We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, with jazz”

Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 225 Restaurants in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food, with jazz”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

There are a lot of things to like about this place- great staff, quite good food, good wine list and often good jazz. I really enjoy the Cajun variations- prawns and grits, jambalaya, and the bread pudding is considerably above average. The staff is friendly and Dan can talk to you about wine and cocktails all night long. I don't know if they would want me to tell you this, but they are patient about letting you finish your evening even if you are the last ones in the place, and they are waiting for you to finish to close. The jazz is good, covers a wide spectrum of genres, but will not be excessively intrusive on conversation if that's what you're there for. Atmosphere is cozy and warm and intimate- not some coldish chain where every dish is market-researched. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    45
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tilghman, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Music and food, what's not to like?”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I made a reservation since I did not know what to expect, but it probably wasn't necessary. The place had a crowd at 7:30, but even so there were tables available. The music started right about 7:30 and you could be seated near the music or in the back room away from the music. There was also bar seating, if you just wanted music and a drink. The waiter was friendly and gave ideas of what was good. We had a clam chowder, which was very good and they have some great sourdough bread to start. I had the special, Mahi broiled, with red cabbage and rice on the side. My friend had Salmon, which was a bit saturated in sauce and oils, but still edible. Same sides are served with all entree's. They had Virginia beers on tap and the one I chose, a brown, was great. Bill for one Soup, 2 entrees, a beer and coffee was 75 The music that night was so-so, but they have different acts all the time. We would definitely go back. Seems popular with locals as the bar was packed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“popular with locals”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

On a solo business trip, I wanted to patronize a non-chain restaurant. This one is pretty good but not especially comfortable if you're dining alone. It is way too dark to read at the table, and service to me was rushed. It seemed to be better paced to tables with four people (it was a Tuesday night but the place was almost full--obviously popular with locals). Decor is dark too, knotty pine with too many taxidermy things on the wall (deer heads, fish, etc). Menu is heavy on the fish--I had the glazed salmon and apple pie, which were pretty good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Live jazz music & find food”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I've been to Ice House many times over the past 20 years. It is among the dwindling few restaurants that still offer live music (Fridays-Saturdays). The music is typically a jazz combo which compliments the dinner does not overwhelm the experience with too much volume. It's a wonderful date night venue!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MVP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always great food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is my 3rd stop here and again they haven't let me down. The food is always delicious and the service is great. I recommend the shrimp and grits, but everything I've had is excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foosnbrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing