork schnitzel, so that's what he ordered. When it came, he had a plate full of very flat, breaded objects. It was difficult to tell what was a schnitzel an what was a potato pancake -- they all looked the same. There was a small cup of gravy for dipping or pouring, but it wasn't nearly enough. He said that the meat was quite dry and had very little taste. The potato pancakes were okay.

The atmosphere was also lacking. They had track lighting that could have made the restaurant seem a little more intimate, but they chose to use the ceiling can lights, producing an overall glare, and certainly not a feeling of being in a nice restaurant. The menu prices were reasonable, but for $15 - $20 for entrees, we had hoped for a little nicer atmosphere. They did have tablecloths and cloth napkins.

My suggestion would be, if you plan to try this restaurant, have the server recommend the best dish on the menu and try that. Otherwise, there are too many other choices in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Complete Miss”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

After reading the reviews and hearing our neighbors rave about this place, we had to try it. It was downhill from the beginning. The waitstaff was rushed, and couldn't keep up. Our table was served in sections, some receiving drinks, some appetizers, etc. The food was a huge disappointment and it didn't surprise us as the menu had German, Italian, Thai, just too many types of food to be good at any one. Goulash was bland, stringy and boring. "Chinese" chicken salad was a joke of lettuce, chicken and chow mien noodles. Getting bread proved to be a challenge. The waitress got testy when we needed to divide up the bill. Can't recommend and suggest looking for German food at a place that is dedicated to just that cuisine.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveldiva4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic surprise!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were tempted to Euro Bistro by a coupon for $!0 off, and when approaching it, we became wary because of its location in an unpreposessing strip mall. We were seated quickly, and the starter we orderd, goulash soup, was fantastic - meatier than we could remember in Vienna itself, I had Jaegerschnitzel, and she Wiener Schnitzel, both staples of German/Austrian cooking that we often have in Austria, and both were out of this world. The wines are excellent and comparatively inexpensive (and you can get a bottle to take home for half the price on the wine list), and the desserts are outstanding. This is a restaurant we will return to frequently, and where we'll bring European visitors!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandywineDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Euro dining at an affordable price”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This was my first taste of authentic German cuisine. Outstanding! Great food, price and value. We were served within ten minutes of our order on a busy Saturday night. We ordered Pork Jaegerschmitzel and Paprika Schnitzel both were tasty. We highly recommend this jewel of a find in Herndon, VA; it's one of the favorite restaurants of my friend who introduced me to German food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Euro Bistro also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Euro Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing