We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Kebab in Northern Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charcoal Kebab

Charcoal Kebab
Ranked #10 of 214 Restaurants in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Kebab in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place is one of the oldest Kebab places in Northern Virginia - an area that has a lot of people of middle eastern descent. The food is excellent. I have to repeat that - excellent. The bread, the best I have ever had of this type.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    39
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton, NJ
Level Contributor
149 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food in a Strip Mall setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have not visited this area all that often, so this makes only our second time eating here. Although the decor and the chairs and tables are your basic strip mall eatery, for both times eating ihere the food has been really quite good and reasonably priced for all that you get. We had Chicken, Lamb and Keema Kababs, all of which exceeded our expectations and left us both satisfied and satiated. Since we don't have anyplace like this near to where we live, we look forward to visiting in this area again so we can add a third (and likely more) visit(s) to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler47NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent kebab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've been going there for about 15 years, and it's still lone of our favorites. It's a no frills, family oriented restaurant, with very good food,and friendly atmosphere. We love the chicken kebab with the side of chick peas. I highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank crmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kebab in Herndon, VA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Kebab are okay but I have tasted better, prices are average. Abrupt to answer the phone and take your money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank flexibleguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I stumbled across this place in 1997 and this is still my favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The lamb and chicken kabobs are FANTASTIC... the homeade bread is made by spreading the dough out on a pillow and pressing it up inside a stone igloo shaped oven... get the chick peas as the side dish with the batsmati rice and you are set! If you really want the full experience, get the Sambosa as the appetizer (it's a fried pastry with curried veggies inside... ) I can't describe how great all of this tastes... you have to try it to believe it.

You will not leave hungry... (large portions, very reasonable cost)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank btlants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Kebab also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Charcoal Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing