We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A favorite of all times!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charcoal Kebab

Charcoal Kebab
Ranked #9 of 217 Restaurants in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A favorite of all times!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I have been a patron of the Afghani kabob place for years. I was introduced here by a friend on my visit from Middle East back in the 90's. Once it used to be one of the very few options for kabob in that neighborhood of Fairfax county. The prices were so low for an excellent dish of chicken or beef complete with bread, rice, salad and chickpeas, about $7. Lately they have increased the price to about $12-15 range, but not $20 as mentioned in Tripadvisor. The dollar figure will be reached if drinks and dessert are added though. Apart from flagship kabob menu, I like their chicken curry hands down. My daughter loves the Kashmiri chai. On weekdays, the place is frequented by IT gurus for lunch from all around as it is located near the Dulles high tech corridor. Food is still good, but fierce competition has spruced up in this decade with many kabob houses in Fairfax as well as in Loudoun counties, some offering lower prices. On certain occasions in recent years, I have not found the place to be always spic and span, that deters me to give them an all out five. To be fair, I have sensed that the cleanliness has improved a bit since last year. Variety of tasty food, reasonable price and decades old establishment serving halal. You cannot go wrong here!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank csserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Good food good value no frills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Got some lamb kebabs takeout one evening. The place is in a plaza with Kmart. Bare bones interior and no alcohol served. But the lamb was cooked to perfection and very tasty. Nice selection of sides and a basmati rice. The included salad is not worth mentioning. But the prices were reasonable and the meat very good so I rate it a 4. The side lentils were quite spicy in my opinion.

Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting, tasty food for a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We went with a group of ten including 4 kids. They let us use the private room. The lamb dishes were excellent. The bread is made fresh and the rice is perfect. Food took a few minutes to arrive and you eat cafeteria style but with our group well worth it to save money. They made our dishes mild as we requested.

Helpful?
2 Thank PennsylvaniaOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment. Friends agree.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Never a disappointment. The meats are tender and amazing. There is a wide variety of sides to choose. The salad is always fresh. The rice is perfect. If you want to experience the best tandoori grilled meats -- this is the place. I always get the super combo #4 with three meats: chicken, lamb, and keema kabob. I have introduced others to the restaurant and their expression upon "first taste" says it all. Since 2000 when in Herndon, VA I always go out of my way to stop in and have never had a disappointment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine for fast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Flavorful and nicely presented serve yourself when your nber is called. Plastic utensils type place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Kebab also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Charcoal Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing