We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herndon Gem”
Review of Euro Bistro

Euro Bistro
Ranked #16 of 225 Restaurants in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Austrian, European, German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Herndon Gem”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is an unpretentious little restaurant that has good menu and tasty, dependable food. When we dined, the chef/owner(?) was enjoying a meal with some of his own guests. He waved at us, said hello and we felt very comfortable. Locals should definitely try this long-standing business.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GMBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant with Impecable Service”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Owned and operated by a native Austrian and his Indonesian wife this restaurant offers authentic Austrian food such as real Wiener Schnitzel, Sauerbraten and also has some Euro-Asian fusion dishes. The Spaetzle is excellent as are the seafood bisques. There are excellent Austrian wines and bottled beers on the menu and this is one of the best restaurants in Herndon.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPolodiNuovaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little-bit of Europe in Herndon”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I love authentic German food. If you love it too, then you should go to Euro Bistro. Nice diverse menu, from German food to fish dishes. Great service and upscale atmosphere. My wife and I go there often during the year.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler-VA_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eating German in Herndon”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I didn't know you could get German food in Herndon, VA, but you can! Now I've tried wienerschnitzal with potato pancakes. Yum! My husband enjoyed his beef tenderloin, but I think his goulash soup was even more interesting. Portions are large. Prices are fairly high. This is not a fancy place by any means. We went on a Friday evening. They had a traveling accordian player who added to the atmosphere of a light, festive community eatery. The servers were happy and very helpful. All in all this restaurant made for a lovely evening out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dszym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good German food in Herndon”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wonderful experience at the Euro Bistro. I arrived around 6 on a Saturday and that was a good thing too, as by 7 the line was out the door. This is a small restaurant located in a strip mall, so there is not much atmosphere with the front being all glass, but they do what they can with posters and such. The service was very quick. They had a very good selection of German beers, and I ordered the Haufbrau which was on-tap. I ordered a Jager-Schnitzel which arrived very soon after the beer. It was excellent! I usually put salt on everything, but this was perfectly seasoned and did not require anything. There was a side of good homemade spaetzle. I lived in Germany for 13 years and this was almost as good as many that I had there. The primary difference was the mushrooms. These appeared canned, unlike the forest mushrooms you get in Germany, but overall the dish was best I have had in a long time.

For dessert I had the Cherry Strudel, You can get Apple Strudel many places, but Cherry is hard to find. This was not full of the normal over sweetened pie filling either, but good sour cherries, lightly sweetened with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream on the side. This along with a cup of good strong German style coffee made for a wonderful end to the meal.

Highly recommended. I have found my new favorite in Herndon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Euro Bistro also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 

Been to Euro Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing