We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warka Ethiopian Restaurant - CLOSED

Warka Ethiopian Restaurant
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Met a friend from work one night. Had a wonderful meal. I had their honey wine. It was wonderful and I am not a wine person. I did ask for a fork and one was brought to me on a plate with a napkin. I ended with their coffee ceremony....wonderful. I went back the following week to celebrate my birthday with my boss. A hidden gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1941redhatnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“No frills EXCELLENT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nigeria doesn't have any Ethiopian restaurants and I love their traditional dishes. The restaurant is located in a very small business strip down a side street. It's a little tricky trying to find it but it's well worth it. I ordered my favorite dishes which I always order when going to Ethiopian restaurants, vegetable combo (5) and the Kitfo (raw) with a side of collard greens. The service was very quick and within 10 minutes the platter with all my food was at my table. The food was excellent, I didn't even have to ask for mitmita (red pepper). I plan on going back before I go back to Nigeria.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asianink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't be scared of Ethiopian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our first try of Ethiopian food. So we had a lot of questions and the server was able to help us understand the ingredients and preparation. We chose three dishes, two with chili pepper and one that was plain meat. It is served family style on a big platter with the special flat bread. To eat, just pick up a piece of the bread (like a pancake) and grab a bit of the food. The tray also had vegetables on the edges. We asked for mild and that was more like medium with a bite on the lips and tongue. It was a good first time and we would return if we could.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CorningPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We are here with family visiting DC. The food was excellent. We asked for mild. Tried the Ethiopian beer. The kids enjoyed eating with the bread for a whole . Then we asked for plates. The platters for two can feed 3 or 4. Honey wine or mead was different. I'd definately go again.

Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been going to Warka for years. They recently changed owners but the food is still fantastic. It's nice not to have to drive all the way to DC for good ethiopian food. We always get the mixed veggie platter with the chicken curry and sometimes the lamb. The lamb is very good and the spicy chickpeas are my favorite. The servings are huge, my husband and I can barely ever finish the mixed platter for one (we do have tiny appetites). Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arunie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warka Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing