We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“same name, new experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunan East

Hunan East
Ranked #49 of 223 Restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Neighborhood Chinese restaurant that just remodeled beautifully and added a sushi bar, making it a whole lot better than before.
Oak Hill, VA, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“same name, new experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Although we'd been unimpressed with the food in years past, we decided to try it again, since they were advertising a new menu. The interior is a complete make-over, and very pleasant and relaxing. Although there are TVs next to the bar, it's never been noisy. Service has always been good.

Over several visits we've tried their Singapore-style noodles, their beef noodle soup, kung pao pork, and pad thai. All were quite good: plenty of flavor (spicy but not too), and not greasy. The portions are large enough that they usually wind up as lunch the next day as well.

I tried their lime-sake drink, which had far too much lime. The waiter asked what I thought; I told him, and I very quickly had a replacement that was much better balanced.

We're very glad to have pleasant restaurant with good food in the vicinity. We'll be there regularly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhredVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing Transformation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you haven't eaten at Hunan East near Giant on John Milton Drive because of how it USED to look, try it now. Wow! What a completely different restaurant. Food is great, staff are fabulous, decor is wonderful.. It's amazing what they've done.. Nice work on turning something really dingy into somewhere extremely appealing. And right on our doorstep. Love it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Same name, new place, good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I'd been unimpressed with Chinese food at Hunan East a few years ago, but we saw a sign about their new menu and gave them another try. Walking in, we were surprised and pleased with the new decor, from tired and old, to spacious and serene. The new menu pleased us too: the lightly curried Singapore rice noodles were good, as was the beef noodle soup, reminiscent of Vietnamese pho, but distinctively different. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank kswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistenly meets or exceeds expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Being relatively new the area we were in search for a restaurant that is above middle of the road, one that has an interesting menu reflecting true cuisine capabilities, a restaurant that does not provide or server gobs of processed food and with price points to match. The Hunan East in Fox Mill fits this bill. The wait staff is exceptional (without being bothersome) to make recommendations on the menu and will provide instruction on how to eat some of the dishes you might not have tried before such as the Peking duck for two (will easily feed three) with pancakes you have to try it to believe it. They have a good wine list, full service bar, great decor, several varieties of sake and a full range menu to satisfy even the pickiest diners. If you are looking for the best restaurant in the Fox Mill area then this is your best choice. The quality of your dining experience will be equally matched by the love and care of the restaurant's owner, chef and wait staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If you haven't been here lately, you haven't been here...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Until mid-2012, Hunan East was getting a little ragged around the edges. Working in an adjacent office building, we wanted to love this neighboring restaurant, and the food was fine. But outwardly, Hunan East appeared to be in decline-- despite the warm welcome the ever-gracious owner always gave us. Their delivery business may have been sustaining them, but eat-in diners were relatively few. Then, after closing for a number of weeks, they reopened, and the total make-over was astounding. Top-to-bottom, the restaurant is brand new. The master plan included literally floor-to-ceiling renovation, and it truly is beautiful. The changes also included revamping the menu. In addition to all the usual Chinese fare, there now is a spectrum of Pan Asian offerings (such as Pad Thai, curry-flavored Singporean Noodles, and a sushi chef on site). Honestly, over about five visits, I've enjoyed the Singaporean Noodles so much that I have not ordered a wide variety of their other offerings lately, but have sampled a half-dozen other dishes and have only found excellent quality and flavors so far.

This new beginning bodes well for the future of Hunan East. As they obviously have made a considerable investment in these great improvements, I'm hoping they will continue to live up to this promising new start. (My five stars are on the relative scale of comparable local restaurants; while Hunan East might not rank among the finest restaurants in the D.C. metro area, "excellent" is an apt adjective for this restaurant since reopening a few months ago.)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGfromVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan East also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Hunan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing