We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly opened, still rusty”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #13 of 225 Restaurants in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Description: Hand-tossed pizzas, 30 craft beers on tap, open air terrace! Perfect place to meet a friend after work for a drink, watch a sports game, or celebrate a birthday with the family! Happy Hour Monday-Friday, 3-7pm, $2 off select drafts, $4 house wine/liquor, $3 cheese bread, $4 bruschetta
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Newly opened, still rusty”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

As Atlanta natives we hold Mellow Mushroom near and dear to our hearts, so we were thrilled to learn that a restaurant was opening in Herndon, an easier trek for us than going to the location in the District (which is a superb, well-run location with excellent food). It was a somewhat crowded Saturday night, but that didn't bother us as we situated ourselves near the front and waited for our table. My daughter and I went to the bar to get a beer, the selection was so-so. They did not have the beers that she normally likes, so she had to settle for something else. After 20-25 minutes we were still not seated, and I went to the hostess to find out why... only to discover that they never put us on the list! However, they took care of us immediately, seating us and promising a free appetizer. The appetizer was delicious (hummus with pita bread always leaves some leftovers for the pizza crust), but our pizza was slightly undercooked and was very light on toppings. We ordered pepperoni and mushroom, and I was hard pressed to find lots of either. We were too tired to send it back so we ate it and took half of it home for later. Wait staff was scrambling, clearly in the weeds and it was not THAT crowded. The restaurant had been open for only two or three weeks at the time, so hopefully they are ironing out the kinks and this will be worthwhile to visit again. Will try again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xtc091157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Pizza Place”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Maybe it's all the hype around Mellow Mushroom but I have yet to see the big deal. I think it's good pizza at a pretty high price. After the first two months it opened, came here three times. First with a group, then just couple, then family. The group was fun because we got to sample a bunch of the pizzas on the menu. They do have a great and unique selection of specialties; I've tried the Bayou Bleu (shrimp, Blue cheese, hot sauce, etc) which was good, Thai (weird flavor for pizza for me), the Kosmic Karma pesto/mozzarella one was not as good as I Would have thought, my favorite so far has been the Red Skin Potato Pie w/ potatoes, sour cream etc. Pretzels are hit or miss from dryness factor, hummus was just ok.

The pizza is good and the atmosphere/menu uniquely interesting, but just didn't seem like a place I would want to go to pay a premium price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank grace5942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sad”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have been to other Mellow Musheooms and found this lacking. Guy bartender ok. Girl doesn't know anything about bartending. Food- wings hot were mild and cold. Pesto pizza was not cooked and once again they were out of beer. Not a very memorable experience. Might try it again when they get their act together. But for a Saturday night with it a 1/4 full, not great

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bizzwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

First time I ate at Mellow Mushroom was about 4 years ago in Winston Salem. Their pie is consistently good with a hint of what seem to licorice on a pretzel like dough, well done pizza.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TG_Tulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unpleasant and Expensive.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having had good memories of the MM in Gainesville, FL when we lived there, we were very excited when we heard one was opening in Herndon. After debating with our children (6 and 10) whether they wanted to go to Silver Diner or try MM we settled on pizza. What a mistake. We were seated fairly quickly but were put under a vent with a powerful cold draught coming out, the seats were cold, hard metal and the table was cramped, uncomfortable and cluttered with useless junk. We placed our order and then asked to be moved to another table away from the vent. When our food arrived it was disappointing to say the least. With two of the four of us having gluten/wheat allergies we ordered GF pizzas which were a tasteless, expensive error on our part. The GF crust was like shredded cardboard and it fell apart as soon as you picked it up. The regular pizza I got (small sized house special) was also disappointing and definitely not worth the money (highlighted after the fact today when I got a 365 Supreme Pizza from Whole Foods for $3.99 which looked, smelled and tasted 10 times better than the MM one). We left $70 poorer, wishing all the way home that we'd gone to Silver Diner.

This MM should take a cue from other branches in the chain. I'd be surprised if they last a year going on like this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing