We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great bread” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Harvest Bread Company

Great Harvest Bread Company
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent bread, friendly people, free samples....what more can you ask? Have never been disappointed when purchasing bread from Great Harvest. Love their teddy bear breads at Christmas. They make a lovely gift for neighbors.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hot bread every visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is so nice to have a great bread store in the neighborhood. Love their variety and quality. The staff is always welcoming and helpful. Can't beat the free samples either.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedville, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best frsh baked bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Love their fresh bread and they'll even give you a slice of your choice. I especially like the orange cranberry bread for the holidays.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Free Slices of Fresh Bread!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Every visitor to Great Harvest is treated to a free slice of bread. The slices are good and thick and there are toppings (butter and honey) for you to add, if you'd like. There are many choices of bread types for each day -- some are prepared daily (like white and whole wheat) and some are on a rotating schedule (like Challah and Xtreme Cinnamon Swirl). The breads are made fresh every day and some are quite interesting. I'm not the most adventurous eater, so I tend to go with the whole wheat and Challah, and I've never been disappointed. I go about once a month.

They also have cookies (I like the double chocolate chip) that are different from typical cookies in a bakery. The cookies all have oatmeal and are much chewier and larger than most bake shop cookies. They offer scones, which look good, but I've never tried. They also offer dog biscuits, to which my dog gives an enthusiastic two paws up!

Obviously, this is not a sit-down meal kind of place, but it is a great place to try different types of bread and bread products. The employees tend to be enthusiastic and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RestonVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcentral Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can't really review -- closed on Sunday. SOOOOO disappointed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I gave this 5 stars because in GENERAL Great Harvest Bread Co.s are fabulous, but I wouldn't know about this one -- we had saved it for Sunday hoping to take home some loaves of bread to our Great Harvest-less area, but it was closed. We were so sad and disappointed. I totally understand running a family business, but limited hours on Sunday would seem to be a good idea for a bread store ....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Harvest Bread Company also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Great Harvest Bread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing