We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy place”

NextStop Theatre Company
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Herndon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A professional live theatre company less than 5 minutes from Washington's Dulles Airport where none of the 114 seats is more than 25 feet from the stage.
NOVA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A cozy place”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The theater is located in a warehouse in an industrial park off of Elden Street in Herndon. Seating is comfortable and for about 200, making for a closeness to the stage that escapes larger venues. We saw 'Hamlet' which is a major undertaking for larger theaters, let alone one this size. There is an opportunity for purchasing drinks and snacks at scheduled intermissions. If you like viewing plays in a cozy setting, this is the place.

Helpful?
Thank siegva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had been looking for a place where I could expose my children to theater arts without paying the high prices associated with more well known theaters like Wolf Trap or the Kennedy Center. I found this theater, located less than 5 miles from my home in an Industrial Park. The tickets are less than it costs to go to the movies. The shows are "community theater" quality, but very entertaining for the price you paid. We've been to several childrens productions, and my children have loved them all.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew T, Manager at NextStop Theatre Company, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for the great review! Our Theatre for Young Audiences program is a favorite past-time of ours. We're glad you found us, and we look forward to seeing you (and your kids!) at The Industrial Strength Theatre again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Elden Street players put on 5 plays each season (October through August) including at least one musical. They do an outstanding job with the productions and have won many awards for local theatrical productions. The space in the Industrial Strength Theater is limited both in terms of number of seats available per performance and stage space. They do a remarkable job of utilizing the limited stage space. This aspect alone is worth the price of admission (about $20). Actors move stage props carrying them on and off or stashing them cleverly beneath portions of the set. I recently saw their production of "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels" and it was excellent and done with a very large and talented cast and many memorable performances.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stormieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew T, Manager at NextStop Theatre Company, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks for your review! We love pushing the envelope of what is possible to produce in our "intentionally small" (but comfortable) space. Over the years, people have told our directors and producers, "You can't fit that show in THERE!" and we delight in proving them wrong every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, d.c.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flowers for Algernon”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I just returned from an incredible production of Flowers for Algernon by the Elden Street Players. The lead who played Charley was amazing, and depicted the changes in Charley as he becomes a highly intelligent individual and then returns to his original state. Also, several of the supporting actors were super (Mrs. Mooney, Mrs. Gordon) One can quickly forget that they are seeing community theater-- this was a wonderful show and an excellent adaptation from the novel. Fantastic work!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marigrace45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NextStop Theatre Company also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to NextStop Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing