We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas Day Winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chao Pra Ya

Chao Pra Ya
2465 J-1 Centreville Rd., Herndon, VA 20171
703-713-0103
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 213 Restaurants in Herndon
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Christmas Day Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We travelled to the DC area on Christmas Day for a quick family vacation. We were staying in Herndon and wanted to find somewhere to eat. However, there weren't many options. We stumbled upon Chao Pra Ya...and were we every pleasantly surprised!

The food was great and my wife loved the plum wine. Authentic food for a decent price!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cafebeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I know Thai, I was married to one for 10 years. Traditional, delicious Thai; You really have to ask to get it spicy, they are very protective of being overly HOT! Pad Thai GUNG with a Beer Singha. YUM

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank boydree74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai, great service, nice ambience, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've had several meals at Chao Pra Ya, and all of them have been excellent and reasonably priced. I recommend their spring rolls, Tom Yum lemon grass soup, Tom Kha galanga soup, bean thread salad, eggplant with yellow bean sauce, wild pork and Siam duck. Their servers have always been very attentive and pleasant, and they are happy to make modifications and substitutions to your liking, so don't be afraid to try to make your dish even better (though that won't be easy!). I've been able to take advantage of various discount coupons, which makes the price even more attractive. Finally, the restaurant is beautifully designed and has a nice ambience. My only suggestion is that they should play Thai, rather than Western, music.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Thai food in Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Hands down the best Thai food in town. Having been spoiled in Southern California with Thai Town in Hollywood I thought I would never find good Thai food when I moved to Virginia,after being disappointed at many other Thai restaurants I found chap phra ya in herndon, the Thai chicken curry is my favorite! It is so good I order it all the time when I have company over. also the drunken noodles with beef is very tasty. The restaurant workers are very friendly and the food portions are great.

Helpful?
Thank Bluegummybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good food & Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant has been consistent for over a decade. Their food is top notch and not overly spicy. In the last months, they renovated their interior. It now has more seating. The service personnel is always polite and attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Godguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Pra Ya also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Chao Pra Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing